August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Last Energy

by nikneym - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your last energy! Run to the blue square !



YOU MUST DOWNLOAD LOVE2D.
www.love2d.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#563Graphics2.87
#686Mood2.56
#746Audio2.19
#1055Theme2.45
#1101Fun2.05
#1104Innovation2.05
#1111Overall2.32
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

Hmm, it seemed difficult to get triggering a hit on the blue square. Also way too short! Could use some more levels. Nice colors though.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42am

I don't really get the rules. I try to reach the blue square but on the third level I always end up going game over. Plus I don't really what the other blocks in the environment do.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

I was unable to emulate it under Linux Mint 15 64bit using Wine.

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

I don't get the rules either, the block seems to go through stuff, but I keep getting killed.

nikneym says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

Blocks playing time. Thanks. :)

levsha128 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Interesting

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice. As others have said, gameplay was a bit confusing.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Is the game finished? Walking straight towards the battery isn't a lot of fun. Aren't those things supposed to be walls?

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I don't entirely understand what happend here.

At first I tried to stay away from the walls, but then I could walk through them.

I got one level, then I lost one, then I beat the game.

?

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Looks good, but playing confuses me greatly.

nikneym says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

@josefnpat
Other blocks playing your time. If you always touch other, blocks you lose time.
Thanks.

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

it's looks good but when i opened it there was an error and it crashed.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31am

"The program cant start because DevIL.dlll is missing from your computer" error... cant play it...

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50am

Great game :)

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I want to try it out but it refuses to run... Win 8 64 bit. I have Love2d installed.

Hmm.. wait, I'll try compiling it myself :)

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

graphic design is very good. but only 3 levels and confusing gameplay is a big downside.

there should be a timer notification of some kind to see the energy you have left.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Ok, got it to run but I wonder if the timer resets properly.. maybe adding a counter would have helped?

nikneym says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:15am

Thanks guys. I will try to make it better.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

I had to compile it myself since the exe doesn't work on 64bit machines.

The graphics looked pretty cool.
But it was a little bit confusing since there was neither an explanation nor some feedback on what happened and how you exactly lose.

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Rather confusing. I couldn't tell what would trigger failure nor what would trigger success. I figured that the blue square was the goal, but it wasn't at all generous with deciding when you're on the goal or not.

Laguna says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Hi,
I am also etting the DevIL.dll error. Win7 64Bit SP1.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

After finding the right combination of devIL.dll and sdl.dll on my HDD, I could eventually play the game.
I like the graphics, but I can't understand why I can walk through walls. :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]