August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Legend of Epikouros

by Erhune - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Zelda-esque quest, but with a twist: you can only participate for 10 seconds... once and for all. And then you can only contemplate the consequences of your choices while your fellow players push on forward.

Will you all, hundreds of players, be able to combine your efforts and finish this epic Relay Quest?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.65
Innovation4.72
Coolness73%
#34Mood3.86
#36Overall3.92
#199Audio3.20
#237Humor2.89
#393Fun3.11
#480Graphics3.00

Comments

h_double says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:28pm

this is incredible.

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:31pm

SO GOOD. I got dem shivers, imma bookmark this and check it out repeatedly! I commend you sir for taking the theme so awesomely.

Delta Square says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Good idea! This is an interesting take on the "hardcore/permadeth" concept.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Wow, just wow. This is incredible. I believe we have a winner.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:52pm

You should make a version of the game available for download once the main one is completed.

Cherno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:10am

This is honestly the coolest concept I have seen for this theme. Well done!

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05am

Very interesting concept. I'm digging the music as well!

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26am

Doesn't work for me.

Paprika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14am

OMG this is such an awesome concept!!
It's legen… wait for it

Dary!!
I will totally keep checking to see the ending of this marathon!!
…damn it I wanna play again. >< just 10 more seconds pls.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

Such an unique mechanic! Really awesome, just wish there was a way to speed up the "the story so far" bit, but great job, this game is amazing!

D-e-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

Interesting idea, not really my cup of tea, sadly.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

Really interesting idea. But they don't let me to play this even 10 seconds. Maybe someone did it before with same IP? Nvm.
Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

this is a really cool game keep making games like this and you will be rich.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01am

5 stars for concept alone. Bravo. Definitely need a way to speed up the replay. Fantastic game and LD entry.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

Wow, this is amazing! What a fantastic use of the theme. Knowing that everyone you've watched has experienced part of the adventure in game play and you by watching them really gives you a different perspective on how you use your time. The only thing I really would like is some kind of indication on how close to your turn it is. Depending on how many people play it, it seems like it could take a while before you have a chance. It's really great and I'll definitely keep following this!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Author here.

Thank you all for the nice comments!

During the contest, I thought a lot about a speed-up feature, especially because I didn't want to "waste" the time of my voters. I put it aside for 2 reasons: the obvious one being the time constraint (just having the real-time replay was still a big part of the coding effort), and the less obvious is that it would change the "taste" of the game. By that I mean that many parts of the level are design so as to give clues to what happen next, or hints on how to solve a future problem. Of course getting the hint or not is up to the viewer, and some hints have been skipped by the path choices so far, but that's part of what makes the concept so powerful I think. Anyway what's done is done, adding the feature now would be quite against the compo rules :) I might add a "total time so far" indicator though, because I agree that not knowing if you have to wait 1 min or 1 hour is not very fun when you are rating dozens of games.

@Nerlin > Send me your IP by mail/Twitter (my contact info is on the bottom of the game page) and I'll look into it. Btw I loved your entry! :)

@HeroesGrav > If you send me the details of the error I'll check what's wrong!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Hoho wow, I've never been so excited to walk 15 tiles in a game!
Such a metaphor for the onward march of man...

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

YEHAW! I got a key! That is such an amazing idea, well done! So impressed.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Crikey the story-so-far is slow! :D

Latency says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

That is awesome, love how you used the theme, absolutely brilliant

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

This is awesome, a collaborative story game where everyone plays for ten seconds, nice work!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I had to wait a few minutes to get to play the game, and only for 10 seconds!

The idea is cool. When I realized I'll get to play after all the previous people in a persistent world, I started to get excited. "Maybe I'll find the door!".


Nice idea overall, but again, so boring to wait for all those players!

Antidote says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very interesting idea!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Wonderful idea. I completely wasted my 10 seconds, unfortunately, but I still love the game and will definitely be coming back to watch more of it. Awesome stuff.

Arcana says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

What a great use of the theme. It was really fun watching other people doing their thing but I think I wasted my 10 seconds since I couldn't figure out how to attack like everyone else did. :(

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very cool concept

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This is a really cool idea for the theme of 10 seconds. I'm not sure how much fun I necessarily had or how much replay value it has, but super cool concept.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

Wow wow wow. Just wow! Although the actual gameplay is not really fun (does it need to be?) and you have to "wait" for quite some time, the take on the theme is by far the most brillant one I've seen so far.

The concept itself is reminiscent of both Journey's online mode and http://donottouch.org/.

I couldn't help but see a metaphor of each "generation" of humans bringing a little something to the advance of mankind at large. Some have a useless and bland life, some an exciting and dangerous one, some make breakthrough they are only partially responsible for. I, Fred, am proud to say I got to open the last of the three doors in the north using the key in the grove :D

Of course it's part of the concept, but I still regret you have to wait such a long time before playing. Anyway, it's a great game, brilliant concept, with decent art and music. Congratulations!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

An interesting idea, but I think so many people have played it now that it takes too long to get to your 'turn'. I gave up watching after a few minutes. There doesn't appear to be any way to skip ahead. Despite this, it looks like a lot of work went into building the engine and game world within a short space of time. I just wish I could play the game myself!

