August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DemoPhobia

by xndr - Jam Entry

My first.
HGE, some help from wife and son.

Move hero to safe place. Movement - arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#125Innovation(Jam)3.39
#144Humor(Jam)2.97
#177Fun(Jam)3.22
#231Theme(Jam)3.23
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#313Mood(Jam)2.87
#386Audio(Jam)2.51
#405Graphics(Jam)2.85

Comments

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good little game :)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I find the idea that you have to figure out which character you control interesting.

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Great! Absolutely the best submit I've played this far.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Awesome! Very original.
The music was reeeaaally annoying, thou.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It is a fun arcade like game. It got a bit repetitive though. maybe have them advance through levels faster (like add 3 people each round?)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Interesting mechanic, first figuring out who you are. Not only is it a game about demophobia, but also a lost sense of identity after being a hero in various roles! Yeah, I'll go with that!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

This is great, I really like the central mechanic at play here, makes for a fast, fun, chaotic kinda game. Great stuff.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

this game is very addicting

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45am

Very clever mechanic. Most LD games ramp up the difficulty too fast but I thought this was just about right.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Interesting mechanic. Reminds me of Hidden in Plain Sight. I got kinda bored with it after a while though.

Sorry, but the music is really obnoxious to me. That alone made me want to stop playing.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14am

Nice idea, but it is quite easy to understand who you are once you get the mechanics.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

fun game. ;)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35am

Interesting idea, fun to play for a few minutes.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52am

Curious game, very funny, i like it. Good music!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57am

Is it just me or is the link not working?

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Very nice idea, good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The thing about having to work out which character you are is really cool, I don't think I've ever seen that before, so that's pretty interesting. Not a big fan of the music to be honest, but the game itself is good.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Really innovative idea! Managed to get to level 23, but things got too chaotic. Great game!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:19pm

good job

Kad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fun chibi game, I had a strategy of starting doing a circle until the anti heroes were too much to handle...

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Fun game with an Interesting and testing control scheme.

Identifying the character in a crowd within a strict time limit felt like an exciting and stressful Where's Waldo? / Wally? book, similar to having a parent shout 'WHERE IS HE?' repeatedly at you when you're reading a Waldo book.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Although im not quite sure why there would be a bathroom in the middle of nature, I did love the game. Sometimes you really do get tripped up wondering what person you are! It was great. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

haha! great idea!

Controls were different :D

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

So the safest place for this guy is... The toilet? :D
Fun little game :)

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

What a great concept! Simple but very satisfying to play. I can see this idea being expanded into a much larger and more varied game. Graphics and sound were nice too. Very enjoyable.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very clever how you took a flaw that some games have (difficulty in locating the player), and turned it into a game.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Different game, but a bit too weird maybe? Don't know. Cool entry, though!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Pretty original game! I like games where you need to figure out which one is moving. Go pretty difficult in the upper levels. Good job!

5ants team says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:18am

Very good and original idea. The game is well implemented and has some appreciated taste for the humour. A little bit difficult for me though.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This was surprisingly fun. The level of difficulty was nice as the levels progressed. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:13pm

So it's kinda like social phobia?

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Ooh, an HGE game. That was one of the first engines I used. Sweet. I played until level 20. That was a really interesting mechanic - finding out who you control. And boy, I sure hope I'll never explode when I feel uncomfortable...

xndr says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

:)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:09am

neat that you need to figure out who you are -- nice job

cafeine says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very good! Having to figure out which character to move is a clever idea.

Also, this game is the story of my life :p

mollymus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Surprisingly fun! I managed to play until level 19 but at that point it was damn messy! Well done!:D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Silly game. Haven't seen this mechanic before.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:49am

Really quite addictive! Simple but affective goals, the art and music suit it well.

Great stuff. :)

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:33am

Fresh idea! Nice graphics. Gets a little to hard for me after few levels. But still fun to figure out which player do you controll :) Good Job!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Level 17! I wonder how many levels are there.. (or are they just random generated?)
Very innovative style of gameplay, the only complain i can make is the background music, looping too fast and not so smoothly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]