August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

QuickDraw - Java

by Neil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

QuickDraw is a mage dueling game coded in libGdx and Java.

This is my first LD and it was a lot of fun, I did not finish everything I wanted, but I learnt a lot.

Edit: Fixed a bug causing crashes on a lot of machines!

Instructions:
You are a Rune Wizard.

Rune Wizards draw arcane symbols to call forth magic from dimensional rifts. Rifts can only be kept open for a short time (exactly 10 seconds, as it turns out!)

This is a difficult and dangerous art - precision, speed and concentration is key.

To cast a spell, page through your spell book to select a spell. Start drawing the rune on the blank canvas, attack when you are ready, or when the rift closes.

The effort of casting spells use up mana points. You can restore some mana points by passing your turn.

Some spells inflict damage, some spells can heal you. But all spells are dangerous. A badly drawn rune will backfire and damage you!

Your stronghold is under siege by Zondar the Wicked, defend your home!

Controls:
Left mouse button to draw in black
Right mouse button to draw in white
Space to Attack
Escape to see the menu

Features not implemented:
There are many spell types, but I did not have the time to implement the different effects, so all spells only do damage or heal.
Balancing
Sound & Music
Effect graphics giving more visual feedback on what happened

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#20Innovation4.10
#243Theme3.50
#372Overall3.24
#404Fun3.10
#544Mood2.74
#785Graphics2.52

Comments

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

Really cool idea. The game kept crashing when I was trying to draw though.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

Would you mind making a linux version please ^.^

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nvrmd, Its in java, I can run it, will give ratings in a moment

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27am

Nice concept and fun. The time limit really makes this game possibly.

But sometimes I get this Exception:
I should heal or wait
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException: In
ex: 0, Size: 0
at java.util.ArrayList.rangeCheck(Unknown Source)
at java.util.ArrayList.get(Unknown Source)
at com.neil.ludum.entity.AI.pickSpell(AI.java:101)
at com.neil.ludum.screens.GameScreen.pickSpell(GameScreen.java:750)

Neil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

I'll see if I can sort out some of these crashes. I definitely did something wrong - not experiencing any here...

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46am

Say its in java. I'm on a mac and had no idea that I could run it. 'till I read a comment

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

Being text-based I can't really give a good gfx rating, but the rest of it works fine.

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

I've had a look at the source code and the bug is in AI.pickSpell. It happens if the AI doesn't have enough MP for a heal spell but enough for an attack spell.
Then it goes beyond this check
if (dmg.isEmpty() && heal.isEmpty()) return null;
tries to iterate the heal-spells, finds none, tries to access index 0 of the empty list and crashes.

Neil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Thanks KayZ! I found that as well, and uploaded a fixed version.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Innovate, good idea. Seemed hard for me, but anyways enjoyed it :)

mr_tag says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I am the master of lightning :)

very well executed, very fitting to the theme.

*hint* add cute graphics + sound and i think this idea would do very well on the mobile market! ;) i foresee frenetic 2 player multiplayer on a single tablet!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:46am

Fun, but that was really hard!

Neil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55am

It is quite hard!

The 10 seconds makes it really difficult to finish a drawing, but it becomes much easier once you start to really learn the runes. I actually draw the base shape as quickly as possible and then remove the extra pixels by right-clicking, missing pixels are penalized more than extra pixels!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50am

i am really bad drawing, but i like the concept, goood job guys!!!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Interesting integration of drawing into an rpg. Fun stuff!

manuq says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Like Crazi456 said, very original to have drawing integrated in a game, like in this!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:29am

Very cool and innovative idea. Also, thats a lot of spells. Nice work!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:30am

Wow, this is a very good concept. Does using a drawing tablet count as cheating? ;)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Amazing concept, if you are willing to take the concept further I think you cold make a fantastic succesful RPG with such innovative battle system. Add some graphics, upgrades, an epic story and charming characters and it would be a hit! xD

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:41am

It's real tough because of the time limit, but it's a very interesting mechanic. Very nice job!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:47am

Hey really nice idea ! Good concept, very innovative

awppy says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:33am

Very interesting gameplay - this would be great to see on a DS or similar. Noticed in the beginning that RMB and LMB are switched around - it says RMB is draw black, but it's draw white.

Pretty short, and after one playthrough with a bit of back-and-forth I got the hang of drawing the fireball and just wrecked house with it

crazyrems says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This concept is really great ! I love drawing things and casting spells with drawings is something really insane !
The concept is here, drawing is pretty innacurate but I would love to see a game about this released.

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Haha, really nice concept! I'm super rush to draw out those pixels :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:36am

Very original idea - great job! Like others said, a bit difficult - it'd be cool to see this balanced a bit more, along with the additions you mentioned.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]