August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deep

by tamy - Jam Entry

Its finally done!! As we said before we are a group of students and we decided we should try to do something for ludum dare...It's not exactly the way we want it yet so we are thinking about re-posting it tomorrow if we manage to fix some things. The visual as I said before is kinda different from what we usually do,but we are happy with the way it looks...The game is a little strange and the concept isn't in your face but we hope you like it,we've put a lot of effort into this and we had a lot of fun. Thanks for all the support and good luck to all of you.

If you wanna see:

http://youtu.be/CTaRBEqWwvM

Because planning never is wasted time: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2ISY03wW4BhX3FhYUlNZk5LREE/edit

Ahh! One more thing, you need to discover the password and insert it on the box. Not collect it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.63
#41Mood(Jam)3.78
#59Innovation(Jam)3.63
#78Theme(Jam)3.61
#140Audio(Jam)3.31
#245Overall(Jam)3.21
#346Humor(Jam)2.20
#462Fun(Jam)2.47

Comments

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

fantastic visual style, but the controls are slippery and it's kinda glitchy, so even though i would like to see more of the world it becomes to frustrating as it is now.

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

Had a hard time with the controls, but the graphics are really good!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

Strange worlds, it's fun exploring them.

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

Great Art, very psychadelic too :)
Just wanted to say that seems to have some bugs when jumping to some platforms; the protagonist of the dream (nice, huh?) gets stuck.
And sorry, but I didn't really understood what's the main goal and where should I go in the scene. I just kept goin up untill I find the clock.

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

Inception ! :)

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

Really great mood and aesthetic, but controls and physics were pretty glitchy.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

this is good :3

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

Inception gameplay!

The controls are a bit floaty, but mad props for the idea, weirdness and all.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Beautiful visuals, good audio that really fits the mood (no one got credit for the audio? :) ), interesting Inception-like gameplay. I got stuck pretty quickly though... I would immediately go to the third level and get both clocks, but I couldn't figure out how to get past that giant bird (if it's even possible) and if I went up a level I couldn't clear the platforming in the second layer fast enough. I think the platforming might be improved a bit if the player character were smaller.

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

Thank you guys...yes we had inception as a reference. I'm really glad you guys got the idea,the gameplay still has some flaws as some of you said but we are planning on fixing it!

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

I like this idea a lot, would love to see it expanded into a full game. I thought that collisions were a bit off with moving platforms.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

The graphics were really cool, and basing the switching-layers mechanism on inception means it's not so hard to describe. However I couldn't figure out what the goal was - I kept dying and the character was hard to control.

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

Mood is amazing, love the weirdness of it all. Player movement needs to be tightened a bit.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00am

Interesting game. I love the player animation and the scenes.

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

As for the goal,you need to find out what the password is.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43am

nice game, why you did not mention the "Down" key previously ? it takes a while to understand it :)

7heSAMA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

like others have said, it's got style but the controls, physics, and general like of polish (animations not playing properly, for instance) are a pretty big turn off. I only got to the third level once before I quit, didn't want to go through those sky platforms again.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00am

Absolutely beautiful art, I wish I didn't have to fight the controls while exploring this intriguing game.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

Very cool graphic and art style. The collision system make me ragequit, and i really liked the "inception" idea" and i want to try more :(

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Amazing visuals.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Wonderful art and fun to explore dreams but with stiff controls.

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Some improvements have been made on the controls and more clear instructions were added too. Hope you enjoy it.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:50am

It really looked stunning, but I had to give up after awkwardly falling off the platforms in the second world twenty times in a row. The fairly long message screen every time I died became frustrating, as I just wanted to get in and try again immediately.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:33am

It's kinda confusing, but very cool idea and awesome art!
Great job guys!

tamy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

Thanks fred,you're the best!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32am

Great visuals and mood! The collision code might use a bit of tweaking, I kept getting stuck on the sides of platforms. Great work though!

tamy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48am

@savethejets1 thank you very much! We are working on the collisions,I'm really glad you liked it,it's really appreciated.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Good use of the theme. I love the art style and mood. Character control and physics need some improvement.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:09am

Well done. I liked it. I loved the visuals, very interesting.

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33am

This game is gorgeous and such an interesting take on the 10 seconds theme. The controls were a bit tough to use, though.

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:44am

Interesting, fresh idea ! but hard to controll the player. and where was the code? in QR ?

Gnux says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:57am

Very nice graphics!

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Thought the art and ambiance was great. We considered the "inception" idea too. Nice work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very cool game. I enjoyed it very much, sort of scary-yet fun. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:35pm

well, Your game isnt scary at all- sorry about that, thought I was commenting on a different game that I also featured in that video. Deep is very cool, but some what glitchy. I did like the fact that each level wasnt just 10 seconds long but more of several levels of each 10 seconds. Its great!

fgielow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Really like the visual, and the Inception concept. But the level design and the colliders for the platform movements are very frustrating.
But really good entry.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

Love the visuals :) Couldn't quite figure out what to do D: I figure I have to find something on the sky layer to put on the other layer, but I couldn't find anything ;[

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:10am

Really cool art, really cool gameplay design. You guys should definitely consider expanding on this idea and polishing it up a bit. With some control tweaks and a bit of fine-tuning on the difficulty I think this game would definitely get a lot of attention.

tamy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:39am

Thanks everyone! your comments are very appreciated,we thank you all for playing our game and making suggestions on what should be improved,we will certainly work on those.

tamy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:44am

@Atmospherium Thank you VERY much,we're glad you liked our game. We will definetely try to make something more polished out of it,thanks again for your comment and support.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

Great job, really

fferro234 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:27am

Great visuals. Like other have said the collision is kind of rough at places. This is a great idea though, and a post ludum dare version with a slightly slower clock (or more time in each world) would be awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]