August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save

by Mizzinx - Jam Entry

In ten seconds, a life will be lost. Will you be able to change fate?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Mood(Jam)2.80
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#508Innovation(Jam)2.37
#557Graphics(Jam)2.17
#599Overall(Jam)2.16
#599Fun(Jam)1.72
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I don't understand anything..

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

10 seconds is too little to do anything. Maybe some help at the beginning to guide the player

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Excellent Game, the ending was really deep, congrats, I wasn't expecting that.

keppinakki says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:15am

Couldn't complete it, nice job nevertheless

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

Interesting. Nice graphics and a good use of sound effects, but this seemed more like a message than a game. I'm not opposed to the idea of a non-game game, but they always leave me feeling rather unsatisfied.

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I don't get it - I've tried interacting with everything.. I'm just lost with this. I get the idea though, and it's a clever set up, I just wish there was more to this.

h_double says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

This looks like a cool concept but I couldn't get anywhere with it; it's frustratingly open-ended with the time constraint and no hints.

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:53am

Same. It got a little frustrating not having any indications of what to do, and the timeframe was pretty quick. But I finally found the ending. Neat.

Mizzinx says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:21am

It's really cool that some people reached the ending and liked it, and everyone provided really valuable feedback.

Directionless-ness and frustration were intended experiences in this design, but I agree that there's definitely many issues in the execution (particularly, 10 seconds seems to barely be enough to do anything).

I wanted to avoid giving away anything because I think that weakens the experience, but considering that judging/rating activity has probably died down by now, and I think I've gotten enough feedback to be satisfied, there's probably no harm. The ending of the game is from the Framed Photograph item.

Anyway, thanks for playing the game, and taking the time to comment!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I like the idea, but I feel like the time constraint was just... too short. Even with frustration being a thing you were going for, it's very tempting to just say "screw this" and not finish.

Yoni says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:03pm

It was a bit of a difficult game, but I got it at the end. Kind of too deep a message for me there. It was very nice though, I liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]