August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Jarrow

by Vasileiadis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story:
This game follows the story of Jarrow, a young kung fu master who suffered a Curse of Exhaustion by his former teacher.

Now, even the most typical actions like fighting with his staff, wrestling enemies or even running around, require his complete focus for 10 seconds and after that he's exhausted - he can't even repeat the same task until another 10 seconds have passed.

Join our hero in his quest to find the only known person that can lift the Curse of Exhaustion.

Will he make it? It's up to you!


Controls:
You control the entire game by tapping with both timing and speed:

R - Run (to move to the goal)
Space - Spin (to defend against incoming enemies)
W - Wrestle (when attacked)


PS: Although there's an option to skip, I suggest you go through the tutorial.

PPS: If you find the game too hard, PageUp activates "God-Mode" ;)

PPPS: If you finish the game and want a more challenging replay, press a key from 2 to 5 when you are prompted to skip the tutorial and then skip / play the tutorial :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#369Innovation3.23
#573Audio2.52
#612Mood2.65
#645Humor2.08
#700Graphics2.65
#784Overall2.83
#872Fun2.53
#1047Theme2.47

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Interesting idea!

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

It was a neat concept. Spinning to swat people away was cool. I think this was a bug, but after I killed a guy a while into the game, I just started taking damage from nothing and died. My curse got the best of me.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Yes you are right! It was a bug, it should be displaying "Wrestle!!" when you have to wrestle! Try now:)

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

I made it to the end! Love the movie-like camera angles along the course.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Great concept!

sjk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Crashed after a minute or so.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

It crashed to me on tutorial when I had to tap W nothing happend and later didn't response.
I'll try later again :)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Was fixing a crash bug and for some reason the key for wrestling got mapped to left bracket.. go figure xD

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice job! I really like the button mashing mechanic. Hahaha. I played through the whole game, saved the grand master and had my curse lifted! The animations were really nice to. Keep it up!

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Interesting way to do a game on rails. Lots of tapping can get tough, but its still a fun game.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Feels like a whole adventure with a good variety of things to do. It made me smile a lot!

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

It was a nice concept but rather tedious.

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Very unusual gameplay. Nice work for this short time!

chabuduo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

it was very enjoyable, cant believe its put together in 48hrs! that guy is pretty good at parkour

hypp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50am

Nice work, and quite fun.

BTW, my game should be working in Firefox now.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

This is a very interesting concept , I just wish the controls were mapped a little differently . Like up arrow to run, tap space to wrestle, and alternate left and right arrow to spin? Overall though it is pretty cool.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Fun and interesting concept... the story is great too

Oana says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I like the charge mechanic. Also, I remember trying out your game earlier on and it was rather complicated to get right, the tutorial really helped to clarify some things. A weird bug happened at the end, however... camera got all weird. Doesn't matter though, the rest of the game got the theme really right

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Thanks for the feedback guys I'm really glad you enjoyed the concept, mechanics and especially the cinematic feeling, which was a pain in the ass to put together >_<

About the things you would like to see changed, I'm not sure I'm allowed to make changed before judging is over, but..

@iiechapman: You're right, I wish I had added an option to choose your own controls, everybody would be happier! (W)restle (R)un and (Sp)in was way too.. "poetic" of a coincidence to just let it slide though ;)
It didnt seem all that bad position-wise either - maybe it's because I've got big hands :P

@Oana: Well, that's not a bug, it's a feature!:P No, really, if you (R)un fast enough the camera moves smoothly, it's only weird if your run ends when you're mid-air or in the middle of a trick :) Try replaying or hitting PageUp to activate "GodMode" which automatically runs you through the entire game like a cinematic.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

web version does start but except for space no other key works (yes there is no capslock on or somethin like that)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Fun game, but at a certain point (before that big guy) I just couldn't wrestle anymore... :(
Nice concept and graphics style on the characters, backgrounds look a little bit 'standard unity'... still not bad.
Good effort for 48 hours!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Maybe it's the fact that it was in 3D, but this game was decently fun for mashing buttons. I do wish that the different actions did not have annoying cooldown rates.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Pretty neat,
although now my fingers hurt from all of the tapping, hehe

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I like how different this plays and feels! Very interesting idea!
It's fun, but I kept missing the timing of when to spin and had to wrestle everyone :P
Nice work!

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Firstly I love the graphics and the camera work when moving. It was really smooth and great to see. I didn't like the mechanics of simply button-mashing - it's tiring and not all that interesting. I would have preferred to have held down the appropriate button and then release it when the enemies came close.

Overall a pretty interesting game and well done on the smooth graphics!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great Job! I wish that i could combine running with spinning my staff. I was also a little confused when I had a period where run was in cooldown. I loved the ragdoll on the enemies.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice on-rails brawler. Would like things to do between attacks, but cool gameplay idea

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:26am

good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]