August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Oxy

by hbocao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First of all, sorry in advance for my text. English is not my first language, so...

I never finished a game before. I've made some prototypes in the past, but never got back to them. So to finish this game in 48h for LD makes me very happy! \o/

And it makes obvious, but I think a need to say that this is my first time on LD.



Techy talk:

I knew I was going to take forever if I started coding my own engine. So I decide to use Construct 2. I never ever used one of this game makers, but I always thought about them while wondering why I never finished any project.

I can't draw and I used the internal editor from Constructor, except for the logo (because I wanted some fancy unnoticeable gradient and I used Photoshop). Programmer art FTW!

I have no talent for music either, and I went with sfxr and Circuli (from the same guy who made Otomata).



The Game:

The game is named Oxy and is about two coworkers who work in a underwater lab. Then an accident happens and they must leave right away. The problem is you two only have one oxygen tank. Ah! Also, your coworker Dave is unconscious. So you have to drag him around to help him breathe. He is useful to open doors too.


Final Thoughts:

Using Construct 2 was interesting. Sometimes I wished for making my own engine and sometimes was pretty easy to do stuff. I didn't know the best practices to use Construct 2 so the project is a real mess. Sometimes it doesn't event open the level layout without crashing the software. For my next time, I will try to code everything.

I hope you guys enjoy this little idea.

Thanks!

*** Update 26/08/2013 ***
- Information about the controls updated
- Bug in Game Over screen (appeared too quickly)
- Bug in some cases a message was displayed when it wasn't supposed to be visible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Mood3.72
#96Overall3.67
#105Fun3.57
#110Audio3.43
#132Innovation3.66
#406Theme3.32
#508Humor2.29
#763Graphics2.56

Comments

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

DAAAAAAAAAAVE!!!

Cool little puzzle game! Well done.

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13am

Interesting idea and surrounding story. Congrats on completing your first game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

First off, congratulations on finishing a game!
I like the atmosphere of the game, the concept and the subtle take on the theme :)
I got pretty far but ran out of oxygen, so I didn't completely finish it. But from what I saw, the puzzles seemed diverse enough, and progressively getting harder.
The only thing I had a minor "problem" with is that I had to try 2 or 3 times before I figured out you have to hold space to carry Dave (that little word extra in the control screen would help :P)
Anyway, great job! I like it! :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Yup. The keyword is HOLD space. Well, I almost forgot to include the controls instructions. hehe

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Well done for your first game :D You did a great job, I really liked the game idea and the music... I almost done it to then end on the second time without dying!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Loved it, but ran out of oxygen and didn't know what to do!

Hitonagashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Really liked this. I couldn't finish it in a couple of goes, but it was great fun, and very responsive to controls. Great work!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Great job! The controls are so responsive, I didn't feel like I was fighting them at all. I brought Dave all the way to the last chamber and I was so low on oxygen at that point I knew it was me or him, so I had to cut him loose. It was tough. 5 stars on Mood from me. A checkpoint or two would have been really nice. Having to redo the whole thing was a bit of a chore.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

What the hell dave why you always losing your oxygen tank.

Yeah, interesting idea for a puzzle game... good and frustrating!

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

The idea is good, I saw a lot of air balls but none gave me more oxygen :(, that is the only thing I didn't like, the puzzles are nice,the game is fast and controls are good.
Thanks for the game :)

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

I like the puzzle idea, and I also *really* like the feel of the controls. The slow sink, the drift, the turning. Well done!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

Great puzzle game. Very innovative. Love the ambient music!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

Gotta love the calm ambiance.

zeh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

Dave nooooo!

Great first entry. It's a great game, with a very good idea. Awesome mood and music. Perhaps just a bit too difficult. It took me a second run to understand how the oxygen is re-filled.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

I couldn't finish it, I always run out of oxygen, but it's a great game, loved the idea.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

I liked it very much, especially the mood that the sounds conveyed. And the sort-of heartbreak that happens about having Dave run out of air was really interesting. And congrats on your first game, I know too well that feeling of having lots of protos around and no finished game for a long time.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43am

Fun game overall. I'm not sure if I was close to the end, but I sure panicked when my oxygen ran out. I also felt bad for dave a bit.

Also, we died.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Congrats for your first game :D i see that even if it's your first game, you managed to make interesting puzzles, and that' s great. i managed to arrive half way ( because i suck at puzzle timed games :| ) and i am impressed by what i saw. really, keep up the good work, mate :D

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37am

Enjoyed this a lot!
I know it's a bad thing, but i laughed when I read "Daaave"! :D

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Nice one. for your first game you did great! It's sad when Dave turns purple =( the soundtrack gives it a great mood, also. Congrats!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Cool game. congrat for first submission. Hope it was a good time. Cool game.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26am

The game kept me tense for the most part! The atmosphere is just amazing and even though you say you have no talent for music you know how to build up a piece to put the player in the mood of the game!

