August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

EcoStar vs Aeronox

by DreamTeam - Jam Entry

Note: You will need XNA Framework installed before playing (linked above)

EcoStar vs Aeronox

CONTROLS
--------

Z - Shoot
X - Elemental Charge Shot
Arrows - Move

Gamepad controls(XBox360 controller)
A - Shoot
X - Elemental Charge Shot
Right Trigger - Elemental Charge Shot
Left stick - Move

Story
-----

Oh no! The evil Aeronox forces have sent our planet into hyper orbit, sending us spiraling out of
control and fast forwarding our years at breakneck speed! The seasons change every 10 seconds, and EcoStar's
elemental beams are going haywire. Aeronox forces that spawn during a given season inherit that season's
specific elemental traits.


How To Play
-----------

Spring - Water
Summer - Fire
Autumn - Earth
Winter - Ice

EcoStar's charge beam and shield pickups also utilize the current season's element.

Use the correct anti-element to quickly destroy shields and large foes.

Water extinguishes fire
Fire melts Ice
Ice withers Earth
Earth absorbs Water

The player shield protects only against attacks of the same element, while enemy shields can only be
destroyed by the anti-element.

Kills earn points that reward the player with item drops (shield, fire rate boos, spread increase).

Defeat the final wave to win the game, save the planet, and claim your reward!!!

---
Edit:
During a bugfix I accidently made all enemies spawn as Water. I've fixed this and pointed the "Windows" link to the fixed version! // Ditto


Dream Team

Lead Programmer / Assistant Artist
Ditto
@Dittomat

Lead Artist / Animator / Assistant Programmer
Arne
@AndroidArts

Team Leader / Sound Designer / Assistant Artist
SonnyBone
@Phantom_Green

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#4Graphics(Jam)4.74
#9Audio(Jam)4.19
#30Overall(Jam)3.87
#69Fun(Jam)3.55
#94Mood(Jam)3.50
#334Theme(Jam)2.98
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75
#426Humor(Jam)1.84

Comments

DevMax says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Hey, I get a "Apologies, but the page you requested could not be found. Perhaps searching will help" when opening the web page.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13am

Try the mirror link.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

Also, the game will crash if you alt+tab or remove focus from the game window. We're working on a fix as well as a fix for the looping death glitch.

DevMax says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

Ahh bummer, it crashes with "LD27 has stopped working" when I try to run it :(

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

You may need the XNA Framework. We're fixing a few game breaking issues, so that might be your problem.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19am

DREAM TEAM! Who became the third member?

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

OK, this latest version should be stable. Gamepad support added and the looping death glitch has been fixed. We're gonna take a break then get to work on the post-compo version!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

I am really impressed by this game.

I absolutely love the graphics. They are so nice, clean and stylistic. Beautiful, well done!
Same for the music. It's excellent and I'd happily put it in my music folder for repeat listening in the future.
The games engine is really solid and overall the game feels very solid with smooth transitions and nice controls.

The only thing that I find kind of disappointing is that it is such a standard shmup. I like the little shield element but everything else has been seen before many times. All the same, the game is still a lot of fun and I enjoyed it greatly.

Fantastic work all three of you!

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

Hey there dream team! I was waiting for your game to happen. :)

Awesome graphics, mood and finishing. Really detailed work! The theme wasn't that clear before reading through the text, though. Nevertheless, dream team -level execution, just as I thought it would be. ;)

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Very impressive! Graphic, sound, gameplay - everything makes a really good impression and it is fun to play - although the suggestion for a Xbox 360 gamepad should definitely be followed ... :)

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great graphics and music, but it is a really basic side scrolling shooter.

myachin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

says "No suitable graphic card found" (

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Gorgeous art and amazing music! Took a while to understand the season changing mechanics but it was fun afterwards. It feels a bit slow, but the impressive animations and explosions kept me playing.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24pm

The game is very well done, the animation and music are really awesome, it's just a shame that I suck at these shooters. The only let down is that it's not very original, and the theme of the 10 seconds is barely noticeable at all

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Other than adding a countdown timer on the screen, I don't see how we could have possibly made the theme more noticeable than it already is. It's hard not to notice that the graphics, music, abilities, strategy, and enemies change every 10 seconds. Rather than making a 'complete this level in 10 seconds' kind of game, we went with a longer experience that requires you to either re-evaluate the situation every 10 seconds or plan ahead for the next 10 seconds. And maybe the genre isn't original, but I feel as though the elemental affinities and constantly shifting and uncontrollable powers are original ideas that put a unique spin on the genre itself. We didn't set out to reinvent the wheel, but we did want to make it roll a bit differently.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

Wow.

So, I should confess, this LD (and last one) the first thing I did was check your account immediately for your game, SonnyBone. You made me feel so welcome here immediately, and your games were so well made and interesting. And I was really, really disappointed that I didn't find a game there.

