August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

magnet.

by rot13 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a fast-paced shooter where rules switch every 10 seconds.
During first phase, both you and your enemies can only hurt each other. The second phase is where things get hectic - no one can fire bullets, but you start attracting all of them and they deal damage to everyone, even those who shot them. Player's health replenishes every two waves.
Instructions are found in-game. Hope you enjoy it!

XNA redistributable is necessary to run this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#289Innovation3.35
#479Mood2.82
#526Fun2.96
#610Overall3.00
#626Graphics2.77
#806Theme2.88
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

levsha128 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Seems nice :D

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

That's a neat concept. It's always cool to smash into enemies fast-moving particles orbiting you.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17am

Didn't work for me :< Keeps crashing before starting. (Windows 7)

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

I loved the minimalistic graphics that still gave a sense of "juicyness" with particle effects, very pretty.

Fun too.

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23am

Zelosfan, do you have XNA redist installed? I guess I should've mentioned that before.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Simple, fun. Great stuff. :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Does not work for me on Windows 7
https://gist.github.com/saschagehlich/bf111c53f6bbf93d41ea

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16am

I don't understand the mechanics, it seems to shift between magnetic mode and not on a timed basis. Made it very hard to predict what the bullets were about to do.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

Interesting and fun concept! The changing background colors were also nice. I accidentally skipped through my high score because I kept tapping keys :/

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Nice one, a little bit hard to understand what is it about at first, but its easier if you get used to it.

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

wow, great little game
it's impossible to keep track of those bouncing bullets - so everything seems very hectic, but I like it :)

very well done, good job

JHollands says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Interesting punishment for not being careful!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

very interesting

Would prefer more contrast between my own and enemy bullets?
Prefer just make square vs circle?

odeckers says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

some in-game explanations would be nice, very confusing atm

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really cool game. You added some really cool game mechanics while still retaining a sense of complete simplicity. Great execution of your idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]