August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Lost Robos

by almightyzentaco - Jam Entry

Years after the extinction of mankind all life on earth has ended, and the planet has grown cool and still.

But somewhere deep within the earth something is stirring! Help Mankind's creations, the little orphaned Robos, to navigate their way to the surface where the sun can breathe new life into their drained power cells! Each Robo only has TEN SECONDS to act on each level before their power cells run dry. Find a way to overcome the limitations of each individual by working together.

Think. Cooperate. Overcome.



Controls

Arrows to move
X to jump
Z to activate special abilities
UP raises the shield above Robo #3's head.
R to restart the current level
SPACE to pause all Robos and halt their power cells draining
1,2,3,4,5 to select the corresponding Robo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Theme(Jam)3.89
#32Overall(Jam)3.86
#56Innovation(Jam)3.65
#73Fun(Jam)3.53
#84Mood(Jam)3.56
#222Graphics(Jam)3.53
#243Audio(Jam)2.98
#271Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17am

The 'web' version is a bit ... linear!

Seriously, if there's a browser-game-version, I'd love to play it.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice setting and solid gameplay, a tad too hard for me, only made it to "Switchbacks" before giving up.

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Woah, really great work here. Good variety, lots of levels, really cool stuff! Congrats!

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I second what dom2d said - great work. The ten second limit is both a fun addition and a huge stressfactor :D

myachin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Good work! Very nice puzzles, pretty graphics, good levels!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This is a very nice puzzle game! Nice puzzles, and nice to see a game with lots of well designed levels! I really like how you utilized the theme.

N427 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Really good work, the puzzles were great!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very interesting game, though the beginning screen with your company or what it is stays a bit too much if you ask me, other thing is after skipping the intro - because I watched it in Youtube (Very nice one btw, you got like from me!:) ) it seems that the controls get bugged and I cannot move or do what so ever.
Love the art and the idea, good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

The controls aren't bugged, you have to press the corresponding number to activate your robot - number 1 for the main robo.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

If you run out of time you have to press R. I shouldn't have counted on people reading the introduction. Bad conveyance on my part. Ah well, too late now. :D

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

This is awesome! Absolutely loved it. I didn't know how to complete Farewells though, I used 2 to push 1, 3, 4 and 5 up, allowed them to jump on his shield, then pressed his switch, I let 5 do his digging, 4 went and pressed the other switch, but I couldn't find where 3 was meant to go, so I failed :( .

Really amazing though. Great Lost Vikings feel to it (and the grey robot looks really Daft Punky, was that intentional?). Great effort, my most played game this LD.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

This has really good gameplay and I love that Intro sequence!

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

Great, loved playing the lost Vik...er, Robos! :)

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

One of the best I've seen! I love the gameplay and the use of the theme is perfect.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26am

Woah, we used similar concepts. XD
Great work! You should've kept some way to speed up the intro sequence though.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:27am

Really nice piece. Well done.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38am

The graphics are very cohesive and fit a very charming style. It was also very fun! I hope to see you at the top of the charts. Keep up the good work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Great stuff! Very impressive intro and polished feeling. The only thing I couldn't get to work (unfortunately kept me out of the game) was the special abilities... Maybe that's because I am not on a qwerty keyboard, so I'm using a layout switcher... But I could never get the shield raised... :( Still a solid experience, and the trailer was a nice touch!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Hey, thanks for playing! You actually raise the shield by pressing up on the keyboard. I realized the game controls were a little confusing and I didn't do a great job of explaining things. Live and learn though.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57pm

good job

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

When I saw the title, I thought it would be cool if this were inspired by 'The Lost Vikings.' And I was right - it is cool! It's pretty awesome, in fact, with great level design and a nice aesthetic. I really enjoyed playing it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:14pm

If you die make sure you press R! People seem confused and think the game is broken, but really I just wasn't very clear in stating that you ALWAYS HAVE TO PRESS R to restart. Hope that helps.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Nice! Best entry so far :D ... lots of levels! :D graphics are awesome!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

Some very high level of polish here. Great game mechanics and detailing. Good use of theme to boot! Box collision/gravity was a little wonky, and some, erm glitches were afoot: http://screencast.com/t/Ry9t6FmObq

But that didn't stop it from being a super great entry all in all. I completed it all the way through. Some really clever stuff! Hard to believe the length rivals some commercial indie games. Great ending! Great work!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Great puzzles, very enjoyable!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very cool game. Multi-character puzzles have a special place in my heart :) + extra points for the trailer.

How to pass "Not fast enough level"?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I don't want to ruin the levels for anyone by posting here, but if you still want to know you can email me at joshuakoester@gmail.com and I'll help you out. Thanks for playing!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:50am

Nice work, dude!
Really enjoying with puzzles and concept. Also it's a bit similar to my entry, yeah!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Wow, this looks really cool. Unfortunately I can't seem to move :( The enter key seems to work, for skipping text, but nothing else..

Toadpud says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Awesome!

sorceress says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This game has a lot of potential I think. There are lots of possibilities with these mechanics. I like the graphics and the gameplay, and overall I found it enjoyable.

I played the game upto the Elevation level. But the timings on that level felt too tight imo. After failing it by half a second several times over, I'm afraid I lost interest in trying again.

This kind of game would benefit from the player being able to select the level they want to play, so they aren't forced to try and fail the same level over and over. eg, if there were 64 levels organised into 8 tiers, and you have to complete half of the levels in tier N before tier N+1 is unlocked.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Thanks for playing! If done right things should be fairly easy to complete. You are most likely missing a few key ways to save time. The game is less about execution and more about what you do with each Robo. For example you can push Robos with Robo 3 to give them more time in the level.

Again, thanks for playing! Glad you enjoyed it.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I love the concept of this game, it's pretty innovative. The levels use the game mechanics in a cleer way. Good job! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I like the graphics, sound and general atmosphere. I think it is a good game and I might come back when I have more patience but the controls are driving me mad. I'm guessing I have to raise the shield above robo 3's head so robo 1 can jump on him, but I keep messing up because of the control system. There are so many different buttons spread alround the keyboard. You make it way more complicted then it has to be. Anyway I think it's a problem that easely fixed, then it would be fun to play.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:10pm

My roommate would agree with you Dream of Sleeping. If I work on it after the compo I'll tweak it, but for now it is what it is. Sorry you found it so frustrating, but thanks for trying it out.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Really clever mechanic and great puzzles. Looks fantastic too, love the gears in the background and the intro.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:29am

One of the best I have played. If you work on this after the compo you should change up the controls, I didn't find them frustrating just a bit unintuitive. Space or up to jump and number keys toggle power on/off maybe would of worked better.(I found myself pressing these key while playing XD). I absolutely loved this game. The puzzles were awesome, and all the characters have good personality to them (Even though that maybe unintentional). A very solid entry overall.

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:22am

Amazing entry!
It feels really complete with even an intro and ending.

The mechanic was really nice and, at fist, reminded me of Lost Vikings (also because of number 2 and 3).

The last level was great! It somewhat felt like a farewell for leaving each robot in it's own button.

Also, a tip about controls. Something I find useful to do (but was never able during a compo xD) is to create customizable controls. (though I didn't have trouble with the controls)

Great job! :D

Almax27 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:38pm

That's actually really cool. I love the old skool puzzle element. My brain had trouble getting used space not being jump but then I'm horribly conditioned to it.

This is certainly a game I'd play in my own time. The art and the great intro suits the game but also shows how important these elements are.

P.S Chromatic aberration FTW. :D

- Zubrowka

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]