August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Pirate's Ship of Treasures

by immanuela - Jam Entry

What is more important, your money or your life?

Created for Ludum Dare 27, Birdie is back and she's taking on Ghost Pirate's hidden ship of treasure. It's risky but there's loads of jewels to be found. Will she get out alive?

In this platform puzzle crossover, get as many jewels as you can and get out before time runs out or you lose a life and 150 coins! But be careful, those planks aren't as sturdy as they seem...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Audio(Jam)2.71
#425Theme(Jam)2.82
#426Humor(Jam)1.84
#481Fun(Jam)2.42
#501Mood(Jam)2.23
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#558Graphics(Jam)2.14
#589Innovation(Jam)1.96

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Couldn't beat the first level. D:

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

The idea is fun but the game is to hard, the movements of the character aren't very fluid. It felt a little jammed.
Also it's to short. I hope that you continue developing this, if it is so, add some music and sfx.

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Thanks for letting me know! Always good when someone other than yourself tests it :) I will fix that immediately.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I somehow liked the physics of the movement. It was fast as hell, but I enjoyed it :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

It was fun, but level 4 was impossible for me to jump up onto the platform, I guess the levels are randomly generated?

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

@Jayjay which platform were you having trouble with? I tested the game quite a few times to make sure it was alright but maybe it's still too hard sometimes. The levels aren't randomly generated though :)

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

Good start to a platforming game here...

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36am

"Thanks for playing" :) Of all the games I've played so far, this was actually the first "platformer"! A nice little classic study in the genre imo.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37am

i like the idea, i take some levels, but sometimes when i jump dont stay inside the platform, i dont know is it a bug or what.

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Yes, that is a bug that I didn't notice when I tested it myself, I'll be working on that for the post-Jam release :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42am

This was fun platformer, but I think the 7th level has an impossible jump in the beginning.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43am

some bugs here and there. but i really liked the music.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51am

It was a bit tricky to control the player, which makes the game less.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice visuals and music!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Cool! But a bit short. A played all the level without problems. Also the music is good!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Nice music, found the controls to be a bit floaty.
Liked the risk/reward mechanic of dying losing points vs getting enough gems.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Music is very piratey, that's cool.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

This was a great deal of fun. It has kind of a speed-run feel to it, and I dig that. Yarrrrrrgh!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Cool game! The character move a little bit too fast for me and it make it hard to jump :) But very cool game, want some more level :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I completed it! Works best when you keep the momentum going

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Fun little game, I loved the music! Graphics could use some work. Good job! :)

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Passed all levels )

Just love it. The case when so simple and fun
Like Doodle Jump

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Good little game. Hard to control but in general it's good.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Well it's a simple platformer, dosn't really have much of an twist but it works
Odd jump sound effect... I think a random sfxr sound would work better there.

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

@Xgor, that's the sound of the platform creaking when you land on it :D Thanks for all your comments so far everyone, it's really going to help me going forward with developing :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47am

Cool little game. You got a good idea, but I think you need a little more polish.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39am

I liked the background music lol

in our game we also played with the concept of `what should u do with your time?`, I liked the evident duality in yours, but i'd make it harder ot get the money AND save yourself! =)

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01am

Hey immanuela, you can do small bugfixing after submission, is allowed in the rules.

Being the time left an important thing, I found it a bit hidden in the sidebar.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38am

Was fun! Had problems with some of the platforms too.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45am

Graphics were kind of mismatched, could use some work. But otherwise, decent platformer; would have preferred not to have the acceleration though, that was the reason I failed most of the time. XD

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:17am

Pretty nice, but i found it quite hard to move the carachter.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32am

Bug fix - player can no longer fall through platforms. If anyone is still having this issue, please let me know :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Excellent level design, player learns quickly what he has to do. Good difficulty.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Decent little game. Wouldve liked to have seen more levels, I was able to beat it fairly quickly. Platformers are always fun though! Good entry

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:49pm

@zlowrance - I definitely plan to add more levels after Ludum Dare :)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I don't know why so many people are saying this was too hard, I actually think it was far too easy :D I beat every level and got every coin without losing a life. I would've liked to have seen the game go on for longer, but I understand time constraints :)

ananasblau says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

it's a good start for a platformer, a few animations would be great, they are the best thing you have to bring such a game to life. The UI could do with some margin to the edge of the view. while you're at it, imagining the game takes place under deck, a vignette for the background image and some animated lanterns as well. only thing that keeps the mood up is the good music selection. oh and high five for choosing a woman as your hero :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:58pm

solid platformer, cool music.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