So I looked again today to see if I could find what'd happened, and found the DreamTeam. And as soon as I saw the screenshots, I was just like "Daymn", and I was so not disappointed. Those graphics look absolutely incredible, and the sound is just amazing. The transitions from terrain to terrain are lovely, it plays so fluidly and the animation is exceptional. You guys are really onto something here, especially as it's your first time working together in a team like this. So epic. And I'm just really glad you're still here too, because you're such a gent. Definitely going to go back and check Ditto and Arne's games too now. :D

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Beautiful game. Some great work here. Visually breathtaking for 72hours, the atmosphere, feel and everything are astounding. great work!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40pm

At first I thought, what the heck, what's that for a difficult game? Then I read the "CONTROLS and HOW TO PLAY.txt" and I suddenly was like: wait... there is a charge attack? AND I can play it with my controller, AWESOME!

When I read you first post about the DreamTeam I was skeptical that a team of random awesome people would be too much awesomeness to handle, but you guys did not disappoint.

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Hey Dream team! Sorry for taking so long to get to your game!

So, I've played all the way to the end, it took me three tries. Here are my impressions:

The Good
* Loved the graphics. I specially LOVED that the enemy ships take damage. Loved the "you win" graphics :-)
* The shield mechanic is really clever. Took me a while to get it into my mental checklist, but when I did, it integrated into the game pretty flawlessly.
* Really liked the music. Is it just me, or does it seem to get more intense when you get to the final wave?
* Difficulty curve seems to be right there. Died at the final wave quite a few times, but got a little better each time.

The bad:
* I think you need better feedback for the Elemental Shot. I was failing the elemental shot all the time, because there was no clear notice that it was fully charged.
* It seems that there is a bug where all the enemies only shoot water shots.
* I didn't really like the score font. I feel it contrasts too much with the rest of the game style.

The minor:
* I felt that the changes between the power ups (except the multiple shot) were kinda hard to notice.


Finally, as promised, I made a video of my playthrough, from first play through until the spoilery ending. The video is semi-private (you can only access it with the url) and it is here. Hope it helps!

http://youtu.be/mmRPxD5fzAg

For the others: This video contains spoilers! I'll release a non-spoilery video later in my journal!

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

And here is the non-spoilery video :-)
http://youtu.be/kh-C7XWejus

Also, the video is CreativeCommons, so feel free to remix it! (By removing my annoying voice with Zuzanda's awesome narrator :-P)

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Just saw the video(ditto), and it is awesome! :D Thanks a ton for taking the time to make it, really flattering! :D Also I don't know why you only seem to get water enemies, is this the case for any other players? The enemies should get the element of the season they spawn in.. Thanks again caranha! <3

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I can't say much more than what was already said, but good job and I'm glad to see another STG out here! :D

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I must confess I too didn't really notice that the enemies and such were what changed every 10 seconds, I thought the element shot was simply random and the waves of enemies were simply, waves of enemies.

In any case, for a Jam game this is really well done. I'm not the greatest Shmup player, so the amount of projectiles I had to dodge did seem pretty intense at times. But it did also make the experience a lot more engaging as it kept me on my toes.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

OK, the random glitch where the wrong enemies were spawning should be fixed. Something went wrong when fixing a previous game breaking bug. The music is still out of sync, but at least the other more serious errors have been fixed. The game should now be playing and should be working for you as it did for us.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

*should now be playable

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Great, polished game. Beautiful graphics. Didn't catch the theme at all though

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Super nice looking Shmup!
Good entry and nice work!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:39pm

It's been a long week, so I just got down to playing the game. It's an incredible amount of polish there for three days with fantastic graphics, sound, and control. I really enjoyed the game and glad you put together a dream team.

Two little nitpicky thing to make the game better though; the didn't feel frantic or epic. The waves felt very controlled and relaxing because you knew you had time to deal with the enemies. I think a small touch of having an enemy or two either come from the sides or slide in fast would add some tension by breaking up the pace a bit.

I would have also liked to have seen some much bigger enemies near then end. Everything was scaled pretty small, and a ridiculously large boss or just some physically scaled up enemies with slightly better health and attacks at parts would also help to make the player feel like they are progressing more and accomplishing more.

These are minor items, and most things that would be hard to address in a three day time frame, but they are something to think about if you pursue the game later. In any case, awesome job on making such a polished and fun game.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Beautiful art style.

The change of the seasons idea is promising (and, again, I must say that it looks great), but it felt a bit slow to me compared to other shmups, at least until bullets started pouring out from everywhere :D

It would be interesting to see this further developed, with some variety of scenarios and enemies.
Great job!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Really nicely made, the art looks good, the music sounds good, it plays well. Pretty good submission, although it's a little difficult with all the bullets flying across the screen making it a bit hard to navigate. Really nice job overall though, nice one.

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Awesome entry, it was ton of fun to play. How can we give 6 stars for graphics?

One little thing: sometimes it's difficult to differentiate between bullets and explosions (I think it happens during autumn).

