August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lost in the Dark

by KristinnEs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Premise:
---------
You find yourself lost in a dark maze. The light you have barely gives you an idea of what is around you. You hear growling in the distance and voices whispering in the dark.
On your watch a countdown has started. It says 10 seconds! what could that mean?

Ten seconds later a light appears above the maze, illuminating it, and its inhabitants for short periods before plunging everything back into darkness. As time goes on the pattern repeats itself. It might be your imagination but you think the light periods might be growing shorter.

The light makes one final appearance before the darkness engulfs everything once more. This time it is different. You hear something slamming in the distance.

Could it be? Am I stuck in here with these... monsters?

Am I lost? I must escape... help...

Instructions.
----
Find your way through the maze using WASD to move, Q and E to strafe and space to fire at the monsters. Every ten seconds you will be given an overview of the maze to help you find your way. Use the time well.

Technical details:
------
The tools used were Unity3D, Blender and photoshop.

Attached are screenshots from the game as well as one showing off the maze generator in action.

If the dropbox link does not work, this does: http://talmir.darktech.org/games/ludum/ludum.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#341Mood3.03
#497Overall3.11
#508Fun2.98
#536Theme3.20
#563Innovation2.95
#589Graphics2.82
#683Humor2.03
#929Audio1.48

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Normally I don't really like maze games. But this one is very well done. Could use some sound and music to make it more atmospheric. Good job :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45am

I agree with Jhelle; I usually am not a fan of maze-based games. This, however, is an interesting twist on the usual concept. I like this a lot.

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

Nice one man!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I like it.
I don't know if it was done on purpose, but when bumping against monsters, you only lose when facing directly to them. In other cases, it's safe to touch a monster.

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Interesting idea, the main challenge is definitely trying to get by the enemies without running out of ammo. Might have been interesting if your ammo count carried over but there were also ammo pickups in the levels

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice :D

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

That's kinda unusual idea, liked it.

Tinnapixie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I love it :) It is fun and nerveracking at the same time. Loved the ending and knowing that since i died i now became one of the zombies.

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice game! Fun and a nice twist on the usual maze games. Some audio, even basic music would have helped but otherwise quite nice!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I missed audio.. but really great concept though!

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Awesome game. The fact that the camera turns with you made it a bit disorienting, which is a good thing since it made the maze much more difficult. Also, I liked the dark twist with the zombies. :P

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

awesome, i really enjoy my gameplay and the mood of this game!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

BTW, awesome lighting...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I like how the purple doods ask for help and then they don't help you. At first I didn't realize I could shoot them. I had a lot of fun trying to get away from them only to be herded into my untimely demise.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Cool stuff man!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Pretty solid game but not too challenging. Maybe you only had 10 seconds of light to plan your rout then you were in darkness; just my opinion, but yeah pretty cool game. knocked out a few levels.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Could we have a Linux download? The Unity web player doesn't have a linux version.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good & fun game, I like how you implemented the time restrictions.

BUT, I miss some sound effects and music, you should have work a bit more on the camera (it's a bit uncomfortable)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

This is pretty cool. The zombies made me laugh, and I usually don't like zombies. As someone has already pointed out, the camera is disorienting, but it's not necessarily a bad thing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice maze game! A little creepy.

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The max I got was around 7.
Nice game but too hard. Limited ammo limited time. Too many zombies with 3 hit health like you and you only have 9 bullets. So if you face more than 3 zombies you are dead. The player should be able to replay the level instead of starting from maze 1.
I wish I reached the ending.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Simple, but very fun, good job

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I liked the idea and the lighting.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I like it! Nice work :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Great job, the mood was interesting and the gameplay was simple and smooth. A little music would have gone a long way, maybe even just some footsteps or a blaster sound. Either way, awesome work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice work with the light! The voices trying to distract you are great :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

A really well made maze-game that fits with the theme. Awesome.

frankbsad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

very fun.

evilentity says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Pretty cool.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Pretty good twist on maze games, I think the darkness could be darker because I could still see where I should go sometimes.
Also would be amazing if you had voiced them instead of giving them text, would add soo much to the atmosphere

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Liked this! I think it could benefit a lot if you would add some creepy music ^^ Otherwise nice usage of the theme, and good luck!

CmdBrewsky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice idea. I like the concept and its interesting to play. With music it would be much better.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I came because your game has nearly the same name as mine and I stayed because of the gameplay. Sweet - maze games usually aren't my cup of tea, but combined with the light mechanic, a minimalistic but compelling plot and all the nice little touches like the monsters speaking made this quite fun to play. Good job - and congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

PS: After playing I realised that the similarity to my game doesn't end at the name - there's another thing actually :D

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Fun game. Very cool idea. Great job :D

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Interesting game with simple idea. Great job.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Good to play !

BenWhi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:34am

Hey, this game was pretty good! Liked the fact that the levels were randomly generated.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:59am

good levels! Great mood and theme! Thank you!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Very cool - my favourite Unity entry so far!

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:08pm

My first impression on your game - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QI3piDmw0U

Mekuri says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:12am

A very nice idea. I really liked how the ten seconds were more of a positive thing (at least to some extend). Very nice game. I missed some sound and music though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:35pm

aMAZEing work. get it?!

No but it's a good game, bulky design, minecraftylike..

Good job!

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Very cool use of the theme. It gets pretty challenging too! Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]