August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Spawn

by thegrimace - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made using LibGDX, Gimp, Bfxr and Reaper.
Eat fish, get bigger, eat sharks.
The last shark standing wins.
Every 10 seconds you must enter the safe zone or you'll lose half of your weight.

Don't get eaten!

I'm pretty sure you need Java 1.7 to run this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#717Fun2.73
#766Audio2.13
#771Overall2.85
#772Mood2.46
#773Theme2.92
#778Innovation2.68
#874Humor1.70
#1075Graphics1.96
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Unfortunately I cannot open this... It's says the JAR File cannot be found... maybe another way to upload this?

char68 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I liked the feel of the simple graphics and the sounds matched them well. But after maybe one or two rounds of fish spawning it felt a bit repetitive. I'd like to see where the game could go if the safe zones were procedurally generated and forced the player to find new safe zones.

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

A great little game; I was pleased to see that the fish try to swim away from me. Some actual shark graphics would have been nice, but these get the message across.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:24am

Thanks for playing guys!

Sorry to hear that Eddy93, I just registered a mediafire account, hopefully this one works for you.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/4us7m43y4uyt44j/ld27SharkSpawn.jar

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29am

Interesting game, seem to be a bit hard to end it though. The opponent was out of the safe zone for 5 times in a row before I could eat him.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40am

Good work done! Loved it.

JHollands says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Really enjoyed it! Would have been nice to see the shark change as it gained weight or something but very fun nevertheless.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Simple but fun idea

anmorales says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Nice game, simple and very cool, I'd to see it with better graphics, music :P

mutilator says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Overall this was a great fun game. I like the idea of simple graphics, but actual sharks or fish would have been nice. Like how its a fast paced simple game but still so much fun. Good audio also. I did have a problem where I was in the safe zone and still died. Not sure what caused this.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:39am

mutilator, there is still the problem that fish can spawn in the safe zone. This means that anyone in the safe zone can gain a random amount of weight at the beginning of a wave. It's unfortunate, but I did not address it completely in the time allotted. Sorry for the frustration, thank you for giving it a shot!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nice one. I'm not sure the safe zone makes it more fun, but at least it's more challenging. Once I got the grip of it I won every time. I would have liked to see my circle grow as I gain weight, to get a better feeling of satisfaction when I was eating others. But I liked it! :)

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:47am

This is a bit delayed, but I until I get to my post-mortem, I wanted to talk about the point Kragnir made. The reason a shark could stay out of the zone so long successfully hinges on two decisions.

One: The weight fish grant to anyone eating them scales with the player's weight each wave. This would need to be much more sophisticated since the player's advantage is rolled into the consumables for the next round.

Two: I started to implement different behaviors for sharks. The two I nailed down are aggressive and not aggressive. Aggressive sharks go directly for the closest fish at all times. Passive sharks spend time trying to eat the fish farther away.

If your "dominant" shark you end with is passive, you are dealing with a shark chasing the farthest fish, gaining a reasonable percentage of your weight with each successful catch. I think I have useful nuggets in place, but the interaction between these systems isn't much fun in some cases.

As my first entry, I am more than thrilled. I won't be going anywhere anytime soon, I'm hooked on this style of development and release, especially concerning the unexpected growth and insight possible.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:53am

Regarding visible growth and your weight, this was actually in my first builds. It became a fairly significant bug on Saturday morning. There was a time in this game where you size was dependent on your weight, but the scales I was using ended up way over exaggerating your true size, and the points you needed to move through to "eat" another entity became unclear.

It was chopped simply for clarity, but I had it as a major component for almost 1/3 of my development cycle. I just couldn't get it to look right. When looking at circles, even a 10% advantage is nearly impossible to tell with the scaling of sprites. I just could not get it working in this release. But I agree it should in some way be more visible. I considered color intensity, but there is the same problem in being sure of color fidelity on any given screen.

Keep the feedback coming, thank you players!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Good concept! I like it. Nice work.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice game, it took me some time to understand what the colors mean, but I enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]