August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Deep Dark

by psema4 - Jam Entry

Single-player HTML5-based card game, requires Google Chrome.

Please see the Help screen for a run-down of the rules & known issues.

-----

Edit:

The help screen is not very clear... on the list of things to fix. Here's a (hopefully) easier rundown.

How to play:

The decks shuffle themselves. Scene and Encounter cards play themselves (automatic)

The player automatically draws one card per turn (if there are any open spaces in your hand).

To play a card, double-click the desired card in your hand (to the right of the decks).

You cannot discard cards; if you wish to do so just put it in the play area.

Some cards have a value of zero (0) - namely scenes and spells. The recover spell heals one Health Point. The serenity spell gives you back some sanity.

As you loose sanity, the hue of the scene displayed will change from clear to grey to greenish. (Insanity glitches didn't make it in time, see the postmortem.)

In each 10 second scene, play as many cards as you wish. If the players' cards total is more than the total of the NPC (non-player cards) cards the player gains experience.

There is no end-condition* - survive as long as you can! For reference, my best score so far is 59 experience points.

I'm looking into the cross-browser issues and will post an update as soon as I can. [Update: Firefox now supported**]

* The idea was to pick up talismans in various scenes, eventually unlocking a final boss battle with the Demon card. See the postmortem for why it didn't make it into the entry:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/the-deep-dark-a-postmortem/

** Firefox 24+ users: if you do not hear any sound, please open a blank tab and goto about:config, search for media.webaudio.enabled and make sure it's set to true. (If you don't see the webaudio entry then sound won't be available)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#427Innovation(Jam)2.61
#437Audio(Jam)2.25
#467Mood(Jam)2.40
#488Theme(Jam)2.63
#577Graphics(Jam)2.00
#599Fun(Jam)1.72
#604Overall(Jam)2.06
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43am

The game is blocked on the loading page, is it normal?

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Odd game, odd.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

STICKMIN

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

@trulton - it may take a few moments to load the music resources the first time around, but your browser should cache them for future use.

What browser (and version) are you using?

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I really like the concept but it was a bit overwhelming to figure out what was going on.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Stuck forever on loading too... Tried on Linux in Opera 12, Firefox 23 and WebKit-based browser. :-/

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27pm

doesn't load on Firefox

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Confirmed, firefox doesn't like your game... what a mean browser! :(

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Apologies to those not using Google Chrome; the idea of cross-browser support was one of the first things I discarded. Resolving issues across different browsers can be time consuming and I wanted to ensure an entry.

That said, I'll be following up... expect this situation to get fixed! More details in the postmortem:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/the-deep-dark-a-postmortem/

Thanks for the feedback and votes - they're very much appreciated!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Wasnt quite sure how to play, but I like the idea and the music

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Updated the description to try making the instructions clearer and to note that I'm looking at the cross-browser issues.

Thanks again all for your feedback, please keep it coming! =D

psema4 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

There's no audio, but it should be playable in Firefox now.

psema4 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

Firefox 24+ users should be able to hear music now. See ** note in the description at the top of the page.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I like the art :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Would've loved: a counter, fewer bugs (hehe), but otherwise nice to see an ambitious game, good for a first entry. Looking forward to see what you do next LD!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Nice idea, really cool game!

manuq says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:04am

Nice card game! I like the doodle graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]