August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You have ten seconds to escape...

by SbstnC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to escape... the 10 levels !

Hi,
this is my firs entry ever, for a Ludum Dare event, and actually it's the very first game I managed to complete.

Since it was one of my first game I spend 90% of my time fighting with the code, so there is a minimalist art, and no sound.


So what you'll have is a very quick (quick ? like 10 seconds ?), ten level, minimalist and colorful puzzle/platformer.

I still like the concept of the game, and I hope it will be fun to beat.


There is nothing to install, just a simple executable.


*** I made a slight change by moving the exit of the first level, 2 tiles down, because it caused people to think there was a glitch where in fact there wasn't. It's not really a glitch correction, it's kinda "not glitch correction" so I hope it's ok. It's a very small modification.

Link to the previous version (with the not glitch) is here :
http://www.mediafire.com/download/87r8nniab31tg8g/You_have_ten_seconds.zip ***


REMEMBER : The Keyword is PUZZLE, there are traps, and short cuts. Overall, wits > skill

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#104Theme3.75
#172Fun3.46
#383Overall3.23
#429Humor2.48
#735Innovation2.74
#748Mood2.48
#832Graphics2.43

Comments

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Makes fun,
But its really hard :)
I´ll try to beat it!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Holy shit I won. I hate you for how absurdly little room for error there is.

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Wow, this gets intense. Nice work.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Wo Cool ! People played my game ! I'm happy.

The game was really easy at the begginig, I just changed the order of the rooms, and the difficulty has gone crazy.

I hope it's not too hard, I beat it at every try, but I made it, so maybe it's just that I know it too much.

@madk
Iknow there is no room for error, but basically I had no room to make room for error, it's only one second per level. I'm pleased someone beat it.

I'm considering going for a 60 seconds/60 levels version, it could distribute the difficulty more smoothly during the levels, and I could try the levels designs ideas that I could'nt add here.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Deceptively addictive. Falling through the hole in the first level takes you to the second one. I dunno if that's a glitch or a secret but either way it's awesome. Nice game!

Conry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

This one is really neat! I love how it forces you to think slightly out of the box :)

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Really engaging! I enjoyed it a lot and I like how you had to take the unclear path, creative.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Thanks :) I'm glad that it please some people.

@Nights57
It's not a glitch, when you fall you spawn from above (pacman like), it's the way to do it. It looks like a glitch because you don't have time to see the character coming from the top.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I might do something to make it more clear.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I won! The last level was mean >:D You got me hooked, so well done! Great game :D

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

wow this is crazy, it has a very very small room for error. nice work though on your first game!

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

Pretty fast-paced but quite enjoyable, kept getting killed by the 'troll, lol' levels >.<

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14am

Good game!
Looks like "Adventure" for Atari :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very difficult, but fun.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Not bad at all for a first game, in fact, it's really fun!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

This is the greatest surprise!
Not the game itself (which is pretty clever and really fun [until it gets intensely frustrating ^^) but the fact that you made a game! I didn't know you were a programmer!
Now I will harass you until you make a game using your own drawing graphics, because minimalist pixel-art it cool, but you can do so much better than that!

SbstnC says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

@ Pierrec: Thanks :) That's the point, I'm NOT a programmer, in the past I've tried to learn C++, java, as3, but circonstances always kept me away from my computer for some times and I had to start all over again.
So I thought I could try to use GM's drag and drop system, but it was glitchy, so I had to code aniway for a big part. So my 48h were : 10 hours to sleep and get an idea, almost 30h to fix the engine while reading tutorials,documentations and hitting myself with the keyboard. 6 hours for level design, graphics and sounds (yeah the sounds that I could never get to work) and hitting myself with the keyboard again... oh and also getting that countdown to work trough the different levels... that almost made me quit.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Congrats on your first game and LD! I really liked it!

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Really simple and really good :) I couldn't beat it, but I think I'll give it another try later on.

schnerble says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Quite tough, but nice idea. It does mean players can only really win by learning the levels, but still, for a ten-second-total game, that's kind of necessary :)

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Simplistic enough! The whole level needs to be cleared in 10!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]