August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Way

by flavio - Jam Entry

Imagine falling into an abyss with no way out. Darkness and silence. In the shadows magic is waiting. Your light will guide you to curious colors, collect them all and you'll see them again.

One Way was designed in Montpellier, France at the 27th Ludum Dare contest (24th -26th Aug '13) by Marie Saby, Maxime Labate and Flavio Perez. Sound by Peter Vacz.

Mac version working well;
Windows version works now but NEEDS java installed on your computer (java.com)
Linux version not tested yet;
Web version is loading slow (7mb) and has music and sound issues (not even playing in some cases) -> Prefer one of the other versions.


Any feedback welcomed ! Thanks !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#48Innovation(Jam)3.71
#54Mood(Jam)3.69
#96Overall(Jam)3.55
#106Graphics(Jam)3.98
#128Audio(Jam)3.34
#398Fun(Jam)2.66
#440Humor(Jam)1.78
#514Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

JD557 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

It's not working:
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (NOT FOUND) https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3488654/LD27_One_Way/lines26_export.class


Maybe it's just the upload that hasn't finished though.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Can you tell me which browser/OS you are using ? I might put the web version somewhere else than Dropbox tomorrow morning in case it's making issues :/

Andresh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

Really nice! Loved the search mechanic here. Grats!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

Using Web version in Chrome on Windows, apparently no major problems. Sound seems a little glitchy, sometimes the collect sound wouldn't play, and there were other strange sounds playing (randomly?) which may be a bug, or might just be the oddities of a very artistic sound designer.

Thanks for coming to our event, we really enjoyed having you guys around. I hope moving in to your new studio goes along well!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37am

Windows download doesn't work at the moment.
Since the web version works, I reckon you can do without, but if you need a Windows version, I'll see if I can get a moment and compile one for you guys.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39am

The game has a sound running all the way. This is the main issue with the web version, it's randomly playing part of it. I had no time yet to see why. I'll try to fix it tonight.
I'm removing the windows version for now and I'll build a new one from a PC in the next hour !
Thanks for the feeback !

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

Windows version is back. The exe is working now but you need Java installed on your machine. You can download it on java.com
The game is also easier in the windows version, I'll fix that issue tonight. Thanks !

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Works prefectly , Good Job guys

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Loved the ray tracing and the idea of the game. Really fun :D

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

It works almost good on my Linux desktop, I'll have to try it from the Windows side! It runs quite slowly, and the sound is therefore jerky, but I can imagine what it sounds like.
The game was great when I tried it before you left on Sunday, it became close to perfect with the sound (despite the problems that I encounter here) and the fact that the "fireflies" (?) are collected slightly faster. The graphics are really beautiful. Exactly the kind of game that I love.
Eventually I think the game really fit the theme well.
Congrats!

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Relaxing and good looking :)

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Wow, just wow. Short, simple, sweet, and interesting. It is not too complex and such, but it very well put together and very engaging. not to mention that you nailed the presentation.

optimality says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Love the raytracing and the audio work. Nice puzzle aspect to getting the lights (not sure why they're called fireflies though, if you're underwater?)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Fantastic atmosphere guys, really great job pulling that off. Exploring the scenes with the light was a really nicely executed mechanic. For the atmosphere alone (visuals/sound) the game is definitely worth checking out. Extra nice compliments and such go out to the sound guy, nice job. I really liked getting to see this game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Plutôt sympa notamment l'ambiance. Au départ je n'avais pas bien compris les contrôles, en fait c'est simple...mais ça reste plutôt difficile. Bien joué.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02am

it`s giving me some type of java error :/ but if you can, we would love some feedback on our entry: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34am

The Windows version is still a bit slow on my computer sometimes, which can be annoying, but not enough to make me dislike the game. :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05am

Amazing game idea! :) Didn't know you could do something like that with Processing

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Thanks all to play our game and give feedback !

@sgehlich : Neither do we know we could do it on processing ;) But I've never tried other framworks and for our first game we look to be able to finish it. So I went back to Processing.

@optimality : It's fun, other people said it was like a submarine. But to be honest... we never think about being underwater. But indeed, it works very well thinking of it as a diving. :)

UPDATE : Windows version updated. A bad calculation made it way to easier than mac version because of the framerate going low in some cases (don't ask me why). Tried to make the game run smoother also, but it's hard to fix now without rebuilding part of the game. My "Raytracer" is not optimized at all ^^
I'll update linux/mac version tonight with the same fix. Looks to be more an issue in windows anyway.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Good work.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Very very nice atmosphere, the colors played together nicely, and the gameplay helped illuminate the nice artwork.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Well done! Great concept!

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Lovely game :) Very mellow and the game mechanic was nice. This could definitely work for alonger game.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice, atmospheric game. I like the clean visual style and the music/sounds. Also very cool shadow mechanic :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Fantastic! I wish it filled the full screen though. (I'm on Windows 7 if that's unintended.) I also wish that the font in the end credits was better, it kind of tears me out of the mood when I see a bad font. But the gameplay was quite good and well designed. You get high marks!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:47pm

It made me smile when i saw the fireflies i collected, nice and calm game, a great contrast to most of the other 10 sec interpretations, good job.

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51pm

@Puzzlem00n : Yes, in behalf of my team, I take full responsibility for the font ! I started programming it, put a basic Helvetica while working, and we completely forget to change it even if it was in our TODO list. So it's my fault to use that placeholder and it does not give respect to the rest of the work :(
Thanks for the feedback ! I'll fix that soon
And about filling the full screen, I tried some stuff, but I wasn't even able to change the grey by a black screen. Still trying solutions.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Feels like a soul going to heaven, except it's going down...
Nice Atmosphere!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Good idea and better art!! Very origanl game, I really enjoyed it :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice idea and cool mechanics. Very chill. Love the presentation with the shadowing effects.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

This is a lovely game, very poetic. I could have play for 30 more minutes, seriously. I have the feeling some fireflies are uncatchable, but I might be wrong, and it doesn't rellay matter in the end. Congratulations!

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Cool, cool, cool!!! That's definitely one game I'll get to keep on my hard drive, mainly for the atmosphere and the mood it creates! Nice graphics and very good sound! Great job guys!
Please continue developing this title! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:44am

Wasn't sure what I was doing or why but the presentation overall is amazing and it was moody as hell

Laelien says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:20am

My computer doesn't like your game, but then again, my computer is an idiot, because it is awesome, really. The mood is very well done, and even a little oppressing at times.
You guys have done well, it the " other room ", like actual work, while we were just procrastinating :P

wilbefast says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Very nice :) I'm guessing this'll be one of the best ranked for mood and audio, and it's nice to look at too :D Not much in the way of gameplay, but then that's not really what you were going for I don't think. Again this shows the limits of "games" as a category. Not to bring up that debat then, as a interactive experience in general this has some serious merit ;)

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Interesting game.
I like the firelies' visuals.

Nice entry!

Komradus says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:22am

A processing game, love seeing these! Really liked the main mechanic but it seemed like some of the fireflies were outright impossible to get.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]