August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space-Time Adventure

by OldPeculier - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TO PLAY: Drag the time control to go back and forward in time. Drag asteroids to push them. Protect light-colored characters; kill dark-colored characters.

===============================

Space-Time Adventure is a time-traveling physics extravaganza created in Flash for Ludum Dare 27. This is not the first game I've ever made, but it was my first ever Ludum Dare!

Use the skip button if a level is just too hard.

===============================

Developed in Adobe Flash Profession CS6. Uses the wonderful ActionScript 3 port of Erin Catto's Box2D physics engine. Other than that, all the code was written absolutely from scratch during the 48 hours of the competition. Art created using Photoshop and Flash. Music created with GarageBand.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#89Audio3.50
#104Theme3.75
#123Graphics3.80
#154Innovation3.61
#180Overall3.50
#309Mood3.07
#411Humor2.52
#432Fun3.07

Comments

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

This is really nice. I like the artwork and music. Just a note, a couple times I was playing it did not progress to the end of round screen. But really this is great! Good work.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

@kevinAlbs, remember that you have to keep the nice space people alive but KILL THE DARK ONES. Otherwise it won't progress.

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

This is awesome! It took me a while to figure out the mechanic, but when I did, I was astounded! It took me a while to figure out which way to drag the asteroids to make them go away from my dude... I think I might have launched a few directly into him accidentally. :)

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Interesting concept. Took me a moment to figure out just how to play it - a bit awkward in the interface, but still a solid game for LD.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

interesting, it wont go off the loading icons

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Ravetcofx, it might take a little while to download.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

The concept is great, but the random nature of the level generation makes it kind of pointless. If you had levels with a clear difficulty curve that had a guaranteed solution, this would be a lot more compelling. The art is great, and the music is good enough (if a little repetitive). Would be nice if there were sound effects for asteroids colliding or the character deaths (or as you put it, not being alive :D).

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Really nicely done! I love the use of the theme and the graphics.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Interesting concept. Nice to be able to travel back and forth, it's very fluid.

The main default is in the level generation, that make them not very interesting. You could design some levels yourself in order to make it more strategic, or work again on random levels.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

Ahh ok, yeah I think I missed that haha. Thanks!

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

So first off this game looks professional! secondly, this would be awesome on a phone. Good work :)

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

This was fun! Great music too. My friend's entry was kinda in a similar vein, you should check it out http://cubicle51.com/ludum27/

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

This is really cool, everything fits together and I absolutely love how you used the theme. Great work!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Thanks mactinite and greysphere. I'm glad you're enjoying it!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

Holy cow!! I really like the look and feel of this game. I like the timeline idea. Great job to actually hash this all out in a single game jam. Awesome job!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Thanks nathanhoffer! About 9PM on Saturday night I thought I was doomed—I'd never get it done. But something broke through in the hours that followed and...well I did! Thanks for the kind words.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07am

Pretty nice idea. However, it never passed the first level although the dude was alive. Didn't see any dark guys to kill.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

@Steve, thanks for the heads up. It has to reach the end of the time line (the 10 second mark) or it won't proceed. I haven't seen a bug here myself, but then obviously I haven't had time to do a ton of testing. Thanks for the report.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

Really nice idea, took a minute or two to get my head around it but there was a nice 'aha' moment when I got it. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54am

Looks really good! But very hard to play for me.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24am

Very polished! Feels like a non-jam game, for the most part. Playback controls are nice, and love the dead-astronaut sprite. Nice music.
Some thoughts:
- didn't like how every time I added a force it automatically started the game... usually just forced me to hit space right away if i wanted to add another one
- didn't see any enemies, and not sure if i saw any evil asteroids (used the skip button a bunch, and beat a level)
- the visual effect for the forces kind of looks like a jet boost pushing it in the wrong direction

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56am

Liked this! The first few levels seemed to be a bit too similar and straightforward, which I guess is good for learning :P

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

I love mecanics ! But, it would be usefull to create tutorial level instead of explains all the mecanics in one time. But it's really great !

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15am

I ended up making something very similar, as OldPeculier mentioned on my entry. I really like this kind of mechanic - there's something transcendent about being able to pick apart something very complex.

