August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hellish Copter

by Laelien - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stupid, supernuclear, physically unrealistic, highly addictive. A supernuclear physically unrealistic helicopter has to escape a random alien base in which it was for no apparent reason, but its vertical thrusters only have enough fuel for about 10 seconds before falling prey to gravity, so it's got to use it carefully.

Yeah, in my game, you get to play a supernuclear physically unrealistic helicopter. Isn't that GREAT ? But wait, there's more. Like good old' Rogers' apprehension about his new situation since the loss of his job. Don't know what the hell I'm talking about ? Just play it then !

Up arrow to navigate menus or keep trying after your death. All sounds are hand-made ( or should I say mouth-made ? ) and they can get pretty annoying too. Hope you enjoy :)

Most people who played it used terms like " addictive ", " lots of fun ", " AAAAARGH ", and " These damn turret's broken hitbox ! ". You've been warned.


-- Updated, the ending now works properly. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#36Humor3.87
#40Audio3.70
#57Fun3.73
#231Mood3.22
#289Theme3.45
#322Overall3.30
#626Graphics2.77
#726Innovation2.75

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Addictive and lots of fun, but AAAAARGH! These damn turret's broken hitbox !!!

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

This game is really addictive! It seemed like there were some issues with collisions but otherwise I really enjoyed it!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55am

Fun but then it crashed when trying to load the ending image :( Good use of theme.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

I have destroyed a lot of helicopters so far.

Good fun, and cutting it a bit close on the time for some (all?) of these levels! I enjoyed the sfx 'design'.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

Hey, could you put the .love in the source files? I'm on Linux and the version in the GitHub repo does not work (it's looking for the file "ld27/init.lua" instead of "init.lua")

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

From what I played of the game it seems fun. The game seems to get very unstable very quickly, which resulted in it crashing twice during the second stage, once with an "out of memory" error which really shouldn't be a problem.

I love the voice over and the humour, good job!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21am

Really ? That's weird, first time hearing about this issue. I'm going to look into it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41am

By god your narration and sound effects are glorious! ;) Really fun game. Good stuff.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00am

Amazing! I absolutely LOVED the voice sounds! The only thing that bothered me were the physics(when you release the up key the hellcopter falls immediately).

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

Sound effects are awesome and the game is really addictive !

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

Brogrammers, that's because it's SUPERnuclear. See, that's heavy and stuff. Hence the fall.
Fixed the ending ! Now you can be properly taunted one last time once you finish the game.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59am

Fun and hard game, but i think you have some kind of memory leak i got Error: Out of Memory and LÖVE 0.8.0 takes 1.6GB ram after 10 min or so ^^ (And love the voice over)

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

You have a huge memory leak, my computer freezes after a few seconds.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Great fun, the sounds are awesome !! However, one issue : when I start a level for the first time, I usually die straight away because I don't have time to react. Also, this game sometimes used over 1 GB of RAM ! Oh, and an image failed to laod, too. A tiny bit more polish and this game'll be great ! I'd also say it takes a bit too long to restart a level.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Looking at the code, you reload to the memory every image at every frame, which is a terrible idea. You should call love.graphics.newImage once and for all (for each image) in love.load() and not use it at all in love.draw().

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I plead guilty, it's a massive creepypasta mistake that I thought I corrected. I didn't. Thanks everyone, I'm on it.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Very nice, but tough!

And it seems to hog memory to no end, after 5 min it was up at 900 MB.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Okay, the memory leak should be much better by now.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Thanks for fixing the memory leak.
It's a pretty good game, but you should have added much more levels.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

AAAAARGH! This damn green spiral broken hitbox! It seems you have to be entirely inside it when going from the right, whereas you just need to touch it when you come from the left.
Other than that, it's very nicely done, challenging and frustrating enough, and I loved the humiliation texts (especially the Gaeel one).

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I hesitated about making more levels. Level 5 was made an hour or so before the end of the 48 hours, and 7 or 8 out of 10 people who tested it found it difficult enough with the first four. I just wanted some extra challenge for the rest, but didn't want to make a game so long players won't see its end, hence the five levels.
Thanks for the feedback everyone :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

SUPERNUCLEAR IS THE ONLY WAY TO FLY

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17pm

INDEED IT IS DEAR ROBOT

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Loooove the sound effects! Tough but nicely done. Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Addictive and Awesome!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

Something about the green spiral hitbox seems off. Nice game overall.

senseidav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Hi there. I am a all-kind-of-games-player, but I consider Chopter its the theme game i most played in this last years.

