August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Polarity Countdown

by Mental Atrophy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run 10secs.exe to play. Alternatively, if you have Python32 and Pygame you can just run 10secs.py (which is the source).

Controls: Left/Right arrow keys to move, Spacebar to jump.

Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/mentalatrophy/sets/ludum-dare-27

Technical Details:
This game was made with Python32 and the Pygame SDL libraries. I started with no pre-existing framework. Music was made in FL Studio using 3xOsc for the instruments. Sound effects, all (three, four?) of them were created with Bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/). Graphics were made in Corel Paintshop Pro X4 because I am too cheap for Photoshop.

Personal Notes:
This is the first game I've ever "finished," and also the first time I've made a platformer so there was a bit of a learning curve. I barely finished so there's only a few levels and they are designed really poorly, barely taking advantage of the polarity shifting or switchblock puzzles. The stages just loop so, uh, quit whenever. I think I'll revisit this game later, except I'll shorten the polarity shifting to like four seconds instead of ten (or, instead of designing the stages to being timing-oriented, the polarity shifting changes the overall route to the goal). The rush to getting everything complete was a lot of fun. I didn't let it get in the way of sleeping, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#193Audio3.21
#313Graphics3.31
#470Innovation3.08
#471Overall3.14
#520Theme3.22
#553Mood2.73
#626Fun2.83
#742Humor1.95

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Overall a good try, but waiting 10 seconds for the changes, at least in these levels, just ends up being a chore. It was an interesting interpretation of the theme, but in practice it didn't make for a very good gameplay mechanic.

You got the platforming contrls done very well though! Good acceleration/friction.

The "slow down" sound ended up being realllly annoying. Sounded like you were going for something like Mario, but it was just actually really annoying to hear.

Music was very well done though.

Spit Tex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

The concept was quiet interesting, but the level design left much to be desired,as sometimes if you were to fail at a challenge you would have to wait a while to redo it, which unfortunately breaks the flow of the game and leaves the player frustrated. Maybe adding a rewind feature would fix this problem.

ripatti says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really good one! I like graphics, music and using the theme.

I stucked on level presented on screenshot. Maybe I return to it later.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28pm

As far as the "platformers that straight-up use 10 seconds" as a mechanism, this has been by far the prettiest I've come across. A little on the tedious side, might be better if the theme was "5 seconds" instead. Congrats on your 1st entry!

Ninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I do like the phase change and puzzle aspects but at times it can be a bit slow if you miss some jumps. The music was nice and I didn't mind the sfx. The art is great!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I really like the idea, but I feel like the 10-second theme actually undermined it. If it were a faster-paced game you could make some sick levels! As it is, the 10-second theme is dragging your game down

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Really enjoyed that! The waiting was a bit long, but you already said it yourself. The levels were very good. There was a nice learning curve in the game. I also liked the background music and the other sound effects.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

I liked the phase change, but I think that to relieve some of the hardships that one can find while playing it (apart from the phase changes taking the 10 seconds as for the theme) the coloured platforms could be made one-way, as stage 4 (I think) kinda needed some precision with the jump timing, and _a lot_ of patience to get the transition right.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I was going round in circles for a while on that last level :) some sort of end-game would have been nice instead of simply restarting. I really like the player sprite. Nice work

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53pm

It's a fun game for 48 hours.

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I loved the that slipping of the character and sound effect :)
Great game. Great idea. Great work.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice entry!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Really well done! Only thing i didn't like was the "slow down" sound but the rest was very good

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Gahh, another game I can't play. I get the error message, "10secs.exe is not a valid Win32 application". Could this be because I'm on Windows XP?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Reverend Speed, it is a 64-bit application because of the way I "compiled" it. Sorry.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

The concept is good, but it takes a lot of patience to go through. I also couldn't get past the level at the screenshot, the block always falls through so I can't get it to the switch at the middle. The music is nice, I liked it, and so is the art. Nice job!

Shugor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This is an interesting use of the theme. How well it works varies by level; at some points it makes the game more exciting by forcing you to make quick decisions, but at other points - especially once you learn how it works - it ends up being a waiting game. The progression of difficulty is nice, but it would be cool if other elements/mechanics could be added in later levels to mix things up. A stage select/menu screen would be a good idea as well, but I still enjoyed the game as it is~

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:29am

I find one level with the three switches a bit hard to understand. The switches do work, but I couldn't figure out what blocks were switched on.

I could be too tired to think. Maybe. Heh. Very good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]