August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds

by VoxPlacitum - Jam Entry

By Vox Placitum
My first game.
I used Game Maker Studio and GIMP for sprites.
Solo development.


Analyze your duelist and try to give them advice that would suit them best.

The duelists are:
The Gunslinger
The Maritime Mercenary
The Charlatan
The Pirate
The Captain
The Ambitious Adjutant
The Would-be Highwayman
The Yachtsman
The Dilettante

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#386Mood(Jam)2.65
#400Innovation(Jam)2.70
#498Graphics(Jam)2.52
#578Fun(Jam)2.00
#581Overall(Jam)2.32
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

Good to see another dueling game in the running, and one that uses seconds in their traditional role rather than fudging things so they have to duel instead. Cool stuff.

One suggestion I'd offer is to give a little more visual feedback on the options you're selecting in conversations, it was a little hard to tell if what I'd chosen had been selected or not. Otherwise it was a unique experience and I enjoyed it.

Congrats on your first game!

zakchaos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Interesting effort, I'd suggest changing the text to another color, ad it blended with the background and was a bit hard to read.

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Ah yes, something I should have probably mentioned in the description: I almost didn't finish in time, so the visuals are pretty rough(should have been stand-ins. Not finals)

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

And thanks for the feedback! It is all very appreciated!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

This game is alright for a first timer; Some things that are nice about it:

-The graphics.
-It fit the theme well
-It works.
-I could not find any bugs.

Somethings that need improving:

-Choosing options needs some work, there is no feedback on which one I picked.
-I wish there was some sounds. Even just BLEEP BOOP means loads.
-The animations were nice, but WHITE/WHITE (White...Dust? On white text) did not go well and I couldn't read the text.

I think with just a small amount of work, this game could be very very good. Keep it up.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

This game is alright for a first timer; Some things that are nice about it:

-The graphics.
-It fit the theme well
-It works.
-I could not find any bugs.

Somethings that need improving:

-Choosing options needs some work, there is no feedback on which one I picked.
-I wish there was some sounds. Even just BLEEP BOOP means loads.
-The animations were nice, but WHITE/WHITE (White...Dust? On white text) did not go well and I couldn't read the text.

I think with just a small amount of work, this game could be very very good. Keep it up. 4/10.

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

I felt kind of at a loss for what I was supposed to be choosing. I won the first round I played (I don't know why) and lost the next two I played (I don't know why).

The writing was pretty strong. I just wish I had a better understanding of what was going on

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Thanks awppy, I added more to my description that hopefully clears things up a bit. I intended to have that instruction listed above the duelist but it slipped my mind in the final minutes toward completion.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50am

Wouldn't run, just prompted me to open a file.

shard123 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:56am

Same problem as Croze

Kidney says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

Same as the last 2.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

I couldn't run too :(

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39am

Same as Croze! :(

Yngar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:50am

Yeah cant run it either

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Sorry everyone. I messed up the upload on itch.... =/
Should be fixed now.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This was a bit confusing, I couldn't really figure out what options to choose and why, based on the current character. Nice attempt, I really like the idea!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Yeah... I have to agree. It's a good idea and interpretation of the theme, but it was a little bit confusing.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51pm

cool writing, but not enough information on screen to make decisions. and since it's a decision-making game, it's a bit of an issue. designs are great, but your artist needs more drawing practice. and please get him a drawing tablet or a scanner.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

looks real good and different take on the theme!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:17am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Great job on the theme, but I was unsure why I was picking what I was picking (other than guessing) I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I do not like read too much. not my kind

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]