August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DeepField

by loolpolo - Jam Entry

That's my first real game project that I intend to finish... yeah it is not done yet, it was supposed to have much more systems and stuff but my management of time was a failure. well, try to enjoy what it's done.

Controls:

w/s/a/d = movemente.

mouse = camera.

1st mause botom = shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#381Mood(Jam)2.66
#396Audio(Jam)2.48
#449Graphics(Jam)2.70
#482Humor(Jam)1.52
#567Fun(Jam)2.07
#576Innovation(Jam)2.07
#591Overall(Jam)2.26
#592Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Particles, Bitch!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

cant really tell you how good the mechanics are, very limited things todo, and very quickly i get overwhelmed by the red stuff and die

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

I didn't understand what was going on at first. Maybe you could just change the starting camera angle to help beginning players. Once I figured that out i had some fun. Good job on the first game!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

This very rapidly gets nuts. :) I think I broke my mouse trying to shoot faster...

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

Not going to rate it until its done.

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

Damn it, I just got owned by some crazy redshit

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

@scriptorum, is so right..

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

I think the red wave that owns everyone comes at 10 seconds. hehe is that correct? anyway, audio is cool and there is a mood to the game so you have something going :)

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

I really enjoy the music along with the feelings of helplessness and the terror of being torn apart by red things. Keep going!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15am

It's a good start if you intend to continue work on it. Nice particles!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

Extremely frantic gameplay and more particles then i think I've ever seen in a unity game. Great game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Yeah, that was a lot of particles for sure. Gameplay is rather limited at the moment...

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice use of particles, Didn't really see how the theme was used, and found it hard to shoot when the blue particles blocked some of the screen. Cursor not being locked was annoying as I constantly clicked out of the game, and shooting had a delay so when more red particles piled up it was too hard to survive. Not bad though :)

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Well that escalated quickly...

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

Aw, I wanted to be the one to make the can't stay alive for 10 seconds joke! Oh well. It's obviously not really complete, but it's not a bad idea. I'm not sure where you are going with it, but there's a lot of ways to go for sure. Wouldn't mind seeing a more completed version!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35am

This game is great because it respects the player's busy schedule, by cutting down the time between starting to play and being completely overwhelmed to a bare minimum. Also, a valuable lesson when taken as a metaphorical art project.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25am

Those particles! Whoa!
I think I see a lot of potential even if this game if very simplistic and a bit hard to grasp at first.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31am

I like the use of particles as characters. A bit of feedback on how many enemies I shot could have motivated me to play a bit longer. But great for a first game!

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Nice ambience. Not much gameplay, but you already knew that. Keep working at it. You'll get better at development and time management.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Wow, although the game is far from complete you guys are really motivating, thanks a lot. I will surly finish the game when i got the time. Thanks again guys, Ludum Dare community is the BEST!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Lovely effects and atmosphere. Felt like I was taking part in some kind of primaeval chemical battle! That said, it does of course need a lot more polish and variety to be a really effective game. But I hope you persist with it - there is definite potential here!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

PARTICLES! Like the idea of the blue particles being overwhelmed by the red particles, also jumped off the platform for wheeeee! I'd say it's a solid start, would love to see it when you've got more of your ideas implemented!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Wasn't sure why I kept dying whenever I tried to move at first. Then I saw the platform. Then the red things kept killing me, it was so overwhelming xD
Had fun killing the red thingies anyway.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

The difficulty ramps up way too fast, which makes this really hard to judge.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]