August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black Holy Shit

by gene-z - Jam Entry

In this game you are James Space, an astronaut.
James's spaceship will be destroyed in 10 seconds by the
gravitational pull of a black hole, now James must find the dimensional portal to survive.

Gameplay:

- Arrows to move
- Shift to jump

The portal moves on the scenario, making the escape more difficult. The objective of the game is try to escape as much as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#296Humor(Jam)2.39
#426Audio(Jam)2.33
#477Theme(Jam)2.65
#481Mood(Jam)2.34
#491Innovation(Jam)2.42
#503Fun(Jam)2.35
#535Graphics(Jam)2.32
#574Overall(Jam)2.35
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Audio scared the shit out of me. xD Nice name though. :)

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

Cool idea, wish the view port allowed me to see more of the scenario. Or that at least there was a hint as to where the portal was (an arrow?).

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good game. Sometimes it's a bit too hard to know where exactly the portal is, and sometimes I feel it's really dependent on luck alone if I can or can't find the portal.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Audio is very scary. The game is very challenging :) Nice job.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Hahahahaha, this one really threw me for a loop and I was constantly disoriented. Lotsa fun!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Audio is great - could have done with an indication where the portal was, however, allowing me to chase it down! Jumping was a little imprecise - had no sense of really being in control.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Thank you for all the comments, I'm glad you had fun with the game and get scared with the audio too. In the near future we intend to improve those ideas and fix things like "Where is the portal?". Sorry for my English, I am not native speaker.

The funny part is that I was responsible for the music and sounds, without knowing any theory or practice with it, I loved all these feedbacks.:D

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good concept, scary audio, funny name and generally nice. My only complaint is that there's no way in telling where the portal is, it's just luck. An arrow or something would be helpful :)

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I don't like installers :(

The game was fairly solid in all aspects, though it was very repetitive. Not being able to know where the portal is makes it almost impossible to go back in time more than two or three times.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:08am

Kinda hard to get to the portal xD

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:00am

Nicely done, though i think your audio needs a little work on, i think it's too loud. Also, had a hard time figuring out what was the portal in the first place.

Regardless, nicely done :)

Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:22am

Nice game. A little jerky at times, but solid entry.

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Hilarious! Still don't know whats going on, but... Hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]