It was over all too quickly!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

Awesome song! Carried the whole game for me. Who doesn't like pirates? The jump physics were great (something you don't see a lot of in LD games) so it was super fun to listen to the song and run around levels. I'd work on this further.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Fully agreed @redo, but now the sfx are really annoying lol, there should be a mute button.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:37am

nice game -- really good music

cwkx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Simple and fun, with great music - good job :)

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Quite fun, but perhaps a little too easy? One of my favourites so far

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

funny! The controls have a good feel and the length of the game is just right!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Fun

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

I've got a black screen, is it normal?

immanuela says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

@truiton, nope not normal. Someone else has mentioned that too, I'll look into it now.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

really enjoyable. the music make the mood.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Love the audio! Graphics is also not bad. Good job!

Nangie says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Really nice, i loved the music !

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I was surprised to see people saying it was hard, I take it a few changes have been made? I beat I think 8 levels, and then it was done, and it was extremely easy. I liked the creaking sound when you hit the boards.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Funny and fast game! Have a fun to play that

immanuela says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

@Mekuri nope the levels are the same, some people have said it was hard and some say it was easy, I'm not quite sure why. Thanks again for all the comments everyone, seriously, it;s really encouraging :)

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Pretty cool for something made in such a short space of time :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Was pretty easy but fun regardless... liked the movement in this, felt natural... good first entry!

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Awesome music! The jumping felt precise and good.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Found it easy but missed a couple of gems. I walked many planks in this game... I'll get my coat...

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Simple, but cute. Good game design, but I think the difficulty could have increased a bit more from level to level.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

Fun little game. I wish it had a pause button because gameplay went so fast >.<

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice piratey feel.

Some animation on the character would be very welcome!

Keep at it!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

I really liked the controls. The jumping velocity/gravity was very nicely done.

5ants team says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

Some simple fun for 1 or 2 minutes. I don't think the game is too hard, but I agree it's very short. Good job anyway!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:29am

The game was way too easy :P. The graphics were decent enough and the audio good, gameplay also felt solid and the "risk vs. reward" system was really nice!

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Fun platformer, good fun for a minute :) Add more levels for sure!

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Nice game, the simple gameplay is quite fun. I'd work on graphics, and maybe making the levels more incrementally difficult. Otherwise, well done.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Pretty fun but a bit simple and a bit too short. I liked the greed aspect to it, would have liked to have seen harder levels where you have to make solid choices about which treasures you go for and which you have to leave behind.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I wished there would be a bit more variety in the level designs. Otherwise a solid little platformer :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Is probably the first pirate game so far. And now I must find more in LD27

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I thought it was too easy. Maybe adding obstacles would've been nice. But it's just simply nice.

Epiphane says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

Fun, solid little platformer. Not sure what happens when the 10 seconds runs out, since all the levels are fairly easy... It would have been nice to see some interesting gimmicks or new mechanics to the basic platforming game.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:30am

The idea is not so very original (there are a lot of limited-time platformer out there), but the realization is way better than most of the other games of the same kind. And the background music is so adorable!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I found it too easy, not that exciting but could be cool if it was more complex

jijaweb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Cool game, and hard.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

This game plays very easily, found it somewhat relaxing getting all of the collectables, the music fits very well. Would be cool to see more game mechanics applied to increase difficulty

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Level 10 is near impossible and Level 11 is impossible because you can't jump that high... maybe I'm missing something?

Jason says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice job! Something felt a bit off with the spikes and contacting them. But otherwise it was a good game. I would have like to see the difficulty scale a bit more where timing and the proper route to the jewels required no mistakes to get them all. Maybe a way to repeat levels too, so if you finish it without getting all the jewels, you can try again.

Zerot says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:38am

No audio controls :( and level 10 was seemingly impossible for me. Idk if it was just me or something faulty on the back end but I fell through certain platforms. Nice start to a platformer though!

panurge says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Simple but beautifully judged platforming. The controls were smooth and the short levels were nicely balanced. It was very satisfying to plot a course and bounce through them.

Special mention to the excellent music.

Good work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Nice and simple. Sound effects and animation are a bit buggy; the creaking seems like it should only occur when landing on a platform instead of just when overlapping it, and face direction during jumping got off.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I eventually got stuck, but it was fun before that. I liked trying to work myself out of the debt I built up early on, and the music and sounds were very nice.

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:07pm

addictive and good fun!

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

The music choice was very good, but the sound fx got annoying after a while. Not much to do aside from collecting gems.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]