August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hunger Clock, Literally

by Vaughn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hunger Clock, Literally is a fast-paced, retro, Spelunky-like platformer where you must eat ALL the apples in the map. Maps are randomized and are different every time you win or lose. You start with three power-ups.

Eating apples will reset your hunger clock back to 10 seconds. Additionally, destroying orange blocks can make you gain a second, while falling on spikes will make you lose a second. You have 3 different power-ups, each with different effects that are consumed on use. You can collect more power-ups by finding them in the orange blocks randomly.

Power-ups:
Explosion (1): Destroy a radius of blocks around your character.
Jetpack (2): Causes you fly up for some time. You cannot stop this effect until it runs out.
Blocks (3): Spawn a series of blocks above you.

Controls:
WASD, Arrow Keys, Spacebar, 1, 2, 3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#31Fun3.89
#93Overall3.68
#94Theme3.76
#109Graphics3.84
#145Mood3.40
#219Humor2.96
#479Audio2.69
#508Innovation3.03

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Wow, this is really great. It took me a minute to realize that the orange blocks contained powerups, but once I had that down, my runs went a lot smoother. It's a lot of fun, good job.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

I had a lot of fun with this one. I think there's a lot of potential to expand this idea into something bigger, too.

orillian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Love the rocket!

Simple, simple game but dang it's hard.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

Very good. You must continue and improve this game, it could make success in the mobile market. You got an additional bonus for made it pure javascript so it can run in any platform.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I love how juicy this game is!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

great game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

You've got an excellent little platformer going here! This is pretty much exactly the game I failed to make ;)

I like how you equated health with time, so the player can choose to trade one for the other. Makes for interesting snap decisions.

The randomized maps are decent enough, and make the game quite addictive. Overall, a very solid entry.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I like the color palet a lot, it makes the game so cute. Nice job on the gameplay though :3

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

This is fun! I made it to the bottom (nothing after that?). Also, I don't really like the while (SPACE_PRESSED) jump thing. I think most people are used to Mario where pressing space means you leave receive an upward impulse.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

@bonsairobo You actually need to collect all the apples to the win. I should of made that more clear. The jumping definitely needs some more tweaking. I choose to use dynamic jump height like in the earlier Mario games, but there's a couple weird things about it like I mentioned in my blog post: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/hunger-clock-literally-post-mortem/

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

This is so much fun! :D The character is very cute and the pixel art style is fantastic.. very well done. :) One of my favorites so far, rated this one very highly! :D

dlowe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

Fun! The jumping felt a little off, and I couldn't figure out how to consistently break blocks. I am impressed :)

orillian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

@dlowe if you do the Mario and headbutt the block from below it breaks, or stand on it for a second. Your choice!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22am

Simple and nice )

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25am

This is a ton of fun! the art is freaking amazing!:D

I love the smooth camera movement, nice job:)

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28am

Ah, I guess form reading the other comments, orange blocks give you powerups, but I didn't know that and finally managed to beat it without using any :) It was a fun play--remind be of old NES games--simple concept, but takes persistence to master.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Well done! The little chirp when you hit a spike is adorable and the gameplay is well-designed. Definitely one of the better games I've played so far.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Nice little platformer and beautiful colors.

Like said before, I didn't immediately understand that I have to collect all the apples, and this can be a bit difficult once you fell down :)

But in any case, nice entry.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very cool game, I really like the cute graphic style. Mobile port?

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Will post video review soon enough

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

Hunger awesomeness :D Pretty good game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

Graphics are very good. Nice.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:16am

The colors are awesome. The super skill jumps are great too. I played this a lot! it was great. thanks for making it. I had a lot of fun.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Vaughn I have something specially for you :D http://i.imgur.com/TEDcTpO.png

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Gonna come back to this one and finish it :) Excellent work!

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very nice game, liked the look and feel of it. It could use a little more explanation in-game though. Keep it up, good job!

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

I looooved the art and colors in this game, and it controlled really well, too. I wasn't able to get all 20 apples, but I got 19 :)

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Quite enjoyed playing this game, it had a simple premise but kept me entertained for quite a while! I look forward to seeing where you end up taking this in the future and I will go back to it and manage to get all 20!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Definitely inspired by Spelunky, which is a good thing of course. The movement felt a bit awkward and slow at first, so that could still be worked on.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:16am

Snappy controls and nice graphics. I like the dithering!

The gameplay itself works well, but I am bit confused about what the goal is. Is it really eating all the apples? I think that might be nearly impossible with gravity and sometimes multiple huge gaps in the level. Is it living as long as possible? I see no timer.

The sound and the face the character makes when touching a spike is possible the cutest thing ever! (Well, except kittens of course.)

I'm missing music! If you want to generate chiptunes, I think you'd go well with:
- Generating a midi with http://abundant-music.com
- Rendering the midi with http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley-SanJose/8700/P/GsorigE.htm

So, all in all, I felt a bit aimless, but I had fun. Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:48pm

@TobiasW Thanks for the resources for music, I have never seen this tool before. As I noticed, many players don't read the help section at all, or the description. I really should of provided the instructions and goals in the game. So far, I noticed players don't know about:

They start with three of the power-ups already.
The orange blocks give you a second, the spikes take one.
They have to get ALL the apples in the map.
All maps are beatable due to power-ups. I can beat 90% of the maps I play. The rest are stupid mistakes which cause an un-winnable situation (like going down to the bottom with no jetpack).

Lessons learned: Developers/designers think tutorializing is lame, but this is a perfect example of how it's needed, or at least a lot of on-screen instructions.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Not so much to say, It's a really good game,
I can't finish it though,
I didn't succeed to obtain any powerup, every time I destroy a orange box, it just give me one second.
That random placement of apples are sometimes impossible to reach.
I will give one more try soon :)

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:35am

This game feels good to play and the art is excellent. I think this game would be irresistible with some music!

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:06am

That was really good! The controls could be better (what's with the powerups at 1, 2, 3?) but it's not so bad that it takes the fun away. Played it a couple of times, my record was 57s!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]