August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Withdrawal Syndrome

by Pixlexia - Jam Entry

# A drug addict suffers withdrawal syndrome as he tries to escape from the hospital.

# Controls:
Arrow keys - move
Space - jump

# Need help?
- Press the up arrow key to go through stairs, elevators, and even vents.
- Holding the jump button gives a higher/longer jump.
- Evade doctors and nurses by avoiding their line of sight indicated by a red line.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#105Theme(Jam)3.51
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#150Audio(Jam)3.26
#158Graphics(Jam)3.75
#169Humor(Jam)2.89
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#277Fun(Jam)2.97
#402Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

I really liked the visual design! The music was simple but nice. Jumping did not feel as responsive as I normally like, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10am

Loved the ending! Game was very solid.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13am

I also liked the graphics and the music. The idea seems pretty nice too, not too quick but still fitting the theme. Along with jumping, the doctor's line of sight seemed to be too hard to avoid though, so I didn't really get that far.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

That was a truly fantastic game. Not to hard, not to easy. Funny, fits the theme. Good art decent sound. Good job overall. :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30am

Excellent work. The only real complaint I'd have is that the jumps tended a little too much towards the pixel-perfect side for my tastes, but otherwise it's hard to fault.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31am

this is a really awesome concept and you turned it into a awesome game.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Really really nice visual design. My only gripe is that the player takes a bit too long to accelerate. Nice work.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Haha the ending was cool! It was a fun game, loved the music, great job!

SbstnC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Really nice. I've always wanted to play Jeff Goldblumm in a game.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

NOT NEARLY ENOUGH VOMITING FOR MY TASTES. AVOIDING DOCTORS/10

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Really like the opening screen and the concept. The controls were a little messy. Specifically going up stairs with the up arrow I often held it just a little too long so I would end up back downstairs. After I finally figured out how to get past the doctor I almost got burned by this. It was a funny moment though. Well done.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37pm

The game won't run for me :_(
Any ideas on what could be the reason? (Win 7, x64)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:18am

Ow, poor guy. :P Cool idea! The platforming mechanics felt a bit off and unforgiving though, and sometimes it was hard to know what you could and couldn't jump on. Pretty graphics and really nice colour schemes. And the animations are really smooth. Nice work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Haha, druggie adventure.
It's a little difficult to jump high enough, and the slow acceleration makes it a little less gamey than I would've liked.
Graphics are great, though!
Nice job!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice game and graphics. The jump is pain in the ass though.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

It's really well made, the only thing was the jumping mechanic was a bit off to me.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Well done. Foreground and background is difficult to distinguish. Thanks

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Solid entry, nice visuals. Not too fond of the audio volume mix and the jumping mechanism doesn't feel so great, and the game is a bit short. But it still works quite well, and the "check-point pills" are a sweet idea.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Man that guys is addicted to drugs!!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I can't get it to run on my Windows 7 SP1 machine. When I try to open it I get the waiting cursor for 1 second and then nothing happens. It's really too bad, as the screenshots look really promissing.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

jumping was painful, but good work with checkpoints. the art is clean and nicely done, but kinda lacked identity. great job with the stealth element.
made me remember an old friend who died from overdosing on clonazepam last year. and the nights spend together with my ex coming off heroin before her trip to prison. about a lot of nasty stuff from the old days, actually. I think I am going to get drunk tonight.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

It's slightly too hard for me, but I must say it's wonderfully done!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Love the graphics.. and for me then the game is halfway home!

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I'm sorry, I can't get it to run on my windows 7 machine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]