August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Starship Physics

by cwkx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Starship Physics: My first LD, loved making this! :)

- To build your ship paint with the mouse. WARNING: After building there is a 10 second construction penalty where you cannot fire!
- The controls are slow until you improve the starship with more thrusters.
- If all your thrusters are destroyed you loose.
- Build your own starship and fight progressively tougher enemies with 7 ranks of difficulty.
- Pixel-physics based
- Physical attachments: Hull, Lasers, Thrusters, Rare Shield Drops (if your lasers get destroyed, you can't shoot)
- Development Stream: http://www.twitch.tv/cwkx/b/451269558
- "If you can't get in game and start killing stuff quickly, I don't wanna play it" -good friend of mine said this a long time ago.

@cwkx

Can you build the ultimate starship?!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Innovation3.95
#76Overall3.73
#78Fun3.65
#171Graphics3.63
#333Mood3.04
#368Audio2.87
#660Humor2.06
#870Theme2.80

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

Nice idea! Love the blocky artstyle :)

motty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

Unity :(

Works everywhere except Linux :(

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

It is so fun too play i love it :D :D :D

Armix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

The art style and pretty everything in this game is hectic. Awesome job for something created in such a short amount of time. Nice work, please keep it up. :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I love the pixel physics and the fact that useful parts of your ship can get blown off. Great look and feel too!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Cool!
Awesome art style.
A little slow paced - especially the construction, and it didn't have much noticable effect on my ship.. Or so I thought at least.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Great game. The concept, the details, and the transition between 2d and 3d.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Building your own spaceship to destroy other spaceships? All I have to say is, Hell Yes! The degrading aspect is awesome as well.

The only thing that's a bit wonky is the lasers since in order to properly make them go where you want you have to move and shoot.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Thanks for your comments! I'm glad people are enjoying it :)

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Brilliant game. Rather enjoyed it. Seems I got carried away with it actually. After an hour though, it became clear quite quickly that there was no way to lose once I'd got my solid laser ship. Even on my quad core machine, things started to get a bit flaky dealing with all the particles when I fired.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I like the idea and the graphics, the controls felt weird though :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very cool to play :) (although not too close to the theme, that would be my only remark). Other than that, A+. Keep up the good work, man.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

That's actually really fun! Turned the whole ship into a laser and it still was fun, great :)

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The art-style is great, but I think the laser you shoot should disappear once it hits an enemy. The laser just floats around. Otherwise, good game.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

It's really great. Very fun and addicting to make the ship evolve :)

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really fun. Terrible strain on my machine though. Esp when i fired mass lasers at a large enemy. The lasers are more like bombs u have to swing at your enemy though, since they start with your ships' momentum

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Fantastic! I loved it all the way through!! :D

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice concept, lacked any real objective however. :(

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Thanks all for your comments - I may fork it to improve the physics, polish it, but will leave this LD48 entry as it is. Was just going for a fun "get in and shoot/build stuff" game :)

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Great Idea. It was a lot of fun to play!

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting Idea. I like the pixelated art style, but I'm not a fan of the auto-generated music.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Excellent concept, really promising. the mix between Cube World and starship is a good idea ;)

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

At the moment the most impresive entry I have played :D
Reminds me building spaceships on Kindom hearts or Captain comando. Nice use of cubes :)

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I love how it has a sort of Fez-like feel. The 2D to 3D jump is very innovative. All in all 5/5.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20pm

THIS...IS...AWEEESOOOME!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

THIS...IS...AWEEESOOOME! i think i spent about twenty minutes just farming lasers, it lagged me out but it was worth the epic pwnage xD

heres a thumbs up!
http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t105/rf_/YEAAAH.jpg

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea! Ship building was pretty swell. Surprisingly fun to rip something off enemy and then put it on yourself.

Is there anything else to do in the game? Just collecting parts for ship can get boring.

raoz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:32am

Fun game, a bit easy, may be a bit tedious, but all in all I had great fun playing it. 9.5/10 Would recommend.

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Amazing idea ! I would play the whole commercial game and its sequels :D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I like this game, although the title is not very fitting. Your physics are no startship physics, so much as tank physics. Good nonetheless!

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice, I like the graphics and the idea, but it could have been done better. But it's done in 42 hours!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:15am

Intresting Idea!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Nice, had quite a lot of lazers on my ship after some time :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Cool music and sounds. Great work!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Oh man - this could be sooo cool - you gotta keep working on it post-compo!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:31pm

VERY innovative (I know it's like that other game where you scavenge for spaceship parts, and like Flow, but still!)
and great fun!

Top marks

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:46am

Wow, this is really, really neat. I'd be interested in seeing what you make of it, if you're considering developing it further.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Best game here so far.

Towanime says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Love the idea, its kinda like a tower defense game but not at the same time :D

I had a little trouble choosing where to shot and distinguishing some blocks over others but overall I liked it.

canvapps says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

nice retro art work! It's nice to play, the most important thing in a game!
excelent!!

Sep 27, 2013 @ 10:53am

Awesome game!

For me the ultimate space ship was a straight line, a single cube high horizontal line. The left half thrusters, the right half lasers. It's easy to evade attacks, easy to collect, only spawns the little guys, and tosses some nasty javelins.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]