August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Summer Death Olympics

by bufbot - Jam Entry

10 seconds before you die !

Multiplayer game with keyboard but you can of course use any key mapper you want.

Each 10 seconds the last sprinter explode !

Our twitter account: @Bufbot @Yaffare

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#289Humor(Jam)2.41
#389Audio(Jam)2.50
#432Graphics(Jam)2.77
#473Theme(Jam)2.67
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#504Mood(Jam)2.21
#506Overall(Jam)2.61
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

The sound when the race ends is a little too loud, but overall a good game.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

I didn't have a second player, but it was entertaining to play myself.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Totally great concept and theme. Not much fun for one player though.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

The runners' graphics are neat.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

Good Game

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Not bad, although I'm not entirely sure I understood it.
Still, a fun party game.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

There's not much to dislike with this game. Simple and enjoyable. The one thing that I do dislike is that loud sound at the end. Kinda spooked me!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

I didn't have another person to play with! Aww.

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Single player experience is a bit limited, but I can see it being a fun game to play with a group of friends.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

Needs AI runners! Cool though. "Loser" sound is a little grating.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Interesting...was a lot more fun multiplayer than single player. I feel it would be good to add bots or something

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

Fun!

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

It would probably be more fun if I was playing with others, but it's still an awesome game! The background details are a nice touch, too. :)

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

The single player experience is indeed rather limited, and I'm a bit confused why there is such a slowdown (for me) in the middle of the race.

But overall, well done.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

This is about as simple as it gets. Not a lot going on here, so not much to rate, really. The graphics lacked cohesion, there were sprites of different resolutions which really broke up the feel. I would have liked to see more from it, maybe power ups or lane changing, anything to make it more than just a button tapper.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

I played single-player, but I can tell that the multiplayer would be great. This game exercises my hand!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

Like the others say, its not so fun playing solo but the idea is good.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

Pretty cool - I think I would need to play with a friend or two to get the full experience though. Nice one! :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15am

Well, alone it's boring, but with more players it's quite good

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

I corrected the sound, hope it'll be good for you guys, thanks for commenting as it was our first game ever we are glad that some of you liked it !

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

Fun little idea, reminds me of old NES games ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Nice faux 3d-models!

Yaffare says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Thanks for your feedback, it's really nice. We probably are going to get back on it to finish and add some features, like powers up.

superfoonly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

it felt like hitting the buttons was not influencing the game, the sprites were just slowly moving across the screen on their own

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very enjoyable. :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22pm

good job

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Haha, fun!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The concept and graphics are nice, but this could really do with some kind of AI so that there are always 4 runners :) (even a very basic one would be nice)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Go runners, Go! REally enjoy it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I used to love games like this on my Spectrum. Aaaah those were the days. Anyway, well executed and nice graphics too

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

nice game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

It's certanly a multiplayer-only game. Pretty fun to play with someone else, needs AI players for single player.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

Good game! I miss those old sport games! :D An IA would be great too!

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Heh, nice game.
It would be cool to have some AI racing with you to illustrate the concept, but it was overall fun and visually appealing.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

I bet this would be a lot of fun with a large group!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:51am

Nice sense of humour, it would great to see some AI!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

A decent game! :D

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33am

The multiplayer on 1 keyboard is nice

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

I played three people at once - I won! :-D
That was a fun retro experience, reminds me of the Olympics games for C64

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

Really nice addition to racing game, i loved the graphics of background!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09am

Interesting concept. But i don't understand controls, what should i press?
Still cool game.

bufbot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

@Nerlin it depends on the numbers of players, you have to press one touch then the second one, by default it's : arrow left + arrow right for player 1, A + B for player 2, Y + U for player 3, F + G for player 4. We didn't had time to include possibility to change the controls :(

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

not very fun single player, I think it would be better if there were different rhythms you had to tap instead of just left right the whole time. maybe the first 10 meters it's lr then it's llrr, then llrllrr something like that could be more interesting

bufbot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

@RetroEpic yeah that's true that we could have done better on that side, and even add AI, but the good thing is that we learned a lot for our very first game from scratch and we plan to maybe finish it to just learn even more. Thanks for the feebacks !

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Really needs a more thought out single player. Could be fun with a group probably.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Single player mode needs more polish, but overall a nicely crafted game :)

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

The idea it self needed more work. The concept is good, but i think you should work more in the game experience. but congratulations for ending the game.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39pm

reminds me on california games! ohhh the good old times! +1 for the multiplayer feature!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Cute nostalgic style and fun simple gameplay. Just needs some computer controlled runners. Good work!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Was it just the 1 sport? not really the Olympics if just a sprinting game?

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09am

Fun game, very "retro".

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:21am

In single player it's not much fun and I (maybe it's me) find that in certain point in the race, the runner slows down.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

This looks like it would be a lot of fun with a bunch of friends!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

What is there to say about that, didn't dislike anything, was fun and good!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Simple, but nice little game. Was fun to play with two hands. My right hand won :D

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Interesting take on the theme! You might've implemented some computer enemies - like most people here, I play and rate the games alone.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I like the graphics for the game. I tried out 4 player mode just to check if there were different sprites for all of them and was pleasantly surprised. :)
This is not as fun in single player though, but I can imagine this being one of the mini games in a party game collection.
Good job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:54pm

simple, but congrats on making a multiplayer game in a jam, also the graphics emulate nes graphics beautifully.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice effort. Not fun playing solo, really.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:08pm

The controls seems to become unresponsive as I continue to play the game. I'm not sure if that's just me. Nice little concept you got.

Yaffare says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:16pm

@Jprogman No I thing you are right. We missed something about the resetting of the variables.

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Simple and neat retro art style. Good job!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:50pm

The single player version is practically pointless, but playing against myself was a bit more interesting, I don't really like button spammers though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]