That said, even putting aside that bias of mine, this is a very polished implementation of the idea. The one thing I'd say is its pretty tricky to go back and make a minor adjustment - I found myself shifting back the time of a deflection bit by bit to erase one I had done just a bit wrong a few milliseconds ahead, since I didn't want to reset the level.

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18am

Really good idea & gfx. Time slider is annoying (why i have to drag thumb instead of just clicking?).

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40am

Very good game but little hard~nice gui~wonderful idea~

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

This is really fun, but when you have to save two different people, it is difficult to play because you can't zoom out.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31am

Cool idea wish I knew how to play this game well P:

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35am

The timeline is really well implemented, way cool!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39am

Just all round nice.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

Really nice, I love graphics and music. Random generation kinda defeats skill here, though ;)

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Great game! One of the best I've played so far. Art and music are great and the content feels very complete,

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

could use some more instructions ..then again, nobody would read them anyway! graphics and audio are really nice

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17am

Reaaly nic game, art and music made very well. Nice idea with replay option.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Interesting concept, beautiful execution! :)
I love the slider at the bottom :D
Some way to speed time up would be helpful though, especially in the first levels :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Took me a while to figure out how to play.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

This fits into the theme incredibly well. Very fun game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Amazing job for 48 hours. Very cool concept and game mechanics.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Interesting idea and fun game! Needed a bit of time to figure out how everything works first :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Nice work!! I like it :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nice game, Although I would like to see some kind of sound effects in it too. Aand.. as people have said already a bit too much random difficulty when it comes to levels and you can just reload to make it really easy.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Looks really good! :)

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Awesome art and sound! Controls took a while to figure out. It was way too hard for me to play. I wasn't able to pass level 1.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Either I'm really bad or this game is way too hard, haha.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

This is really well polished, and interesting physics game. Took a little time to get used to, but once you get it down is when it gets fun. Graphics were great.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

really nice, concept and good execution!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

This game asks a lot of my tired brain, but the concept works really well.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

nice one!

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Great :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Great and innovative idea :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice! Look at my ShuffleLand, we had very similar idea :-) I like your implementation/interpretation.

Whiteclaws says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Amazing idea :)

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I really like the idea and it is pretty amazing that you were able to do all this in only two days. I didn't even know the levels were random until I read the comments here.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Very clever idea, and the music is great !

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice game. There seems to be a few people that struck upon the scrolling through time mechanic for this theme. Yours is very well executed!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03pm

@SasoriDama, I'm thrilled that the levels fooled you into thinking they were designed. :) For most people there's at least one obviously broken level. I'm glad you had fun!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

enjoyable take on asteroids, found it really hard though, i think the only time i won was when the rocks managed to hit themselves out the way! sweet graphics and audio, just wish the pushing was more responsive!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Lord of Time has a nice ring to it, I think I'll adopt that title :)
Awesome game, really enjoyed it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Interesting concept. Great art! Good job :0)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Sebastian, I was trying to make an allusion to Dr. Who, but in my brain-addled state I'm afraid I failed. Glad you like it though. :)

Venturelli says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Really innovative idea you have there! :D

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Cool idea! Fun, nicely presented and with a great potential.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Awesome artwork! Fun! Nice work

flarb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:55am

Wow, SUPER polished for 48 hours.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice game! It's really well done!

But it always seemed to be the same level. No even skipping would change the level...
There were minor changes to how to asteroids were placed/moved, but not even one "dark-colored guy" appeared and there was always a single "light-colored guy" on the center of the screen.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Sound great! Space is cool. Theme realized! I like it, good luck!

RawBits says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:14pm

It's nice overall but there are cases when the light colored guys just spawn dead and that makes the level impossible to do. (I know there is a skip but I consider that cheating.)

Thanks! I had fun while playing.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:46am

Very interesting!
It got really difficult trying to to juggle more than one friendlies! Would be easier if the game didn't unpause as soon as I used a push.
Really cool mechanics! Good work!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:48pm

It didn't work for me, I like the graphics though, but something must be broken (at least for me!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]