August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

VIP

by Unept - Jam Entry

PROTECT THE VIP:
In this sardonic bodyguard simulator, you have 10 seconds to prepare before the VIP arrives. Can you protect him? Will you take a bullet? Will there be collateral damage? (YES) Is that a LUMBERJACK ASSASSIN?

INSTRUCTIONS:
- Use W,A,S,D to control the bodyguard with the green marker.
- Drag and drop other bodyguards to strategic positions.

TOOLS: Stencyl, Adobe Fireworks, Audacity
MUSIC: Wayfarer by morgantj, ccmixter.org

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and 2nd ever "finished" game. It was a blast.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#29Innovation(Jam)3.82
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#85Overall(Jam)3.58
#98Humor(Jam)3.27
#164Audio(Jam)3.21
#212Theme(Jam)3.28
#219Mood(Jam)3.12
#353Graphics(Jam)3.02

Comments

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22am

I loved this game! pretty slow-paced, but still very entertaining, and I really appreciated how original it was (:

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23am

Ha! Nice one w/ the outhouse.

I liked this overall, but it was frustrating that agents would shoot each other and/or the VIP. It also feels like any skill involved w/ playing the game is heavily overshadowed by luck.

Still, I feel like there's a seed of something awesome in there. :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Loved the art style and the mechanics. It gets really difficult! Or I just suck at protecting people.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

Love the blocky figures of the characters! Following the vip is quite thrilling too, and the fact that you can complete the level even when you are killed is great (that's what bodyguards are for, anyway)

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Neat game! Clowns are always evil!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

If it was a bit faster, this would have been my favorite game in this ludum dare. I loved loved loved it though!

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

LUMBERJACK! Ha. Nice game. I gotta stop playing on my mac. This trackpad isn't fast enough for strategery!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

I died for this politician! He better not be corrupt ;) Fun game, have seen this sort of game before.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22am

Wow this is fantastic. My game is similar to this but very different in execution. Love the strategy you added to this concept.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

I really liked this game. I wish it had more depth please keep working on it after the judging ends. I'd really like to see it extended.

I also really like that music.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

Haha Thanks for playing my game! I had to go back to yours and show my friends, one of my favorites of this jam so far. Since we lost a little Whitney Houston this year its only right to put a little more into the soundtrack ;)

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

Funny game, the strategic concept of placing the guards at good positions is very well made. Also the music fits well. For future updates, you could let the player stay with the amount of guards left. In other words, if a guard was knocked out a level before, you have one man less for the next round, which would increase the difficulty.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

This was actually pretty good! A nice twist on the TD genre I guess. :) The music did not get annoying and the speed of the game was just perfect. It was fun to jump in front of a bullet (or axe). Loved it! :)

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

I enjoyed it, I would have kept playing if there were more levels, so I guess it is fun!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Enjoyed playing the game. Very unique game play. nice simplistic graphics and cool audio.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Great little game. Funny, clever, good use of theme, fun to play. Nice one.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Neat little game. I like the minimalistic visuals and smooth music. I think, I sometimes managed to run into my own guys bullet. The gameplay was a bit repetitive, but still fun.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

You did it very well, fantastic game, I want to see post-compo version of it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Yeah, I totally loved playing this. Great mechanic, favourite moment was a sudden cry of "clown!" and everyone scrambling and then I took a pie in the face

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I really like this! It's cool that the level can be completed after the player "dies".

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Haha love the concept and its really fun! Great job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Fun concept! Played pretty well for me. Didn't get the guards to shoot each other or the VIP. Nice work! I found the ending hilarious.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31am

Wow ! One of the best gameplay I played ! Really funny ending too ;) Great game, good job ! Please, add more levels !

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Ahah very good idea that fits the theme :)
The ending made me laugh too

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Interesting game, would have been nice to see more levels and challenges

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

fantastic aesthetic and awesomely quirky concept. great job!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

I really like this game :) Well made, and I look forward to more features being added into it!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

haha.. pretty fun! liked the concept alot and enjoyed it.. be interested to see what else could be done with the concept if you decided to work on it more after the jam.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

I found this from the comments on the Mr President game. I really liked it man! It's pretty hillarious accidently getting shot by your own agents though hahah. Really cool game!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

The is amazing, very very good entry! I love the art style and music. Rated this highly. :)

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Nice use of the theme. I like the concept and who you manage to work it.
Well done

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

This was really fun and a very interesting and original idea.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

minimalistic and well executed in almost every way. not very challenging, but the difficulty curve was good so if you choose to extend the game it could get harder. i like that you have to be involved with the game all the way through, from planning to protecting. also, the music.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:15am

Haha, loved it!
I can see a lot more potential game mechanisms for this concept like crowd chaos, commands to the VIP, bomb threats and the like if you continue to work on this.
Great work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:49am

good job

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Really well designed, nice work!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

LOL - awesome idea... need a bit-o-polish to make it fantastic... like some clue if you're doing ok or not: "RETRY, NEXT". "Wait, did I clear that level or what?!". I feel like the tune didn't quite match the graphical aesthetics either (it's a nice track, but doesn't feel particularly pixel-bodyguard-secret-service-y.

But you really have a cool idea for a game in there - plus you got tower defense worked into LD. WIN!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:40am

Very nice! So hilarious when the agents shoot through the vip to kill the assassin lol

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:20am

Amazing work! Great art! Awesome sounds and music. I love the theme. I always have wanted something like this! I really like it. 10/10.

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

at first it looks like graphics are a bit poor but once you play it... really changes your mood about it.
I had to play quite a bit... just fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]