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Top quality game. Difficulty seems a bit high. Awesome look and feel overall.

gamepopper says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I love shoot 'em ups and yours was a lot of fun to play. I love the particle effects and the amount of challenge, not too sure on how it fits into the 10 seconds theme but I don't care, I enjoyed this so much! =D

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Loved the graphics and style, especially the particle effects.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:01pm

nice game but it crashes -- also the shooting is too slow -- nice effort

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:00am

Can't play windows games. No web ver?

mortus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:06am

I was intrigued about this game since I've seen the first post proposing the Dream Team creation. And it's no surprise that the result is not disappointing at all.

It looks and feels (and... hears?) as a full complete game and I would play it for hours maybe if it weren't so damn hard! Either I don't get something about the game mechanics or it's very, VERY hard even to the point of frustration. Spawning enemies which I can kill in at least 20 seconds (due to shields) if I'm god of the game and aiming? Which shoot like hell and don't allow me anywhere near the line of fire? Four of them at the same time? While I'm chased around by 4-5 aiming rockets that seem to be indestructible? Really?

And I think there may be a bug somewhere as sometimes I would shoot random special attack instead of what I was expecting. But I'm not sure about this one.

Anyway, it's a great game and one of the best I've seen so far for sure. Maybe the best. Thanks for it guys and good luck with the post-compo version.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:48am

sPOCkEr2: Yeah, the crashes are a sad effect of pumping out so much code in 3 days that started to create problems in the last few hours of the jam. :(
jomomomo: No, sorry, it's made with XNA which is pretty much just for desktop apps.
mortus: Balancing the waves was really hard and made in the last hour of the compo.. Also, the "random" charge attack you mention is determined by the season in which you start charging. Start charging in the spring gives water, summer gives fire, etc.

Finally the game feels pretty easy to us who made it, since hey, we played it a couple 100 times during 3 intense days, sorry 'bout that : P
//Ditto

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Only 38 votes? That's a damn shame - that means so far a lot of people have missed out on this. Well, at least I won't, thanks to Jellycake's stream and your comment on my game!

This game has a lot going: Wonderful graphics, satisfying sounds, cool music - and most importantly (at least for me) an interesting mechanic! I really like how the shields, enemies and projectiles have elements they are strong against. At first I thought you could change your element at will, but having to wait for the right season while defending is compelling too. I enjoyed playing the game, and I don't normally play Shoot'em ups!

I have a few suggestions for a post-compo version:
- Less (or less visible) debris when something explodes. I've died more than once near to an exploding enemy ship because I couldn't see the bullets anymore.
- Clearer elemental affilation. I know, I know, the enemies look different, but I am easily confused, and a symbol on them or hovering next to them or anything similar would help me a lot.
- Having a not-fully-charged elemental projectile release a weaker version of said projectile. It was extremely frustrating each time I released it to early. Or at least clearer feedback when it's ready.

Apart from that - great game with a very innovative mechanic. I'm looking forward to the post-compo version!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Beautiful graphics and music. The season/element changing is especially cool!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Incredible stylized graphics, very r-type and very cool. The charge mechanic: awesome!

I second TobiasW's additions, they sound like they'd make the game twice as fun! Good job!

Solifuge says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I thought I recognized Arne's art style! <3

Most of my suggestions have been mentioned, so I'll stick to congratulating you guys on putting together a pretty cool take on the traditional sidescrolling shmup. I enjoyed it!

Cosr says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice game, loved the art. Took me a little while to get the whole elements thing (cause why would I bother reading instructions, right?), but once I did I liked it.

Something about the feel of the movement seemed a little off to me. Maybe the player's too fast or the bullets are too slow or something. It seems like the player basically moves at the same speed as their own bullets, which is weird, and I kept flying backwards into enemy bullets that had gone past me which, well, whatever, fine, but it just had sort of a wrong feel to it. Maybe it's that the player's horizontal movement speed was too fast. I dunno.

michail says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:12am

It's hard to tell which bullets/shields are water and which are ice. Respawning is very confusing as well - I usually find myself dead again before I could even notice my ship between thousands of explosion particles.

Good job anyway, the audio and graphics are outstanding!

GFM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Wow, great entry! This really give off this "complete work" felling! Difficulty raised quite nicely (I'd even say logarithmically xD). Graphics were great! And so was the music!
The seasons mechanic was really novel and interesting. :D It added strategy to a genre that normally is only about repeating this: "memorize pattern->avoid bullets->destroy everything" (not a bad thing, I really like shooters, but this game was something else).

I only think it lacked a boss battle... (c'mon, it's a side scrolling shooter.. it's necessary xD)
The seasons mechanic could make a boss battle great!

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Great graphics, cool music and solid gameplay!
I find the player's movement needs to be more fluid to add the sensation of flying, but with the time limit to develop the game it's understandable, so great work.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Just found my favourite game of this 27th LD. Gameplay is perfect, (Tried both on keyboard and pad), loved the animations, the enemies well basically the whole game :)
Congratulations for making such an addictive game.
Here is gameplay video I made if aynone is still hesitating wether or not to try it ;)
http://youtu.be/5zni-k4k_mw

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]