August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PolyBlade

by nastynate - Jam Entry

An action-arcade game inspired by Smash TV where your weapon has a mind of its own.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Left Click - Attack

Programmed in Lua with Love2D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#200Fun(Jam)3.14
#218Graphics(Jam)3.55
#315Humor(Jam)2.33
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#381Innovation(Jam)2.76

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

Cool solid game. Got pretty hard real quick but still fun :) Reached level 12. Not sure if that's good or bad aha!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

On MacOS X 10.8.4, I get "PolyBlade cannot be opened because of a problem. Check with the developer to make sure PolyBlade works with this version of OS X."

CarmineGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19am

Hard too see the action with the distracting backdrop

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

Really smooth and fun gameplay!

nastynate says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

I'm sorry if there are problems with the OSX distro, I don't have OSX nor do I know anybody who does so I wasn't able to test it. I followed the instructions from Love2D but I will look into it.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Fun, little tricky playing a SmashTV/Total Carnage style with short range attacks =P

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

well that was fun -- nice graphics and plenty of action -- gret job

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

The animation and art was good. But the font for reading wasn't easy on the eyes. Pretty cool overall!

JALgames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Weird conroll. Don't know if it is because of my laptop but the mosue stops moving when I press any key in this game.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

With the lack of controls explanation and objective info, I actually didn't realise that mouse clicks attacked. I got to Level 33 by just kiting enemies around.

It's a nice little 2D game once such things were figured out though.

nastynate says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47am

@JALgames It's definitely your laptop. That's a common feature in laptops to make sure you don't accidentally click the trackpad while typing.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:57am

I really liked this one. Really really really fun!!

link2x101 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

Fullscreen should always be an option when the mouse is used in this way...

Either way, nice graphics, loved the talkative character.
The game was very smooth and precise and the short range was a very interesting twist.

It suffered from the lack of sound.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:02am

Also having trouble on mac, will try from source in a moment.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08am

For people on MacOS, if you have the LÖVE engine downloaded, you can just zip the contents of the folder, rename the archive.zip to <anything>.love, and then run that.

Quite a nice game!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53am

Very cool idea. The game feels kinda empty; some music would be good. The graphics were good, but I think the player should have stood out better from the background. Nice!

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Cool graphic, but actoin is ordinary.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I like it. Nice work with the graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]