I killed myself and Dave in my first try and manage to get out on the second, but I had to leave Dave. =( Is Dave's oxygen the only one supposed to recover? (it makes sense because you can breath precisely for 10 seconds when you're not with Dave? =p)

Congratulations on your first entry! The game is just awesome and I can't wait to check your next one in December. =D

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56am

Really creative take on the theme. I enjoyed playing this.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

fun :3

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Nice work, the music really sets the mood along with the premise. The game itself is fun and challenging, nice work.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Wow this is a great idea for a game, it's super difficult but I really enjoyed it. Well done!

poohshoes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

Wow! Spot on.

bluberry says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

This was absolutely excellent. My feels...nooo Dave(ha my mind yelled out his name as well the first time he blinked on screen)...I can feel the struggle, desperation, and guilt. This was very simple and clean, but had much depth. The music and details of Dave's slow fall and blinking while suffocating added much to the experience. Great job.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

Great idea, excellent smooth controls and really solid puzzle mechanics. Proper heart too, helped by the atmospheric music - I really felt concerned for poor Dave.

I was interested to read your thoughts on Construct 2. I used it myself because I have absolutely no programming experience but in your case I can see that it would probably be more trouble than it's worth.

Overall, a solid entry which was very enjoyable (and surprisingly moving) to play.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:08am

Great puzzle mechanic. I loved how the game didn't end when Dave died. Dragging a dead body around added a great amount to the mood. Brilliant job for your first finished game :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

good job

DuFF says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Great game. One of my favorites from this competition.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

oh for a first finished game - splendid. same goes with my entry - first that i want to end. thanks for the game! and DAAAAAAVE!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05am

This was pretty cool, and unique. Great choice of music. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Congratulations on your first game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:29am

NOOOOOOO DAAAAAAVE!!! ...I'm still going to use your corpse as a companion cube. lol
Terrific atmosphere. The music really makes you feel like you are drowning. The story gives a really nice sense purpose to the gameplay. You don't have to save your friend, but you can't help but want to. And if he dies you still need his corpse..
Awesome, awesome job!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:50am

Congrats, man! Very highly rated! Really loved the mechanic of dragging the other guy around, very creative and really creates an oppressive feel of urgency. I went pretty far but was unable to finish - if there's one thing I suggest, is making the difficulty curve a little less steep! Maybe it would encourage more attempts if one didn't need to restart the game from the beginning but instead from the last checkpoint. Anyway, I loved it!

About Construct, I hear ya. But I really think using such programs ('makers') is a great optimization of time and allows for focusing on design and creation rather than technical aspects. It does require getting familiar with the tool in advance, though! As a reference, Super Fair Trial Show was made in MMF2, which is also a 'maker'. But it is only worthy, of course, if you want to learn that language - ultimately the best language is the one you're used to, right? ;)

Congrats on your first finished game, it is actually quite good, and cheers from Brazil!

Gabriel

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:56pm

The game fits the theme perfectly and is brilliant idea. Controls feel really nice, unlike some games this definitely feels like underwater. I'd would not have been able to tell that this was your first game if you hadn't mentioned it.

Jod says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Damn it, Dave!

I really liked this! The mix between keeping Dave alive and speed is very well done! Plays smoothly.

Joror says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Good puzzles. You ramped the difficulty up nicely. The pressure of saving someone else is a pretty personal touch for this kind of game. Nicely done! :)

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:44am

Very interesting concept, the music really helps with the mood

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:29pm

DAAAAAAAVE. Really nice game. Love the mood, the music, the graphics. :)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:29am

Wow! Dave didn't make it all that far, but I had to use his corpse to hold buttons down.

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Hey, thanks for the game. I think that, for a first try, this was really well done. There were no glaring bugs, the gameplay was clear, the controls were crisp.

Of course, you can work a little bit more on the graphics - specially the messages on the bottom, they were kinda hard to notice and read, but I think you got something really nice going on here!

Thanks for the game, and here is a video review :-)
http://youtu.be/idprISufHPI

mollymus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Well done on your first game! I couldve wished for some better graphisc but overall a solid first entry!:)

murilo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:13pm

The innovation was superb! The rest was pretty good too. Congrats man! And you did that with a new learned engine? That was fast! I need to take a look at this Construct, man! Congrats!

xgeovanni says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:16pm

And I was so close too...

Tankenstein says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Terrifically fun!

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very nice innovation, use of the theme, audio and mood!

It's too hard - remember that most of us haven't spent hours playing it!

It gets really slow for me (the fps drop) around when I'm scrolling the screen (in Firefox) for some reason. It really does ruin the experience, unfortunately. Since you used Construct 2, that probably isn't your fault though.

Like someone else said, I wouldn't know this was your first entry if you hadn't said so. Good job!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Thanks a lot for the comment on Lost in the Darkness! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

For "not being able to draw" and "having no talent for music" this looks and sounds pretty well - it still creates this special underwater mood, although it doesn't convey much urgency. I like the gameplay, and the second time I nearly finished the game and died right before the airlock, unable to open the 3 doors. I like your level design, I would've wished for checkpoints though!

All in all, great job, and congratulations on finishing your first game!

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Disregard what I said earlier about it slowing down. Just had to restart firefox. Now I just think it's too hard :P
I did manage to make it out after a bunch of plays - Dave did not however :(

tombsar says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

An excellent game! I thought I was doing well, but drowned right before the final airlock. :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]