August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Encounter

by geekdrums - Jam Entry

Use only up cursor.

a short, experimental narrative game from Japan.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Audio(Jam)3.90
#39Mood(Jam)3.79
#118Innovation(Jam)3.41
#221Graphics(Jam)3.54
#230Overall(Jam)3.24
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#256Humor(Jam)2.53
#535Theme(Jam)2.44
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Very short and atmospheric experience, good job :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very confusing at first, it would be nice to have an explanation of what is going on.
Although once I figured it out, I enjoyed it a lot. Very short, very nice looking, and the music is seriously amazing!

This game has a lot of potential, I hope you keep working on it:)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

An all are whole again. Pretty haunting game and cool. 5 stars

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Very nice work!
I like how the game itself tells you everything you need to know.
Nice work on the sound too!
Great work!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Only CONS is that it is really short.. apart from that, I liked the character's feeling and all that crazy background! it is really minimalistic and yet very enjoyable, congratz

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:36am

I love the character, so unique! Also the atmosphere is great!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:14am

I really love this. ;)

xel says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Great concept! Loved the overall feel of the game

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:32am

It was a very short experience, but I liked it. Very unique!

Also, very cool music! ;)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:09pm

amusingly

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Strange and simple... I wish there was more.

myachin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Great job! One of the best for me! I like weird games...)

CMaster says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Don't quite see how it fits the theme, but certainly creepy.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

It is short, but full of character :)

Misfit says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very short but addictive. Nice sounds.

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I have really a good feeling about this game. The game although short gives me a sense of design in deep. I enjoy playing this.

BTW: The concept makes me to think about The Lord of the Ring, when you need to hide from the eye of Sauruman :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

A very intresting experience, I don't see how it relates to the theme but is still a very nice entry.

geekdrums says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:46am

Thank you for playing everyone!

About the theme...
The music while you are walking is 4 bar(=16 beats total) in tempo 96, which is 16 * 60/96 = 10seconds. I think the title of this game should have been kind of "10 seconds away".

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]