August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Labyrinth

by mochalematazi - Jam Entry

Note: The web version is a pure visual novel with practically no game-play. If you are looking for maze exploration and combat download the version corresponding to your OS.

Time Labyrinth is a visual novel/dungeon crawler. The story is about a young man and his dog traveling back in time 10 seconds to avert a tragedy.

Ten confesses to his long time crush, Angel, but little does he know that the world's out to ruin their date. The first problem seems to be that his dog Seconds is tagging along too, and after that it all goes downhill. Luckily Seconds can time travel 10 seconds into the past after exploring a deadly maze. It's gonna be a long day.

The source code is included in the downloads.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#50Graphics(Jam)4.28
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#100Audio(Jam)3.47
#176Humor(Jam)2.86
#215Overall(Jam)3.28
#408Theme(Jam)2.86
#449Fun(Jam)2.51
#550Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Hi, I just finished playing your game, and I have got to say, I LOVED IT *^* The main story itself was so amazing >u< Though, when I finish the last maze, and chose to let Angel go, when Ten goes over to the kids, errors just keep on appearing till it ends. I hope you'll fix it.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Amazingly detailed for a 3 day game. I loved the dungeon crawling as well. I just shot through all the toughies :P
The flying bear was hilarious :P

Great job!

lzavsek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Thank you wery much. We are very happy you guys enjoyed it! :D
@YamaxChrome8096: Sorry about the errors, we submited this literally in the last minutes. All the critical errors are fixed now.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Beautiful artwork, it had a nice feel to it :)

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Your game is fantastic! Beautiful art. The music is nice. Wow, this game was a lot longer than I expected. The dungeons were a nice touch. Amazing job.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Interesting Framework. What is it, that you used? I liked the mixture of visual novel and dungeon crawler. And the amount of graphics, backgrounds, enemies! Although the novel was a bit lengthy sometimes. But I liked the weird ideas.

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Absolutely beautiful! Probably my favorite so far!

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I'm not going to lie, I was getting sick of watching the story line, was the any part of this where you interacted with the game other than the occasional "You choose your path" kind of dialogue" Other than that the graphics were amazing, and audio was pretty great too.

mochalematazi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

@ratking: It's made with Ren'Py and Python.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Wow, that's rather detailed for the time you had! Great story!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

That's a neat twist you have in there!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Great graphics, but could have use a bit more interactivity. Nice job overall!

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Honestly, maybe this isn't for me. I became bored before I got to any sort of game mechanics beyond one or two dialogue choices. It was just click, read, click, read, click read.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Cool, although it got boring after a while

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I'm really impressed with the amount of story, it was really long! Interesting use of the theme and the graphics were sublime!

Yaguar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:11am

I wont lie, man tears occurred. Great job.

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

I loved this game. Nice job!

tobbez says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44am

Well made overall. Personally didn't care much for the dungeon crawler parts. Some of the character traits (mainly the main character's) were pretty cliché - but it was amusing, so that's fine.

I found that the music in the game worked very well.

While I found the writing to be quite aright, you should probably try to put a little more effort into spelling and grammar next time.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

Writer of the game here, to reply to some things.

@nikkesen, Yeah it was a heck of a challenge to write all the story in so little time, and then insert the images, that was all done so fast I swear my head spun near the end. Glad you enjoyed all the game.

@ratking, Sorry that it felt a little lengthy at times to you. Writing is what I do, so I tend to write lengthy works, being more of a novelist this is one of my shortest works I've done.

@Tainted_Code, Glad you liked it.

@Andrew Shouldice, Heh, twists are something I enjoy, both crafting in plots and writing. Glad you liked it.

@DissidentDan, I sorry you couldn't enjoy it. The visual novel genre probably isn't for you. It is a lot of text, since novel with choice branches to change the story, we tied it together with dungeon crawler, to create a little more 'game' to it.

@Deep Water Games, Sorry that it got boring. We had plans to make it more complex and not so stagnate, but with 3 days, we had to cut and change ideas.

@Literal Games, Thanks, yeah I'm honestly impressed I managed to write so much in so little time. 2 1/2 days it took to write all of it, the other half was inserting the sprites into the script, (I had to do it, since programmer was busy working on the crawler). I'm sure the artists are happy to hear you say that. And thanks, we wanted to do something different from 'finish this is 10 seconds' and so on. And being a writer, I made it clear to everyone else that theme had to tie into the storyline itself. The writer in me just wouldn't allow anything different haha.

@Yaguar, Thanks, we might have had some of those tears happen during the process itself.

@davisan, Thanks, we are glad you enjoyed it.

@tobbez, Can you explain what about the characters you found cliche? Oh man yes, that spelling and grammar, not going to lie, I want to kill myself looking at it. I had NO time to go over it, so what you see is literally the first draft of the writing. 2 1/2 days to write 11,000 words and then go through correct errors, tighten it up, fix awkward points, on a total of 8 hours of sleep, and no food, too much to handle, at least for me. I was so dead my mind was just lost in the twilight zone somewhere.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59am

Liked the game overall, the battle system was a bit unnecessary. Nice story, nice music and nice graphics.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

I liked the graphics! The amount of content was pretty impressive too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]