August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kitty Force 10

by Raiyumi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a Kitty in the special "Kitty Force" Run 'n Gun platformer. Your task is to save the world within 10 seconds! And wait.. what!? What's that Guru Kitty up to?

If audio is out of sync, try refreshing.

This is my first "Successful" attempt at Ludum Dare, and was an awesome experience. I'm looking forward to the next one. :)

Update: Fixed ending bug. It would automatically kick you to the main menu. (Web link updated)

Update2: Uploaded fixed ver. to Win32. Added OSX.

Update3: New web-link. Added game to my site.

----------

PS: I didn't define the controls properly, but if you hover your cursor over the bottom-left, the controls will appear.
Default = Arrows, z, x


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Graphics4.21
#59Overall3.81
#64Fun3.72
#74Audio3.58
#141Mood3.41
#219Humor2.96
#328Theme3.39
#763Innovation2.70

Comments

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

This is totally awesome!

soybean says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

omg, slick graphics and gameplay! <3<3<3

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Some of the level design is a little bit broken. One part, I kept on going straight from a checkpoint into a wheel of death.

soybean says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

btw, I wonder why some of the clocks that I pick don't reset the timer? Is it intentional?

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Thanks! The game is pretty short, so I didn't want people breezing pass it.. Unless you mean some game breaking level design.

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Oh, the clocks that have a slight pulse reset the entire timer. The rest just +1.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

these graphics are fucking amazing, love the game too

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Very fun, solid controls

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

Some of those obstacles were notoriously hard to avoid.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Wow it's hard to believe such great graphics could be made in 48 hours along with a whole game as well. The gameplay is fluid enough and run n' gun games are always fun. Very nice work!

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Groovy! lol loved it!

Eirikir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

Awesome art! and loved the sound and music!

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

Great game!!

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

Super cool, don't even need to say why.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Man, some games just leave ya feeling intimidated by their awesomeness. This is one of them. Major polish here. Beautiful controls. Smile-inducing graphics. Superb!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Love the graphics, good gameplay, got a little frustrating when having to jump on tiny bouncy dots.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

A nice platformer, but I felt that the time limit was arbitrary and this could have been made or adapted for any theme. The graphics and music were good. Slightly confusing at the start when told to "Press Start" - I ended up mashing the keyboard to find the right key!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Awesome platformer! Great sound effects, music and graphics! It's fun to play and fits the theme very well. The best game I played so far.

calpolhouse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Very nice, graphics esp. impressive

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

I see kitty guru. But no reactions on click or key press. :(

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03am

Stunning visuals and art style, really enjoyed playing this. Rated this one highly. :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:05am

I would love to play this without the time limit, not sure how well the game integrates with the 10 seconds limit. Still, seriously polished visuals and audio. Outstanding job!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

I see kitty guru. But no reactions on click or key press.

Metatheos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

Solid platformer, not too experimental though. I liked some traces of 'life vs. time'-trade-off coming through because of the asymmetry in their availability. The whole presentation is also great. One thing I wondered: is there any use for the ability to shoot upwards?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

Good graphics, good music, really smooth controls. Solid game.

The bad part: after I fall on a spike pit, I'm pretty much dead, since I couldn't jump out of it.

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58am

Thanks for the comments!

@BloodJohn : Text should advance by clicking X.

@Methatheos : There was going to be a lot more use for the gun, but I was stressed with the deadline.

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

So artsy!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

Very catchy graphics for a very nice platformer. My only real critique is that some of the areas were frustratingly difficult, especially bouncing on the dots.

You did a really great job overall.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

Pretty slick game ya got here.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

So awesome and smooth. So envious of the art. Ya, the bouncing dots did me in too. :(

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19am

Dude this so intense!

Graphics are amazing. And I love how at the end, you're really thinking "I can afford to jump through two of those razor blades if it'll save me a couple of seconds" :P . Epic game.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

Great secondary animations on all the characters. This game was super tough. Good job!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

Great entry, i love the visual style.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

Web link doesn't work. Game under judgement or something like this.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34am

Kitty Force 10? Excellent Name!

Solid platformer too :)

bombjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15am

Great gfx! Great sound that serves the action! ==> Great game!!!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

"You have ten seconds to save the world, if you can reach checkpoint i can give you more time!" <-- this a little disappointed me.. Just a little, it doesn't matter, this game have KITTENS! Really nice sprite animation.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Totally fun! Nice graphics and gameplay. My beef is with the camera/screen size. Sometimes it's impossible to coordinate yourself correctly due to not being able to see the threat below you.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:36pm

A little difficult, but overall this is really cool. I think the look and feel of it are excellent; the graphics are good and the gameplay is slick. It's very impressive for 48hrs

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice artstyle, fun game!

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Thanks all! The game also got featured on Newgrounds! :)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great controls, love the idea and the funny plot.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Gorgeous. Loved it! Enemies are a bit too hard to defeat (I wouldn't normally complain but there's a time limit, so it's not like I can just spend all day to shoot one enemy down) and took me a life (in-game) to figure out how to jump, but it's a REALLY AWESOME game. Extremely polished! Simple idea but insanely well executed. :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39am

Kitty force? Yeah, I think so. Well done :0)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

Not bad.... But with that kind of controls, bounding box and camera hardcore as hell... Can't beat place where you need jump on jumping points.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41am

Fun though i think music would help.

