August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Memorization

by longloaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Memorizing game. Controls: Mouse.
Tools: Flixel, FlashDevelop, Inkscape, Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#458Humor2.41
#803Graphics2.49
#823Audio1.94
#926Overall2.66
#957Mood2.14
#1009Theme2.56
#1038Fun2.23
#1157Innovation1.85

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

Epic game. No sarcasm.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

Fun game, took me a run to realize that I was supposed to memorize the order, not the amount.

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35am

Well Done.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

Nice memory game!!!

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38am

Needs more rounds. ;)

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55am

48 hours of intense jamming, and now I have to use my memory?? Just kidding. I had fun - nice job.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

its kinda funny... in a certain way

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

Sweet game. Awesome graphics (seriously!) and a nice way to present the sequence to be memorized. Maybe a slightly weak intepretation of the theme.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

It seems a bit short; 7 items is within working short-term memory, after all.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41am

I really enjoyed the shapes and the faces and the combinations of shapes and faces. I was annoyed that I had to wait ten seconds to see if I had remembered correctly. Possibly a bonus for deciding quickly, and the bonus could be: you can skip the countdown? I really like the rectangle.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Simple concept and good realization. I think the game would be great if it had an infinite mode that kept getting harder.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

i like it but it would be good to be able to skip waiting for the countdown

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Good game :) As Komradus says I thought I was supposed to memorize how many so I was surprised to press the triangle dude and get him marked as nr.2

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Haha, the evaluation is the best! :D Nice memorization game.

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Pretty nice little game.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

simple game, done well. would have been nice to skip the remaining seconds (especially for the first levels)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

It got hard when the star came in, because I was memorizing cheese, dorito, bologna, relish...star? Great art, cool concept, although I wish I could skip the countdown. Good job!

justi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Very nice memory mod game

TheDreik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Will be better if you don't need to wait time lefted after you select all items in list.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Nice

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Hehe, funny idea and grafix :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Nice memory game. It was somehow cute to watch this guys jump to their death with a smile on their face. ^^

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:24am

good memory game and lovely graphics :D

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21am

loved the hand-drawn art!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

Best graphics ever.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26am

It is quite fun!! I only wish there was a button to speed up time, instead of waiting.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice game, simple concept well realized :) well done !

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice gameplay and presentation! There should be some way to skip waiting, and to correct missed click (I know that's my fault to click on something else, but accidents happen...). Graphics is too much "ms paint", even it's done in inkscape.. I don't say it's wrong, or that I don't like it... but I'm not sure about it at least :-)

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:30am

I love the graphics. The only thing I might change is for the world to be similarly hand drawn. Its lines are too straight.

The mechanics itself aren't terribly innovative. It's a memory game. And it's unclear what you're supposed to do at first, but the game has enough charming details to really lift it. The faces of the characters. The way they jump into the pit if you fail. This is a really cute game. Well done.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Funny graphics :)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nice idea, but I feel like the timer is maybe a little out-of-place. You either remember the pattern or you don't. Extra time doesn't help you remember. Still pretty polished and a good effort though.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice variety of characters.
Some button to validate our sequence and shortcut the timer will makes the game more dynamic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]