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Sadly, the game stopped forever after 10 seconds, which in itself might be the truest expression of the theme I've seen yet. But I think it was a bug ;) Anyway, what I saw was pretty nice!

Volute says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Fantastic idea !

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Wow this is something else. I really feel like I've been part of something beautiful! :) Awesome.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Similar idea to what I came up with the lifetimes, but you took it way further, awesome stuff! It took a looong time to get to my turn and I kind of wished I could fast forward a bit. Once I got to my turn I just flailed around and did everything wrong as I figured I would. No pressure, right?! lol Good stuff!

Anachron says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

That rock had it coming... really cool concept!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Oh my that is... just awesome.

Tifu says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This is a genius idea! I managed to kill something in my play, so I feel accomplished %D

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Well, that built up some monumental anticipation as I watched all of the other players go. I opened a door in front of the fifth heart, so I guess I accomplished what I wanted on my play! Almost.
I went through watching the playthrough a second time, just to see if my successor finished the job I started.

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Amazing! I can proudly say I was the first to kill an enemy ;) This hits the theme so well, you should be proud!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:57pm

I love you. The basic concept ("Each player session lasts for only 10 seconds, but the game lasts much longer") was on my list of ideas, but I opted for something easier instead. You didn't. And now you made this game and I can still play it, and that makes me pretty happy! :D

I really like that you opted for the adventure-style genre - it makes sense to watch what previously happened so that you can get hints and know what was already explored and where players stopped.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

This is really really cool. So I played my 10 seconds of the epic quest. A real multiplayer game.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:24pm

It was kinda painful watching dozens and dozens of other people first, but fantastic idea.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

the gameplay isn't really fun but the concept is so amazing i don't care.

syawqy says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

you're genius!!! this is really fit the theme so well

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I... don't know how to review this. Rest assured, my ratings speak for me.

Excellent idea (first game I've given 5s for innovation and theme in this compo). Getting to see the story so far is great. The playtime is so short that this is more like watching a video and getting to influence it in a small way, but heck, this isn't a bad thing. I love the retro Zelda-style graphics, and the music is beautiful.

Good luck with this project!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Wow. Amazing concept. It sucked having to watch a bunch of people make the same mistakes over and over (some kind of social experiment, maybe) but the idea was really mind blowing. It was kind of over before I got a turn, but it was still awesome to influence this story in some way. The song was very soothing although the sound effects were a bit harsh and really cut through the mood set by the situation and the music. Great innovation and approach to the theme!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Amazing!

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I love how this collaborative and the way one person plays effects everyone's experience! Very innovative.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Love the music, started off being quite relaxed watching the other people succeed or fail to be useful. As it was getting closer to my turn, I started getting tense "Would I be one of the people who progressed the story, or would I be a failure and a time waster?" In the end I was a bit of both! Really looking forward to seeing the final video - Jim playthrough 6

While its fair I can't play again for the same play through is it just for this playthrough or for all playthroughs?

jujule says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:46am

The best take on the theme so far. I liked the thrill near the end of the "show" when you wonder if you'll be in a position to do something meaningful other than just walking and then the frantic attempt to not waste your precious 10 seconds.
Now the question is : how to push this concept further ? I'd really love to see that.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:34pm

This is the most interesting use of the theme I've seen. Nice work.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:47am

AMAZING use of the theme. Definitely the most innovative entry I've seen so far. It's really incredible.
Perhaps you could add a "speed-up" feature. A button or something to see "the story so far" in a shorter span of time.

Or perhaps a "summary" made of a subset of the events discretely sampled. As the list of events (players) grow, you can "skip" certain segments and make a transition between the remaining sections with fade-to/from-black as if it were the "previously on..." of a series.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:48am

A very frustrating game but ... AMAZING IDEA !
Good work ! :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:07pm

That's an incredible concept... LOVE IT! :D

Demurgos says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:47pm

This is a great concept, I shared it with lots of friends : maybe we'll succeed (they represented 50% of the seventh adventure... which was a big failure :D).

I keep trying, maybe this time it will be better.
How are we supposed to get the key in the middle of the forest, killing every monster ?

ratking says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:56am

Moody, neat little game. I SO love the concept. It's klike a participative Let's Play! I just had the feeling that I had less than 10 seconds :( I just walked a bit and time went off. A speed up, if you want to try it again would be very nice. Or at least skip to the last 5.

joekinglake says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

This is incredible. Perfect.

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I'm speechless, amazing game!

RadJor says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 1:42am

Neato! I think it was sensible to have us watch everything that came before so that we wouldn't (likely) make the same mistakes, and like ratking said, it felt like a strange Let's Play. That being said, a 2x or 3x fast forward option or something would be nice. It would still show the progression, but not have us waiting 10 minutes for 10 seconds. Anyways, kewl concept. I'm still not sure if there is an end though! Especially with that "Its all about the journey" stuff on the sign ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]