August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Marrow Wind

by NikB - Jam Entry

MarrowWind is a real-time roguelike game taking place in a haunted castle changing and updating evey 10 seconds. The walls are shifting, rocks are emerging from nowhere and the ancient evil is about to awake...
______________________________

Move: <arrow keys>
Revive: <r> (not possible during the boss fight)
Use teleporter: <space>

To buy items in the shop simply walk into them (you need enough gold to be able to do that).
The world is changing randomly, so if you find yourself in a deadlock just wait till the next Marrow Wind gust will come.

There are some hidden secrets in the castle as well. Can you find the 2 golden chests? Can you explore the old-time throne room and the treasury? Can you spot the potion effect?

______________________________

I'm actually using a light engine created by FatalSleep: http://sandbox.yoyogames.com/games/196743-dynamic-block-lighting-engine
And the 'Circle HealthBar' gex for Game Maker 8.0: http://forum.hellroom.ru/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3780.0;attach=4185
The graphics style was inspired by Derek Yu's roguelike tileset: http://makegames.tumblr.com/day/2013/01/23
The main music theme by chubbiercherub: http://www.mediafire.com/download/6zfdq2cmc9t1ga5/DUVAKHIIL.mp3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Humor(Jam)3.18
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#133Theme(Jam)3.45
#153Mood(Jam)3.28
#164Graphics(Jam)3.73
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#494Audio(Jam)1.63

Comments

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

Baha this the best. I love the dialogue. An awesome roguelike/rpg elements packed in to a game in so little time. I Enjoyed it!

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Pretty cool little game! It seems a little unfair that you can be killed by falling boulders at complete random, but that's life I guess :P

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Ooooh I wish I could run this. No web-version?

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Really solid gameplay and graphics. I thought it was a lot of fun. Sound would have helped with the mood a lot though. I liked the way combat worked. Nice job.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I used Game Maker 8.0, so I really have no opportunity to port the game. Sorry...

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very good! This game "feels like a pro"! =D
Good concept, interesting form of putting the theme in the game, graphics are cute. Absence of audio maybe?
Congratz, good entry! Have fun!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I enjoyed myself a lot playing this game, I'm giving 9/10 just because I could not hear any sound!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Very nice! The controls were a bit annoying when changing direction. But I liked the mini tutorial and graphics. Quite good.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Really wanted to run this. Couldn't make it work with Wine though :(

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Ahh, need a Web port. May be someone with Game Maker: Studio can help me?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Not bad, I see lots of potential in this game, I hope you pursue it further!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

404 on Dropbox O.o... couldn't play this though was pretty excited to do that...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice roguelike!! Very good art.

shohs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice game. I felt that the falling boulders were a little unfair, and I would have enjoyed a bit of audio. Other than that, I liked the graphics and your interpretation of the theme. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

It is indeed a nice lil roguelike. It's pretty intuitive how combat works when you pick up a sword with no action button. I STAB AT THEE, MINIONS.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Thanks, everyone! It seems that it was worth that 3 sleepless nights ;D

@[-BipolarDesign+], I am definitely going to expand the current features range. I am even thinking of a post-compo version with some music and procedural rooms generation.

@esayitch, it works fine for me... But I re-uploaded it anyway.

I'm also glad to say the Web port is coming out soon!

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57pm

The controls felt a bit laggy, like it missed the input sometimes. I would probably have played even more if it wasn't for that because it was a nice little game and fun dialogues. :D

Good job! :)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Really liked the mechanics and look of the game. Thought it was little weird that the 10 second timer was in real life time and not in the turn-based time, and the random boulders were a little annoying. But overall it's a pretty fun game!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Ok the theme was nicely implemented, dialogues were awesome, but it was kinda annoying getting killed by the boulders and losing all the things you bought. Love the ol' skool graphics. Could've used some nice retro sfx. Good job overall though.

NikB says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Thank you for your feedback!

@Diptoman, you don't really loose your items after death...
@Linusson, yes, definitely there's a small delay between the time you've actually pressed a key and the time you can press it again. That's a combat system feature.

And a bad news: I have a huge problem with porting, as... I am afraid the Web version is never out. Soooo sorry for that

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I see what you were going for but it seemed like the object was to just wait for ten seconds for the next path to open up

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

mah win 8 doesn't like it. outright stops me from running it.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Your game rocks. please make a post-compo version!

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The dialog makes the game. 5/5 from me :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Cute, Creative, and fun! Nice job! I love the art.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very very fun, 5/5! Thanks for this

Vaalen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:50pm

It's a nice game with good graphics and gameplay.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great fun game, well done!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:41am

Having to press a direction to turn before pressing the same direction to move was a bit irritating.

NikB says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:41am

Thanks so much for your comments!

@Empyrealhell, yeah, that's really annoying even for me, but this feature hopefully makes battling multiple enemies a way harder.

@wally2069, some areas (such as small prison rooms near spawn) can be reached only by waiting for the walls to crush. But basically you don't have to wait till that happends to proceed to the next location and finish the game.

By the way, guys, has anyone...
- finsihed the game by killing the final boss?
- been to the throne room or to the treasury?
- tryed to walk into the web in the spawn location?
- spotted the potion effect?

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Really nice visuals.
Hard game, too!

Nice job :)

Kotstulle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:02am

now i want to create my own roguelike game :D great job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:51pm

That's an awesome innovative roguelike! :)
Really nice art and dialogues!

shard123 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Really well done and a ton of fun to play, there's still so much I need to learn about Game Maker!

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice concept. I think the controls would be better when you could move by holding the key.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]