August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pugnator

by Burhuc - Jam Entry

Pugnator is an action-adventure shmup where you'll have to face increasing dangers. Kill enemies, earn loot, destroy walls, and find the portal to the next level.

In addition to this, every 10 second, one or multiple (depending on the level) events will happen which will stay for the next 10 seconds. Those events can be buffs, debuffs or traps!

So watch your timer!

-----------------------------------------------------

UPDATE:
As I got moved from the compo to the jam, I still have some time to polish a bit, so I just did that quickly.

v0.2 log:
- Added sound when timer ends (=Event happens)
- Added indication which event is currently happenening
- Added regeneration when not shooting
- Small bug fixes


-----------------------------------------------------

Install notice:
If the executable doesn't work, you need to use the installen, which will install the necessary frameworks (XNA) on your PC.


Note:
1. If the timer passes and you don't see any difference to before, then the event which happened may be a buff or debuff (damage up/down for example).

2. Some of the art assets in the game (Player character, bomb, explosions) are not made by myself but from here: https://github.com/Catacomb-Snatch/Catacomb-Snatch/. I did not have the time to create those by myself.
All the others though were made during the competition by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#216Fun(Jam)3.09
#218Theme(Jam)3.26
#341Humor(Jam)2.21
#385Overall(Jam)2.91
#393Audio(Jam)2.49
#430Innovation(Jam)2.60
#439Mood(Jam)2.47
#469Graphics(Jam)2.63

Comments

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

That was a nice use of the theme: Random buffs/debuffs every 10 seconds! I liked it.

The game is still a little rough, but I think it has a lot of potential.

As a suggestion, I think you need to give the player more information: Put the life somewhere a little more obvious, give information about what is the debuff that just happened, and, specially, give some indication about what direction is the exit.

I hope you can iron out this game further :-D

Here is my video playthrough: http://youtu.be/zJqAB55vE5U

(PS: I think you are not allowed to use graphics from other people's games to that extent in the Compo. Cheers)

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Thanks for the feedback and especially for the video!

Also thanks for the suggestions, I'll sure keep them in mind! I'll probably add a small regen function to the game, as I just played it again too, and it is pretty difficult to not die and advance in levels.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I like the game! It quite funny, nice application of the theme! Nice work :)

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Sad you didn't make your own graphics. Good game though.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

The graphics are really cool, too bad the game lacks some music. Events need to be announced, so you know what happen. Nice entry anyway ;)

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Thanks for the comments and suggestions :).

@Sheep: Most of the graphics are made by me. Only some though (Player, explosion animation, bomb) are not, just didn't have the time at the end sadly.

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

This is a jam entry as it's using material which are not created by the author. It might also be breaking a license laws in terms of usage of the art from "Catacomb snatch @ Mojang AB"

Game is fun but remember this for next time. :)

philhassey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Switched to Jam entry because not all assets were created during compo.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This was seriously fun. Great use of the theme. Great job!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Those graphics are from catacomb snatch, really nice game anyway. so fun!

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice use of the theme. :) Like other people said, it could be really great if a few details get ironed out. Nice work!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Great job and good graphics

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

Are some of the enemies supposed to be able to walk through the walls?

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55am

The game fit the theme well and the buffs/debuffs were interesting - I just wish there were more! Some directions would be nice showing where I was supposed to go. The graphics are good, but it would be cool to see your own take on them, even if it's not quite as polished.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

Thanks for your feedbacks and comments! I'll sure keep them
In mind, and yea I'll probably continue working on the game and iron in out :).

@wally: Well yes and no. They firstly weren't and had their own collision detection and handling with the walls. Thiw however took way too much computational time, and the fps dropped. I sadly didn't have the time at the end to optimize it, so I just left it out.

@Surrealix: Yes I also wish there were more! There are 15 at the moment and I have so many ideas for others! But as for some of the graphics, I sadly didn't have the time at the end anymore :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41am

Neither the executable nor the installer work here. :( Executable leads to windows error, and I can't run the installer exe (not a valid win32 executable or something). From what I can tell after seeing the review, it looks great though.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Great game! I love the ten second good or bad powers

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice Game! I like the colours

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

The graphics are pretty neat, and the gameplay was a nice mix of shmup and Bomberman. I'd only advice you to make things clearer on the interface, showing better the HP and when the buff/debuff occurs. I think the AI could be more challenging, too. Overall, it was a nice entry! =)

Take a look at my entry if you have time!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00pm

This game mostly needs polishing, the game could really turn into something then.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Will post video review link when ready.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2835564

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Interesting idea, also had that "10 seconds" buff idea for a little while before scraping it, but it works nicely!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Great use of the theme, enjoyed the gameplay. Overall good job :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

pretty fun -- like the 10 second change of the buffs -- nice job

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I liked the switching buffs and debuffs. I found some of the collision handling a touch buggy overall but nothing serious. Would like it if the combos repeated less often. Getting 30 seconds of the same thing is frustrating. And some combos are extra hazardous, might be worth forcing rerolls on some, something like no moving/no shooting is almost a guarantee you'll take damage. Put this together with all your own graphics and it will be a lot of fun.

BomberGames says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The graphics are really nice, but what I personally found great was the variety of 10 second random elements.
Honestly if this had been suggested in a jam group, I would have nixed it, but I really like the execution here - very reminiscent of Gauntlet.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Thanks for timelapse :)
Great game :)
I really like graphics and concept :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]