August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds til Midnight

by nolann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Had a lot a fun creating my 1st game "10 seconds til' Midnight"
My main character is matthew hopkins witch finder.

Use arrows keys and Space Bar
You get 10 seconds and only a few nets to throw at the Witch so make sure to aim wisely.

I created it using Gamemaker.

thanks for playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#674Audio2.32
#742Humor1.95
#818Graphics2.46
#951Mood2.16
#1042Theme2.48
#1145Innovation1.90
#1149Overall2.14
#1175Fun1.69

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Crashes as soon as I open it. Windows 7, sp1

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

OSX version doesn't launch, the OS doesn't recognize the file as a valid app.

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Confirm the crash on Win 7.

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Error on OS X Mountain Lion: "Classic environment is no longer supported".

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

yeah, sorry. have the same problem on Mac OS 10.8.2 as above :/

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Another crash here. win7 x64, died immediately and did something weird to the brightness on my screen.

nolann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Ahh man I guess i need to look in that:(

nolann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

The Files Should play now, I don't know what happened, obviously something i did wrong;(

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20am

too simple too fast

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Like the graphics and the sound/music. Very interesting use of the theme :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

I had to use firefox to get it to work, but I did end up catching the witch. It was a struggle, but it paid off in the end. Nice concept. It could have been longer, though.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

The music is great ! Too bad Matthew doesn't have a moving animation, this would have made him much more lively. I would have enjoyed at least a few more enemies, and the red font kind of constrats with the dark mood.

Pretty damn good for a first game though !

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice art and pretty good music. The concept is a bit simple, but pretty nice for a first game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice graphics. :)

AmyDee says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:59am

I liked the twitch necessary to track the ridiculously fast witch. Overall the game was a bit too simple, however, and only held my attention for a few plays. Needs more variation, in levels and in witch behavior.

Plus, a bit of personal bias here, I'd rather play the witch >:D

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I have a hard time trying to catch that cat, it moves too fast. It seems I can shoot only 3 times, I guess, making impossible to catch the cat.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:24am

I like how fast you can restart. it gives it a real hook. nice game.

Darien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37am

Your "web" link appears to point to a .zip file.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:20am

Really short and not so good, but at least you made something. Now try to make something even better next time :D

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Really short, simple game. I think its a cat, not a witch so that confused me a bit, and your Web link does point to a file that doesnt work in the end, however you did submit a game and in the time restraint, it is a pretty good game. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

As I lay dying in the darkest of forests, where no living thing can ever be, a haunting melody sent shivers up my spine. And I beheld, half in terror half in admiration, the witch dancing around the ashen trees like a wild beast. I would be her supper tonight. I could see it in her mad, cat-like eyes.

I love the athmosphere in this game. Nice job!

nolann says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Thanks for all the comments and feedback, what a great positive experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]