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50am

Very great game! Awesome!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:45am

Really fun platformer, I enjoyed it to the end!

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35am

You made it in 48 hours? Amazing!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great game! Really liked the graphics and audio and the general gameplay and feel. Difficulty was also about right, until I got to the bouncing dots, which was pretty frustrating. Not because of the dots themselves, but because the timelimit at that point demanded perfect execution and I just couldn't accomplish that. :(

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Really nice game, pretty impressive that you managed to complete it in 48 hours!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Very nice graphics and solid gameplay. I really enjoyed this game. My only issue was I felt like it went from a nice difficulty to very hard almost instantaneously at one point. A slightly nicer difficulty curve would have helped. Other than that though, the game is almost flawless.

Great job!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice graphics and I like the music. The gameplay is cool too. All in all, a neat little action platformer.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Solid game,nothing to say! I really love graphics and I have a lot of fun with it, but 10 seconds limit looks more a nuisance than a feature.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Graphics and audio were top notch. Game design was smooth and enjoyable. Great work.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Really nice art for this platform game. Jumping is hard sometimes, and it's a classic idea for 10 seconds. Good job!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I really like this! Great work! :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

made it to the saws on a line. all around good game. graphics, animation, gameplay.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Awesome game! Gameplay was smooth and graphics good!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:29am

This is great platforming! It's quite tricky, especially those fast-moving traps. Nice work on the backgrounds too!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

This is awesome. Very polished, very nicely done, love the little kitty cat. Great job! I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

This is great fun! Will have to come back to complete later :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Haha! Amazing! Very meatboy-ish, and very retro. If I had a game like that on my ZX spectrum back in the day, I would be in heaven!!

Raiyumi you rock! 5 stars for fun and mood!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Very good graphics and gameplay. Full package! Good job!

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Solid side scroller good job! I like the simple style.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36am

I love the graphics and animation! The audio also fits perfectly.

I feel like this game would be much better without the 10 seconds limit.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Kitty nice) Good sound, interesting levels!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:08am

That kitty's cute! I like this game though it's hard, it's still fun.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very good kitten related entry. Rather hard game, but very well done!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:29am

really nice job! I like the graphics a lot. I'm impressed!

Idovoodoo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:29am

Loved this, well done!! :)

syawqy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:32am

cute!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:33am

Here, have all my fives, you did very well with this! :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Running, jumping, spikes. Been there, done that.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I'm very envious of your superior kitten-themed ten second platformer. :'(

More seriously; that was great. I loved the visual style and can't believe how much polish you were able to fit into it. The music worked well and it was nice to see you incorporate such a variety of mechanics.

I just wish it was slightly more forgiving. From the saw blades and on it got rather punishing, and the dots gave me over fifteen minutes of grief.

That aside, amazing job. All hats off, congratulations! :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:46am

Awesome lively pixel art! Super stylish!

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Awesome! It's been a while since I've played a truly challenging platformer like this. I wish the camera panned lower for the long section with the orbs over the spikes, for some reason that part took me a while. Great art and music too! :D

nSun says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice game, metroid-like. Most parts of gameplay (physic, controls, gfx, sfx) works very well. But I think the mobs are a bit too strong. since we only have 10 seconds per section, it is quite disadvantageous to spend an entire second to eliminate one of them.

Jason says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Wow great job! Checkpoints were a nice touch as were having multiple hit points. Sometimes the enemies felt a bit tough (like they took alot of hits to kill) but that just added to the sense of urgency and trying to avoid them if possible.

zequack says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice game !
the bumper hitbox is unforgiving though, so the it gets really frustrating at a point (the bumpers over the spike pit). That's mostly because the camera doesn't show where they are and that really changes into a death an retry game.

Otherwise that's cool !

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very well performed platformer. And very hard as well. Shooting close to an enemy was hazard, while there ware plenty of places that was in need..

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Really nice game but not sure about the gun, I ended up just dodging every enemies as it was more time saving :)

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Just splendid! and it has kittehz!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:26pm

At the part with those thin platforms, when I was under it and then jumped through it from beneath, I thought I was going to be on the platform by the look of the animation. I wasn't, so getting on those thin platforms are a bit of a challenge.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Graphics and music are well done, I struggled a bit with the chosen key for jumping.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Practically a fully polished finished game? How do you do it?
Very nice, I especially loved the animations.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:26am

This was fun and exciting! Love the graphics. Seems like it would flow better if shooting enemies took less bullets, but you might have done that for difficulty matters. Also, jumping while running on some of the slopes doesn't work sometimes.


Groovy.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:02am

Perfect platforming controls and great art. Was fun to play.

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Great controls and awesome graphics! The music was also very well done. I wish the resolution wasn't so small though. Great job!

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:10am

Nice graphics and gameplay, a bit hardcore for me :)

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Super polished (and super hard) game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]