August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Invasion

by Jamie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixel invasion is about picking up weapons and shooting pixelated aliens. with bullets.

Controls:
WASD to move
left mouse button to shoot

note:
If the game moans about DLL's you most likely need the VS2012 redist, that you can grab here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=30679

My repo: https://github.com/jamiealanmassey

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#206Humor3.00
#266Fun3.30
#351Mood3.00
#383Overall3.23
#465Audio2.71
#868Graphics2.37
#912Theme2.72
#919Innovation2.45

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Super job good Jamster! I love the audio and the surrealist graphics. You've got everything that full game needs - humor, action, title screen, easy to understand. Polish this some more and you've got a fine game on your hands. +1 interents

berkano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Madness! Great fun, nice job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Excellent work, enjoyed playing this one! Rated it highly, lots of fun! :D

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Those pixel monsters are legitimately frightening, lol. All twitchy and glowing. Enjoyed blastin'em up, fun game! Maybe too many health packs though, at one point I had an absurd amount of health.

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Sometimes weapons would spawn out of reach and I had usually no worries for health. But good on you anyway!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10am

Ah, you had the same problem with VS2012 on other computers... Gah!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I BEAT YOUR HIGHSCORE AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I BEAT YOUR HIGHSCORE AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH.

But really though, great game! Very addictive and fun. The graphics where not the best but they where very interesting and colorful. The sound was also nice.

Great job!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great entry! I loved the music and quirky graphics! The game is really fun and makes you play a lot more than you would have expected. 4/5!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

Kind of funny, died when I ran out of ammo. Health seems to never be an issue.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:16pm

A bold game, great music

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Funny game :) Nice job!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:17am

Can't play windows games. :-(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]