August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Forward Motion

by Feysoura - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Solve the adrenaline-pumping puzzles in 10 seconds or you die in a pool of gore. 13 levels, including bouncing, gravity-shifts, laser-beams, and crazy backgrounds.
I hope you like it (or at least have a bit of fun playing it), and remember to rate!

Thank you!

PS: Made in GM8. I can't make it work for HTML5 in GM:S, too much to do in 10 minutes. For the time being, you can play it on QuickPlay in GameJolt in case you want to play it online! There seems to be a problem with os/x users, sorry about that!

Here's the link:

http://gamejolt.com/games/quick-play/17088/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#219Fun3.37
#261Audio3.06
#368Mood2.98
#372Overall3.24
#407Graphics3.13
#459Theme3.28
#668Humor2.05
#954Innovation2.39

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Web version doesn't seem to work on my Mac. I get a blue and grey (alternating) 100% bar in a small window.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Wouldn't load for me. Game-jolt downloads it, then nothing happens.

xel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Cool game. I got stuck in some walls during the reverse gravity puzzles though. Other than that it was fun to play.

jugglerrob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Gamejolt sadly won't let me play :C

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

I'm not one for puzzle games but this was pretty fun. The graphics style is really nice too. There are some bugs but that is to be expected in a compo like this. Nice work!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

Fun! A few collision issues, but nothing game-breaking.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Web version isn't working on windows 8.
downloaded just fine.
Was quite enjoyable. Would prefer slightly different scrolling background. (less lines/noisey?)

Generally good concept, controls/collisions were occasionally slightly wonky. But overall a pretty solid game!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

ha! I'm not one for puzzle games either but I wanted to try and make one. I'll check gamejolt and see what's up. Sorry for the inconvenience!
For everyone who played it, thanks! (and sorry for the bugs, there're not many of them [only in the gravity shift levels] and, as twilightflandre said, it's to be expected in a compo like this. Luckily if you get stuck in a wall you don't have to wait more than 10 seconds, ever. That's a plus.)

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38am

That level in the first screenshot is tough! Cool game, though!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great game. I like the screen effect.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Oh! Excuse me for being Captain Obvious in here, but do you guys have Java updated and running on your browser? Gamejolt needs it, and also launches an application.
You know, that's the only way I have for now for you guys to play it online. I know it's a drag to download a game.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Lovely platformer, but the concept lacked originality. Still, it was very fun, and I beat it!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47am

Very solid little game. The levels were interesting, and in some of them there seemed to be multiple ways to finish. The graphics went along really well with the game, and so did the sound effects.

The one thing that bothered me in this game were the controls: for a fast paced platformer, the keys would get stuck from time to time, and I wouldn't jump when I wanted to, so sometimes controlling the game felt clunky.

Also, I would have loved a windowed mode, but that is personal preference.

Great game, thanks!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48am

(Oh, I will upload a video of me playing your game shortly, please check my journal :-))

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

Straight forward, but nice! Some of the levels seemed way more complicated than they needed to be, though. Specifically, there were were levels with a lot of stuff I ended up ignoring. One level I just jumped down a ledge to the exit, ignoring all of the lasers and reverse volumes entirely. It also would have been fun to see the way gravity shifts and bouncing interact.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

I can't play on my mac :(, It said missing puglin and when I try to download it, only the windows version appear :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Doesn't seem to work so I'll have to try it properly later. Evil Norton won't let me download it :(

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Yeah, Jolt didn't work on my OSX either.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Unfortunately, web version doesn't work for me. No luck.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Gamejolt sadly won't let me play :(

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Hey, another Game Maker programmer! What's up? I like your game, but I repeatedly got stuck in the ceiling by the gravity flippers. I also have an issue with the controls: With a fast paced game like this, why does pressing a button when you get to the finish make any sense? Let alone a button that is RIGHT NEXT to the button that restarts the level... if I were you I would have made touching the green box at the end automatically move to the next level, and moved the restart button a little further away... I like the backspace key for mine myself. Other than tat, I did enjoy showering your levels with pieces of my body! Great success!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Really awesome little plat former love the little character. Level design is great too. :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Awesome! Stylish and smooth gameplay, the glitching background did wonders for the mood.
A simple running animation for the legs would've made it even better.
Great job!

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice little speed-platformer. Great work! :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Finished the whole game, neat platformer speed running game

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I beat it! Woohoo! SUCCESS! I thought the level design was quite nice, though the filter effect in the background made my eyes hurt toward the end. Enjoyed the music too!

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Really nice job. This old school games are awesome

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Some fun mechanics going on here! I am still seeing flashing though :/

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I really liked, but also got stuck sometimes. And in some levels I think I ended up cheating. :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Nice platformer! I liked the scanlines a lot, but the jitteryness on the edges gave me a headache after a while. Also I wish I could press R to restart at any time. Other than that, you had some nicely designed levels, and all the features of a good platforming game :)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19am

Pretty fun overall but maybe borrowed too much from VVVVVV. Also the collision physics were a little wonky- if you touch a gravity reversal square while you are standing on the ground you are flipped and get stuck in the ground, also I found a laser I could stand on without dying. Great music and had fun playing!

link2x101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Simple, but good, graphics and sound, okay use of theme.

Collisions with the walls on the side when falling need work, as they shouldn't affect you, but do.

Nice work!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Solid and smooth platformer! I liked the exit door sound effect.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

pretty cool :)

-ENDESGA

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

Fun little platformer! As many have already said, I seemed to run into the collision issues quite a bit, especially on the last stage. Overall, I had quite a bit of fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

quite fun game, but quite buggy.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

"THE END"
Woha, that was intense. Nice platform mechanic implementations, the only note i can do is the fact that i needed to restart before the timer end, in some situations where i trapped myself.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

For me the web version gets stuck after the loading, when it says game running...

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I am always into dying in a pool of gore. It's kind of my favourite thing to do.

Misfit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Nice game. Game Maker games are sometimes too heavy for my laptop, but I liked this one! good job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Was hard to play this game more than one minute because of background but game looks interesting. Also it could be good to add restart button before player dies.
Good job.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Quite fun but couldn't play for more than 5-10 min, those CRT-scan lines just killed my eyes

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fun little puzzle game. Could be really good with a bit more work!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very smooth controls, and interesting gameplay elements aded as you go. Solid entry for 48 hours!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04am

Very solid mechanics. Very fun, good job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I liked the level design, but the graphics were hurting my eyes and there were some collision problems. Anyway, good little game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]