August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jim the Alien Parasite

by pelayobesa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Double click the jar file to run.

Should work on mac, windows and linux (linux untested).

Thanks for playing.


Pelayo Besa

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Innovation3.26
#440Theme3.29
#508Humor2.29
#610Overall3.00
#626Fun2.83
#924Mood2.21
#992Graphics2.13
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

It won't run. When the Java window opens, it just closes itself back down.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

*breathE

And that amazing art and then I'm a square. Reminded me of the old Atari days. Nice job.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

Game idea is unusual. I would like a little more action.

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

tower07, the same thing happened to me, but once I extracted it from the archive, it worked fine.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Quit fun, nice (minimalist geometric) art, but it would be good if there was a timer for your transformations.
AI is very difficult to avoid when randoms part spawning.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

It's okay I guess.

Sometimes random blue things turn red for no apparent reason.

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Interesting game, but I'm struggling to see what it has to do with 10 seconds..?

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Really fun, loved the game mechanic!

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

A nice and simplistic game. Somewhat short but it's totally okay for an entry. Couldn't pass all the levels on the first run, so it wasn't too easy although it's not hard either. The AI guys aren't smart enough to go past walls if you're behind one, so it makes it a bit easier too. Needs some sounds. Pretty fun game though. :)
To anyone wondering: there is a 10 seconds timer at the top left corner.

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Good stuff! The mechanics are very simple, but effective. The forced timer for body transitioning really does force you to plan your moves. The only thing I would improve is making the AI a little more forgiving. Otherwise great job!

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Very nice idea.

It would be interesting if the evil ones wouldn't travel directly at you, but somewhat non linear.


For others: Yellow are buttons that open blocks. Dark grey is the exit.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Nice work! Idea is not bad. Hmm, indeed.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Fun game, and I like the idea. A story cut-scene at first is nice and interesting, helps me understand the whole concept. One thing is that a new infected host (a red one) can turn another new host (blue) one even if they're separated by the wall, this seems to make the level harder.

h_double says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

Great concept and I like the simple graphics. I found the collisions were kind of buggy though (door wouldn't always open, wouldn't always jump bodies reliably) and got frustrated after several attempts to get past the second level. Also sometimes people would randomly turn red even when I hadn't inhabited them, which felt sort of unfair (playing on OSX btw).

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:49am

Interesting game! Simple yet a effective!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]