August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Memory Groove

by voltorben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Memory Groove is a small puzzle game that will put your memory to the test!

The goal of this game is to reach the end of the path in each level.
Each level is visible for 10 seconds - then you will have to navigate by memory.

Spend your 10 seconds wisely and remember you can move during the countdown to size up the level.
(the level will be visible for another 10 seconds between tries - press x to skip countdown)

Only works in Chrome (tested in Google Chrome 28.0.1500.95)

Controls are on the game page.

Made with:
- Audio Sauna + Adobe audition for music
- Adobe Photoshop CC for graphics
- cfxr for sounds effects
- Sublime text 2 with html, javascript (+jquery) and css. No other libraries were used.

----

This is my first Ludum Dare AND my first publicly available game.

I have included the source as a .zip, if you want to have a closer look - but beware! The code is very messy ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#176Audio3.24
#217Overall3.44
#233Mood3.21
#274Innovation3.38
#310Theme3.42
#324Humor2.67
#439Fun3.06
#446Graphics3.06

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39am

AWESOME! I am pretty good at this because I used to play a lot of MUDs. Cool concept, I'm diggin it.

celeron55 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

Doesn't seem to work. Stops at this screen; no output in console; Chromium 25 / Linux x86: http://anonmgur.com/up/ce7e842cbe688bfda312072e40de781b.png

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

@celeron55: Crap :/ Does it say "Sorry, this game only works in Google Chrome"? Because the only reason it shouldn't start is if it thinks you're not in chrome.. I've added some console.log()'s - it would be really helpfull if you could run it again, and tell me what is says..

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

My brain is FRIED after yesterday, no way am I remembering more than a couple of these.

Good effort though - and a nice innovative game to go with the theme

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Realy Original, i like it!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Very innovative, but my brain can't remember all the paths, however, I'm not very brainy so... good game!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Feels like hard work :o

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Awesome idea, fun to play it. Its very original and mind blowing game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Looks nice and I really dig the audio. It's quite difficult though.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Awesome little game !

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really enjoyed it, only the second entry I've tried and felt compelled to complete. :)

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Worked fine for me in Chrome. A nice concept, but I sucked at it! I liked the Gameboy-style visuals.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

well execute. I like the touch of seeing how many tries it took me to reach the end. Works really well with the theme. great job!

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I can't get it to work, always stops with the loading bar all the way, or almost all the way across the screen. Console says 159 or 160 of 161 loaded, and it freezes there.

I'm using chrome on fedora linux.

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I have no memory so this is haaard! but it was fun :)

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Awesome :) Great work

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Very fun game! I really love the art style you went for in it; great work! :)

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

PEOPLE WITH LINUX PROBS:
please try this: http://borglind.dk/memory_groove/linux
It seems like it doesn't preload all files. So i've set i timer for 4 secs and it will start, and hopefully as much as possible has been preloaded (worked fine for me on mac chrome, except a couple of the pics took a little time to show).
feedback is really appreciated!

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Oh, and i want to say thanks to people for all the nice comments! Really makes me happy :) And yes, it is hard ;) i don't have quite a good short time memory myself, so hopefully it's not TOO hard.

OH! and if you get a perfect score, there is a little secret (what is a game without cheat codes?!)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Really cool! I got good scores until the last two levels, those are brutal. Loved everything about it.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

Good game... training for your ld48 damaged brain :) Love that kind of game :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really awesome and very challenging!

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Has a good feel to it, the later levels get a bit frustrating, but solid concept.

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

I had fun with this :) Fiendishly difficult, but gets easier once you get used to counting your key presses.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

Loved the styling, and the game is addictive. Nice job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Awesome! Great execution for a simple concept. It's very fun and challenging =D

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice game! Counting helps... xD
Made it to Level 7 until it froze on me (doesn't affect score though)... :)

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Nice concept and nice gameboy like design,

here is a few feedbacks:

I had one minute where I couldn't get what I was suppose to do: probably that free move game phase is confusing, I would prefer that it behave like in the hidden phase, that you can't go out of the path and when reaching the end it should start the next phase.
Also why don't you use the '10 seconds' as a limit during the hidden game phase?


Bug: It seems if I press X multiple times when entering a level it stuck the game state.

goyal says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:45am

My neurons are on fire :D. Nice though! Music is sweet and soothing.

loxo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Great fun to play game! I like the graphics, sounds and the concept very much.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]