August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Army

by Literal Games - Jam Entry

10 second army - you only have ten seconds to design your army after a brief reconnisance. Can you siege all the towers?

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys to move camera
Numbers or Mouse to select units
M to mute (but why would you want to?)
R to reset the level
Space to skip the scrolling at the start of each level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#88Audio(Jam)3.52
#180Overall(Jam)3.37
#199Humor(Jam)2.79
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#211Innovation(Jam)3.16
#223Mood(Jam)3.11
#445Theme(Jam)2.77

Comments

Alexander says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Really cool game. Would love a fastforward option for when you know you've won. Song is cool too.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

I love the sound effects. Each unit has a unique look and feel. Overall very nice.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21am

I got stuck on the last level... but nice game! :)

REIN1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Very cool game,Archer is omni~

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40am

The graphics and sounds are great, as well as the idea. The theme though doesn't really fit.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Cool little game. Played the first few levels and then skipped to the end because I was overconfident. :) I was quickly defeated. Good use of the theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Such a cool idea, I love it. Be great to see a finished version

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

Very nice. One of the most fun games I've played today. I liked the art style tool. The scrolling at the beginning of each level got a bit tiresome, it would be nice if you could skip it. I also wish there were more levels. Overall, very nice!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

Loved that the sound effects were all "mouthmade", great touch. Game made you think some, but could have been improved with a bit more difficulty (or maybe just more levels, that'd've been good too). Regardless, great stuff.

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17am

Pretty cool and well put-together game. Some of the puzzles towards the end were pretty difficult. Could use a reset button (okay, browser refresh, but still...), if you're thinking of continuing with this one.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

@zatyka You can skip the scrolling! Just press space. I said something about it in one of the tutorial messages... I think.
@jwolf - there's a reset button too - R. That one I didn't explain, so that's on me.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Very solid and fun gamplay, although you only have 10 sec. to build your army it is still a pretty easy game, I feel it could be harder as only the last levels were somewhat challenging.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

Great idea! Had fun playing, plus great graphics and audio. Has some bugs though, where the sprites sometimes disappear(on chrome)

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

great idea! sounds and artwork are best! overall so cute!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I really liked the graphic style!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:29am

Character design is *very* interesting. Good job! I liked stage 2-4 the best

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:35am

This game is very fun to play. Character animations are great and sounds they make makes me smile all the time (especially archers).

Darien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:36am

Pretty fun little game; there's a King Arthur game on the SNES this reminds me of somewhat. I love the mouth wind effect!

I don't understand why sometimes all my units except the one in the front stop advancing, though.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:55am

This looks great and the sound is awesome. I'd like it if it was possible to switch the order somehow during the run through so you can keep builders safe at the back or pull people forward when you need them. Could turn this into a REALLY cool game that I think I could play forever.

murilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:18pm

The sound effects are catchy! And the pixel art is pretty good too! I played a few levels and it was pretty fun overall.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Great concept and pretty fun to play. Graphics were pretty good and I liked the animations. I felt the 10 second theme was a little forced for this type of game, in the earlier levels I was waiting too long and in the later ones I had to keep just pressing reset until I got a feel of what was in the level. I would also have liked to have seen a way to exit back to the main menu because I accidently selected one level twice and didn't want to have to play through it again. Other than that though a pretty nice game! Good work.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Great game, I like the nice graphics and the awesome sound effects very much! Automatic scrolling and switching to the next level would be nice.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:41pm

cool game! my only comment is that sometimes doing the same thing twice doesn't always get you the same result, which it seems like it should. But cool graphics, I really like the dying animations. nice sound effects, usually making sounds with your mouth can be quite tacky but here it definitely works. The music was a little bit too jolly I think. Something a bit more ambient and fantastical could have been really nice :) I can imagine if you added the ability to swap positions of characters, but only if they're next to each other (and it would take time to do so) you could come up with some amazing gauntlets for people to solve.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Yeah, there are some bugs that need sorting out, and it should give consistent results and we were planning on adding abilities such as changing the positions of units while they march but didn't have time and we weren't sure how to implement it. Thanks for the reviews and ideas everyone!

Dan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Loved the art style, and the sounds were great! A very well made game! An option to skip the 10 seconds and also a shorter time between completion and the end of the level would be a good update though.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Cool game, but a fastforward option is very much needed though

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:26pm

This was quite fun, though I feel that it would have been more fun if you didn't have a 10 second limit. I felt that the game was trying to tax my memory more than my strategic thinking skills.

Great graphics! Sound effects were nice as well. I think more levels would have been fun.

As mentioned, sometimes doing the same thing twice doesn't always result in the same outcome, sometimes you'd have enemies defeat each other and have different amounts of health than when you were doing it one attempt before.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Fastforward option would be a really good call XD at least for the parts the character is just walking and not really battling anyone

Volute says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very cool idea and great implementation

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Lots of content packed into this little game! The implementation of theme is a bit weak, but it's a fun game with solid graphics and a nice sense of progression.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Really nicely made, really liked how you almost forced the player to subconsciously make decisions rather than thought out strategies with the short amount of time to pick your units. The last level was a little difficult to figure out though, the 10 seconds didn't really give you that much time. Was still really enjoyable to play though, well done.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:53am

Sweet little game with awesome graphics. Very fun and addictive. Good job!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

Drabiter says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:26am

Do you have any other source? The web flash always goes timeout.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Did you make the wind with you mouth ? Lol ^_^

This is really my sort of game :) indeed, we made a very similar game ourselves. I really like seeing little men running around fighting each-other. Warcraft 1 has left me a ruined man.

Anyway I did manage to break it: got my wizard killed just as my ladder-man was dropping his ladder. The result was that I didn't lose the level!

It seems to not be completely deterministic: I get the feeling that with the same placement I don't always have the same result.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]