August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lepton Epoch

by Jacob123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It has been a fun two days. Without further ado I present my game: Lepton Epoch!

Story:
When the universe was only a second old a very important event took place. This event was the Lepton Epoch. It was a period that lasted 10 SECONDS where leptons and anti-leptons annihilated one another until only one remained. You are a lepton who is determined to be the last one to remain and be the base for everything that is created in the universe.
The game has 10 levels. One for each second of the Lepton Epoch. Oh, one more thing. Once you start moving there is no stopping. Your only form of protection against all the Anti-leptons is to jump. Good luck! You'll definitely need it!

Controls:
Right Button = Start Level (you won't move until this button is pressed)
Space = Jump (hold in to jump higher, I would recommend testing jump first before starting the level)

Download:
The URL will take you to the homepage of a website I made especially for this event. The download link is on the homepage (not hard to spot at all).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#693Humor2.00
#767Audio2.12
#788Fun2.66
#872Mood2.30
#890Theme2.76
#959Innovation2.38
#981Overall2.58
#1051Graphics2.00

Comments

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Creative story. Could be a bit faster, but it was fun, anyway.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I had the game going fater until someone told me that it was too hard. So to ensure that the game was beatable I slowed down the character's speed.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Liked the story. And the game was beatable. It took me a while to beat it, but I did it.

Graphic-wise the game is not pleasant to they eye. It's always the same alternating colors. This game could use more tiles. The enemies' and the player's sprite were kinda fuzzy around their edges (transparency/alpha channel issues?).

The soundtrack is way too repetitive. So repetitive, I had to turn the sound down. You would have better results you just used sound effects (for instance, when you get stuck to a wall).

Finally, I find no connection (other than the story that's not in-game) with the 10 seconds theme.

Not all is bad, mind you. The redeeming qualities of this game are:
* Not so bad level design: I had fun playing this game (the most important thing while playing a game is to have fun)
* Although the jumping control is not "usual" I find that it works really well with your game.
* The death screens and win screens are a nice touch.
* I liked the story.

All in all, I rate your game 6/10, will play again if you improve it =)

There's plenty of room for improvement.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

The audio is kind of abrasive, and I didn't enjoy how you could be almost off the screen but the game kept going, but for some reason I found this one to be quite enjoyable. Like, it was very easy to just almost-mindlessly keep retrying a level when you died, and it had just the right amount of tension. So you nailed the fun aspect, which is the most important part!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17am

Considering it's one button gameplay, that was actually pretty fun. Good twitch challenge. Some of the later jumps felt a bit unfair, like those tacks, but health resolved that problem. The relationship to particle physics is...tenuous.

After about 30 seconds the music became grating.

I like the little electrons spinning around you. It would have been nice to have more variety to the sprites, but then the source material didn't leave much room for that.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:46am

Loved the context you provided for the game. It's long enough to be enjoyed and short enough to not overstay its welcome. Pretty challenging as well, although hardly to the point of it being unbeatable, quite the contrary I thought difficulty progression was quite good. Great job!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very creative use of theme (and educational since I went and looked up leptons and spent a while researching the topic). Ran into a bit of an issue though. About the third or fourth attempt at level two, the textures for the leptons turned into while blocks, then at the end of the game the ending was just a blank white screen.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52am

DalbinBlue that also happened fkr one other person. Just restart the program and it will fix it.

Thanks for all the feedback guys! Much appreciated.

cardboard says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:40am

I think the sound was a bit too loud and in your face, and it could have been a bit longer. The levels were pretty good; they got a bit more difficult as the game went on, but I would have liked to see it get a bit harder. The theme interpretation you had was really neat. I think the jumping was a bit too.. linear, if that makes any sense. I enjoyed your game and look forward to your future entries!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

had fun, felt like the levels repeated themselves a bit though.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

I liked the twichy sort of controls and the fast-pace, can't say the game is a top of mine though. Still was fun for a short play :)

>Only died twice in beating it

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Nice game, I just would like to be able to catch up some frame when I'm "doing well" (dodging perfectly everything). For instance I started a game stuck on a wall, so I could see only half of my character, but then even by doing well, I didn't catch up anything and was still out of focus :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Could have had fewer lives - I could hit a number of them as I went through. Overall a fun game.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

Hey Almax27 thanks for the suggestion. I was wondering how to fix that problem and you just gave me the perfect answer. I was too tired during the compo to think about that.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

The holders of the secrets of the oracles have deemed you not worthy.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Leptons eh?
Not sure that that the universe started exactly as you said,
or I just read to much false things about it!
Good take on the theme!

BipoleMoment says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I drew you fanart: http://oi44.tinypic.com/2dgqmmc.jpg

I also thought the game was a brilliant use of the theme, and it took me forever to finish. But in a good way. It was hard and fun, and I really enjoyed it :)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:57am

Aw, thanks for the art man! I love it! Glad you enjoyed the game!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:12am

I told you everything in IRC with as much honesty as I usually give people.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:39pm

This game was quite interesting, love the look of the theme, and found the game challenging as well. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c (it does lag a bit in the video however)

Sinuath says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:37am

I didn't play the post compo version so all of my suggestions may have been taken care of already but:

it'd be nice if the main character could move around within the screen, seems like once you're pushed back far enough you've lost.

it'd be nice if the enemies moved(but it is plenty difficult without them moving)

Stop hating on the anti-leptons, what did they ever do to you? They just want to see the universe be created.

#TeamAnti-Leptons

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:21am

Really, how did you find this relation to the theme? This was amazing. xD

Starspell says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Unfortunately the graphics don't render correctly on my computer. However from the screenshots I can see that you drew them all from scratch which is nice.

The audio is quite harsh and it did feel a little slow but it was pretty fun.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Is this windows only? Can't play windows games :-(

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:53am

theme was not open
game is exciting
btu nothing gonna change besides levels

Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Neat game. I enjoyed the story you wrote for it. It reminded me of the old school side scrollers where the screen is trying to kill you.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:50pm

beat them all. hardest level was the steps, but in this kind of game that actually made it more interesting. nice.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:11pm

You win the award for the most cosmological take on the theme. :D

I had fun with this! It was the right length and had a nice difficulty curve. Art was basic, but served the game well. It got a bit stressful when the player lost speed and the edge of the screen was "catching up".

I kind of agree with the suggestions of less lives. Apart from that, it's fun and the tweaks you made to the post-compo version made it even better. Great job! :D

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:29am

Overall a nice game. Gameplay was easy to pickup and the theme interpretation is nice. Nice work.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:17am

Way to find a legitimate grounding for the 10-second theme and then taking it in another direction. I like how the simplified gameplay and texturing all worked into the concept of your game. Great work.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Unique take on the theme but a bit too loose for my taste. Graphics are a bit too psychedelic but not unpleasant. In fact they work rather nicely to create a sub-atomic atmosphere. The game got me on my toes the whole time so it was quite an exciting experience.
Good work!
BTW Is this your first LD? (I'm asking because this seems to be the only entry you've submitted by your own to LD). If so then congratz! it's quite an enjoyable game!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

It is my first LD. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]