August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ShitStorm

by BubbleTea - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTES: Was made to play in fullscreen at 1920x1080 resolution, not sure how it translates as i never tested it otherwise. The only version i know works for sure is the windows one. ALL DOWNLOAD LINKS ARE ZIPS.

edit: Just noticed the mute button quits the game, i accidentally had the quit script attached >.> uploaded the fixes meow!

Hey Everyone!

This was my first Ludum Dare! I actually did a surprising amount, and more then i expected i would do! i just really enjoyed the theme i guess :D

When the theme was announced, i started working right away that night! My original idea was a simple 2d puzzle/platformer game that revolved around the player having 10 seconds to get to the washroom. That quickly evolved when i accidentally made the "poo" function shoot out copious amounts of waste! With a few alterations to the controls, i quickly had a new game and started designing around the main mechanic. Less then 48 hours later here i am, presenting to you SHITSTORM!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#53Humor3.73
#404Fun3.10
#474Audio2.70
#553Mood2.73
#597Innovation2.90
#647Overall2.97
#700Theme3.00
#806Graphics2.48

Comments

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I opened the game fully expecting it to be awful, but you took what could have been a cheap joke and actually developed it in some interesting ways. Good job, overall.

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Haha thank you sir! I know i did use some pretty bad jokes in there, but the gameplay is actually kind of fun once you get use to it! thanks for the comment :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Awesome yet crazy game. Love the name too, rated highly for humor. :L

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Well I didn't want to like this.

You took immaturity to genious levels.
The sound/music make this.
Surprisingly polished. Surprisingly fun.

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07am

Thanks everyone for the support! I know the name can be a little off-putting, but it is fun! I sware!

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

a little hard to play at lower resolutions (it crops the borders) but this is pretty entertaining -- the physics are pretty fun, and there's a lot in there for what could have been a throwaway gag.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32am

I cant stop laughing XD
IT HURTS

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

That was pretty silly! Your mechanic was shit...literally, and moving back and forth trying to propel myself up had me laughing each time. There is a bit of a problem with the "finish line" in that sometimes you get stuck on the top lip of the model and the gravity usually don't push you down fast enough to reach it before the timer ends. Very funny, and I never want to eat these 5 cent "Takos".

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

What a horrible, horrible taco.

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

This is the right amount of terrible.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

Haha, nice sound effects. I like how you can shit your way up. Very funny! For some reason I couldn't see the end of the level and the buttons were all messed up, so I couldn't click them very well (on Linux).

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

ROFL! I haven't laughed that hard in years! Well done! SoundFX totally made the game!

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

To everyone having resolution problems, im completely sorry for that :( I made the game without thinking about scaling at all, i might go ahead and fix that up for a post build later if anyone actually enjoys the game enough! Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

My highest rated game so far. rofl. loved this! I would love to see some other maps with increasingly complex puzzle mechanics!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29pm

The controls felt a bit wonky at times, but it was fun for a while. After a couple of levels though, I was wishing the Mute button would work. Although I am not a big fan of this kind of humour, the gameplay was interesting, so well done on that :D

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

@GSM Productions sorry about that! The mute originally worked on day one, but i screwed around with audio on the last day and forgot to make sure it still worked. Glad you still tryed it out and thanks for the feedback :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Interesting game. You get stuck in blocks too often.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:56am

Mixed feeling on scoring graphics, you clearly put work into them but they just did not turn out very good

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:57am

i cant believe i played and enjoyed this game -- very suprised nice job

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Really fun game with awesome sound effects. Good job!

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I don't know what the worst thing is : the awful noise, the brown poop thingies, or the fact that the game is actually interesting, enjoyable and challenging XD
Good job here !

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:23am

My biggest complaint is that a game this obnoxious shouldn't also be this demanding. I heard that fart noise a LOT before I gave up, LOL.

I agree with Ossi and GSM Productions. This is hilarious and I really like the game overall but I wasn't able to beat it because I kept getting stuck on top of the goal in level 8, but it looks like a big part of that may have been my lower screen resolution, as the goal was cutoff and difficult to see.

I'm VERY impressed that this was your first LD, good job! :D

Dioiminik says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I have to admit that the idea is rather gross, but other than that good game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]