As chopter player, I also was playing your game and now this is my review.

One Positive point, you have escaped succesfully of the horizontal screen that every chopters games lastly present, and that is good innovating.

One bad point: game resources (that big explosion when you crash, the intense and homing blast of torrets, etc.) its at the point of freeze the Pc sometimes, and that does impossible to everypeople to know when Chopter will respawn.
You should fix that by not carrying so much memory to the system.

I liked your chopter game, it´s different to any other, and I laught with title (Hellish Copter= Helicopter) and with your sounds.

Good work.

anmorales says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51am

Nice, pretty addictive game, sadly I kept exploding (nice explosion xD) great work!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:53am

TOO GODDAMN DIFFICULT! loved the audio

Nangie says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Ahah finally test it ! nice, and 5am recorded sound also 8D

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

You might also want to replace the excessive newFont calls and reupload. The RAM usage skyrocketed and went to swap file and freezed my machine. Had to download the source and do a quick search and replace before being able to play this properly. :D

Anyhow, the game itself is hilarious. The voice acting was funny and the growing explosion made me rofl on the first time. And the insults in the game over screen really started to be right after I died the 20th or so time in the last level. The humor compensates every other aspect of the game very well. :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Updated, thanks Tegu for noticing. I've just started learning Lua and didn't know newFont had this effect. Now I do :P That was the purpose of taking part : learning, and that worked :) Thanks again everyone !

shohs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

I had fun with this game. The voiceover and the insults after losing a level made me laugh, and the gameplay was pretty good too.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:50pm

"Nice game, for a five year old!" :D

Seriously love it, good work!

Radnen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I liked the sound effects and the gameplay can be fun. But for the life of me I could not get past the second level. It was impossible. I think this game suffered from second-nature testing where you get so good testing your forget about new/unfamiliar users. :P

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Actually I had it tested by ten people before posting it :P And globally they made it through pretty easily, even if level 2 definitely is hard. Once you get used to the controls, it's the easiest level.
But you have to be patient enough to get used to it, and I can understand not everyone wants to try for dozens of minutes before succeeding XD

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:56am

Funny gameplay, great mouth-made FX (with one exception: *pew pew*, but I think it was only because of the frequency it was heard)
Took me a while to understand that the actual countdown was related to my remaining fuel... nuclear... unrealistic... nevermind :D

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

Extra overall point for getting farther than I could even imagine on my own game.

Laelien says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:42am

I can't help if I just love tower defense ! :D

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:48am

Wait a minute, I need to execute a binary on my system to download the file? BURN IT WITH FIRE!
I ran from the source because, well, just generally fuck that.

Otherwise really love the game ^_^ especially the narration :P Very polished, very finished, and very "you". I would have liked a bit more fluidity (inertia) on the helicopter movement but then I have a weird inertia fetish. Good job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:16am

Love the audio. Solid game, great job! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Haha, the sound and humour are great! I suck too hard to make it past level 2 though :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Simple but just the way. Maybe too simple graphics?

Laelien says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:38pm

wilbefast > Nope, just crappy file manager, I should change that. As for inertia, well... Maybe next time, I wasn't familiar enough with Lua to get it to work properly :)

Jupiter > Thanks for your review and keep up the great work on the videos !

Frozen Fractal > A lot of people get stuck here, maybe I should have changed the order of the levels indeed...

PaperBlurt > Be sure that's the very best I can do, it's already more than awesome compared to what I used to do XD Thanks for checking it ! :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Maybe it's just my computer is to blame, but there's a delay between the game over screen and the start of a level. I didn't know what key to press to get out of that screen, but the UP button seems to work.
Still a nice game you got there!

Laelien says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Yup, the up button pretty much does everything. It's written in the main screen, but I should have made something more usual and user friendly, like Enter or Spacebar.
Thanks for your feedback :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:35pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShJL4x55dtw - My first impressions of the game :)

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:02pm

speedy share not for me sorry.
I prefer to avoid downloading speedy share *.exe application.
but I can't download you game if I don't

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Had fun playing this, love your voice the most, hahaha. The game wasn't smooth and I died a lot trying to precisely control it to avoid the ground :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]