August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TrI-Deca

by futuristteletex - Jam Entry

My dear TRIANGLEHEAD/s,
There is a 10 second clock in the sky. I don't know why.. So you better collect more time.. (I really can't rhyme..)

Summary of Gameplay:
Worms..! worms! & more worms! HEY! Watch out for that idiot bird! Oh no! Stuck in the mud! Better shrink down through that door.. MIND that gap!

Make your way to the end of the level by collecting time, jumping and "shrinking". Get the hidden'ish trophies and you are extra special!

Controls:
UP or W "Jump";
DOWN or S "Shrink";

HAVE FUN TRIANGLEHEADS!

Credits:
Art: Brian Callahan (@futuristteletex)
Programming: Abel Toy (@abel_toy)
Music: Rekcahdam (@rekcahdam)

Special Thanks to..
THE INSTIGATOR: Kevin Drew (@UndergroundPixl)
Akeru (for his awesome-ness)
Ashley (for her support and encouragement)

NOTES:
This was my.. (Brian C)'s first game jam ever! I really enjoyed myself.. and quite pleased with what Abel and i made! .. time for sleeps now..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#31Fun(Jam)3.73
#48Overall(Jam)3.78
#78Graphics(Jam)4.13
#88Theme(Jam)3.57
#104Mood(Jam)3.47
#110Audio(Jam)3.42
#146Humor(Jam)2.96
#347Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

Sloth Jesus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

This was one of the prettier entries. Now correct me if I am wrong but was the game decreasing or increasing in difficulty based on my performance? If so that is really awesome.

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

This is innovation for me, most runners games don't rely on time to win.
What else can I say? The game is beautiful, have a good set of levels and the music is pleasing, but not for that long.
Great game overall!

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

I like the art style, very adorable.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03am

Was very amusing, love the art/music.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

I really like the graphic style, the game play is great too. Would like to see where this goes :)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Wonderful graphics, I wish I could do this!
Good gameplay and great mood.
WHO HAD THE GREAT IDEA THE PUT THE SPEED BOOSTER NEXT TO A GAP?? :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14am

thanks for the comments so far! makes me very happy =).. we plan on working on it more!.. glad people like the art/gameplay!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

This game is interesting and creative. I like the graphics. They are quite cute. Good game!!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

I love the visuals, very retro. the overall mood of the game is quite well done, and the gameplay is deliciously frustrating. Good Job, sirs.

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57am

Very nice graphics and music!

I love the variety in the world! I'm not sure the pits really add much -- I feel like the time limit is what keeps it interesting, most of all, and sudden gameovers are kind of a bummer (although the instant restart makes the damage feel not-so-bad).

Add a summary/game over screen and track my high score, and this would have a lot of addiction potential. ;]

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

So... Polished... Soo... Shiny! I love the music:3
has just the right amount of diffivulty to make it interesting. I dig it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Nice art, music and gameplay!

nanotech says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:43am

The worms! The gaps! Argh!

The ducking mechanic is fun though. Spiffy pixel art and soundtrack too.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

Really great art, like the music as well.

Took me a while to think about sliding through the mud, was that how that worked?

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Wow, this is some great stuff! Love the colors + mystical graphics. Got me hooked!

dom2d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:46am

Epic music, gorgeous game (THOSE COLORS!!!), fun too! SFX would have been great, but whatever :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02pm

yea there was a few things we would have loved to have gotten in, but there wasnt enough time since we didnt work on it on monday.. so what's there we are real happy with! thanks for the comments so far.. hope we get more =)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Graphics a pretty damn cool and the music is nice, would be cool if it were a bit more varied though. Awesome job!

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

This is my favorite entry so far. Awesome job. The shrink move cracks me up.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This was funny... I'm reacting a little to slow for today... need some sleep :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:59am

Great effort and style. I liked it and played maybe 10 levels? Got to about the level past the first jump pads and stopped. Just got too hard and I think was tuned for the developers vs normal people :) Great job, though.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

The art drew me here, I really dig it! Made me want to finish the game. But it got very frustrating! Controls are good though. I also like the music, it fits really well!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Love the look and vibe, gameplay isn't super deep but I won't front: If I wasn't committed to making a tower defense game, this exact game probably would've been what i'd come up with for this theme.

Kudos!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

Really dig the art style, the worm or snake things were cute :D Nice running game, some jumps were set up bit too difficult way, but I liked the gameplay a lot. The music is great and really adds to the mood.

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nicely done. I love the art style and unique protagonist. Very clever way to show the countdown timer.

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very funny to play even if I can t finish it ! :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:07am

Love the art and music. Great Entry!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

Reminds me of Bit Trip Runner, nice. Although the collectibles as always make me not enjoy the game as I obsess over getting them.

Shugor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

This was a fun game, and I especially liked how it could be finished easily with a bit of practice/memorization. Each level made great use of the mechanics, and it got even more interesting when the paths began to branch from each other. A stage select screen would be nice; I kept finishing levels after missing a few trophies, so it would be easier if I could just go to any one at will. Great job on the game otherwise~

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

@Shugor: A level select screen was in progress but we weren't able to finish it in time.

We also had a boss almost finished, but we didn't have time to completely finish it either :(

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Funny game.good job

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great art and very fun game!
I really enjoyed the game. :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:47am

I couldn't seem to play. The screen just flickered and then turned white. :(

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:55am

thats really strange.. not sure whats up with that.. i just tried after you posted worked for me.. maybe something on your end? not sure..

panurge says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

Lots of fun with a really nice atmosphere! The smooth controls reminded me of Canabalt and I could see myself whiling away time with this on an ipad. Good work!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Yeahhh... this is great. That pixel art is so nice - great palette. I kept finding myself trying to hold down jump a bit harder to squeeze out a liiiiil' extra distance - it would be cool if this was a feature.

Great stuff, great stuff.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:00am

Smooth and slick! Really fun to play!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:00am

I liked this a lot. Good graphics and fun, simple gameplay.

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Very nice looking and playing runner game :D Really liked it

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:05am

Wasn't a big fan of the music, but it had solid controls and nice pixelart. :)

Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:22pm

The game is simple but works well, and I love the atmosphere. The trianglehead character is perfect :)

r1sc says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really great, easily the best entry so far :) This should be on mobile.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Love the character design!
But hate "pixel edge jumps"

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Cool runner! Love the way the difficulty increases.

tigerj says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:20pm

music and gameplay we exceptional. an all around fun and challenging experience.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:03am

really clever use of theme and beautiful artwork

Canyon says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:10am

I liked the art style and how the time was represented. The pixel perfect jumping was a little frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]