August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Back for Seconds

by RobotParking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bizarro-punk Twine game. Heavily inspired by Porpentine, OH NO PROBLEMS and others. Borrowed liberally from Nicole Shukin's book Animal Capital. Specifically her assertion that the term "rendering" as both mimesis and the act of boiling animal remains to have another "pass" through the market is an apt rubric through which we can examine the ways capitalism extends itself. Players will need to "go back for seconds" 10 times before the game "ends."

This is also my first time working with Twine. Hope you enjoy it, but if you don't, whatever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#233Humor2.91
#553Mood2.73
#798Innovation2.65
#976Audio1.25
#994Overall2.56
#1063Fun2.18
#1092Theme2.33
#1178Graphics1.51

Comments

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

really nice!

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Interesting but awful colour scheme that hurt my eyes. Couldn't get very far so not sure how well it fit with the theme. Good to see something that's not your typical game.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Thanks!

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

i played this while hungry.

welp.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

The colours aren't awful they are beautiful.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Oh dear, these color choices are difficult to read text

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Didn't really understand the game...

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

what am i playing?
awesome/5

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I have no idea what's going on with this game.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

I dig it.

It took me a few minutes to kind of get into the swing of your writing style - it's sharp and abrasive and hyper. Pretty awesome.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

what a strange world you've created. i really had no idea what was happening in the beginning but as i continued playing i got into the whole atmosphere your writing has. the colours are distracting, and that fits very well with the rest of the game.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I...

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Interesting idea. My eyes hurts a little bit (cause of colors), but I can handle it ;)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Ah confused! :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Haha that's awesome, but the colours, ouch D:

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

That...was... WEIRD. Yet awesome. Yet weird. Yet awesome.

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I don't know what-
It's just that-
What is this I don't even-

Everything about this is wrong... but in such a right way. The colours are awful... but are a perfect choice for this piece of poetry.

Your writing is immense. Once you push through the first impressions it really, really grips you something fierce.

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Omg, that hurt my eyes but, in a strikingly sensible way. Like, the story could only be displayed with painful colors. It was like I was seeing things. If the game was in other colors, I don't think I would have felt as weird out of it. Nice!

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice but, why that pink color ? XD

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Some lines were kinda funny, but like others had said, I have no idea whats going on.

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

That colors hurt my eyes. Interesting idea, I laughed ^^.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Thanks for the kind words, everyone!

Subi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

That pink meant I could only last about five minutes. Nice writing though!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Interesting :)

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Well that was . . .

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Hurt my eyes with the colours. Confused how this fits with the theme

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Yeah, the colors made this lose some points, for me. Interessing, anyway.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Some really good writing, and I like the color scheme a lot, don't listen to them :P

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Why the bright pink, why?

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

This thing is genius on a literary level... screw video game jam this is progressive fiction (is that a thing? it ought to be) jam... color scheme is brilliant, story is brilliant, interpretation of the theme (Time? What does time have to do with 10 seconds?) is... brilliant.

I'm in love.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

i'm a huge advocate and admirer of both piss and filth. great twine game.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

chrisamaphone: That's fucking nothing. I was eating while I went into this thing.

It's awful. RobotParking: YOU'RE awful. I kinda like it.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Creative text adventure!! Nice use of the hyperlinks :)

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I'm so confused... I don't even know where to start. Very... creative? It's lost on me though...

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nice idea, I love text adventure :)
But yeah, the colors hurt the eyes :D

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Like an unholy mash-up of Burroughs and Jeff Noon, I really enjoyed reading this. The colour scheme lingers in the retina though... :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Ow my eyes. the color was a bit much. interesting approach though.

I enjoyed it though. Keep up the good work!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

Any deeper meaning is lost on me, but it was a blast to play.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Not my cup of tea. And boy that hot pink did a number on my eyes.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Interesting but a bit too extreme in some cases.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

I have no idea what I played through, but it was AWESOME! XD
I didn't like the background color, it kinda burned my eyes.

One of the more interesting and different entries in this LD. :D

Delca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:37am

As a non-native English speaker, I sometimes struggled with some words, and couldn't exactly see how much the theme was involved in this. But that was nonetheless fun to read.

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

My eyes.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Interesting interpretation of '10 seconds' and an even more interesting story!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Yo RobotParking. Your game feels like somebody just barged into my house, threw up on my floor and I LIKED IT. Word.

I definitely see Porpentine influence there.


@madk: Your comment made me laugh.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17pm

THANKS FOR PLAYING/COMMENTING. COULD KISS YOU ALL ON THE DANG MOUTH.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nice change of paced compared to most entries I've been playing. Colors were kind of blinding. Nice work!

65C816 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great entry, and really good idea, but...the color burnt my eyes.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:14am

Background is terrible. =|

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I like pink too.

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Wow so much purple :)

cafeine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Amazing. Videogames often lack intelligent discourse, grindcore and pink backgrounds, thank you for providing all three of them.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

So i see different colors now. Also my brain does not compute. Is this an absurdest movement in games? I don't quite understand, but i respect.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Very different, and in your face ,much like the pink color!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I was ROLLING. Nicely done hahahaha.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very, very Porpentinesque, this, almost enough so as to be a parody. (I have no idea whether I would have believed it was made by her if I hadn't seen the author's name.) Cool subversion of the theme, very good writing (again, if you like Porpentine's style), and very good Twine work. I always like to see Twine games that pose a bit of a challenge, and this one did.

I could have lived without the more disgusting bits, but that's a taste thing (oh gods, Chris, don't think about "taste" in this context) and not related to the quality of your work. Very well written and coded.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Also, grammar nitpick: "put pay to" should be "put paid to".

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Interesting. I also didn't really like the bright colored background, it was a little distracting.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:03am

Pink background and white text? OMG, MY EYES!
Another problem with that is that there are so many slang-like expression.. Since English is not my native language, i ended with the translator opened in another tab to understand what's going on.. And the crazy and confusing storyline didn't help at all. Sorry to be so negative, this was my experience.
Oh, but a storygame kind of game is very original, that's a positive fact!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Ehhh not too much gameplay in it

Zap says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02am

A Twine adventure! Awesome!
<3 Porpentine (I admit, I was very dismissive of interactive fiction until I read Propentine)

I love how coarse this is and how it forces you to be such an offensive character. Well written and a unique experience.

The pink was a bit hurty after a while, and when I looked away everything looked green *o*
but it fit well with the abusiveness of the game itself.

Good length and sweet interpretation of the theme!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Eh, my eyes hurt now, the white background looks kinda blue...
Cute game, one of the more enjoyable twine games I played. Thing is, twine games tend to tell a story , and the coices you make during that story are generally irrelevant for it's outcome. Once we find a way to fix this, it's perfect! ;)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Auuuuug guugh guugh 5/5

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

interesting game, but would've liked a different color scheme.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:06pm

This hurts my brain. Fuchsia!

Antidote says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Interesting story, but the background colour is too bright.

foumart says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:15pm

EXTRAORDINARY! this was like Vogon story mixed with alot of sweet Gore-Grind passages that are certainly scourging one's brain enought with a pink/viollet ribbon.. uh.:x the game was awesome, really!

Sascha says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:01am

+1 for the title/interpretation of the theme :)

motty says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Wow.

I'm not sure what just happened. I'm not sure whether I liked it or not. I don't think I'll be going back for seconds this time around.

But this was good. Thank you.

garygreen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:13pm

That was disturbing, but also fantastic in it's own warped way. I couldn't finish it though... too full. ;-) Seriously though, I just ended up going round in a loop not knowing which way to go. I think my brain was too frazzled from it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]