August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Sculptor

by nathanhoffer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have a try at being a 10 Second Sculptor. Try to duplicate the 3D block object one layer at a time and from the ground up. This game idea was inspired by 3D printers.

You have 10 seconds to draw each individual layer. After the timer goes off, the current layer is locked and you have to start on the next higher layer.

The entry has 10 separate objects to duplicate. If you find the beginning levels too easy, try some of the later levels! The last one should be pretty challenging.

Made with: Unity, Vectrosity plugin (for drawing grid lines)
Sounds: BFXR
Art: MS Paint, GIMP
Font: Hanalei by Brian J Bonislawsky

This is my first Ludum Dare!!

Nathan Hoffer
http://whitebreadgames.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Innovation4.14
#87Overall3.69
#156Theme3.66
#178Fun3.44
#277Graphics3.37
#612Mood2.65
#771Audio2.11
#787Humor1.87

Comments

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30am

Brilliant Game Good Job :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

Nice game. Cool, simple graphics. Coordinating between the 2d and 3d views is a little tricky. Maybe the 2d view should rotate when you rotate the views?

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

Would like to be able to click to change colors, needs a reset/exit puzzle button. Other than that, it's brilliant! I'm a big Picross fan and this game reminds me of Picross 3D in a good way! Nicely done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

Pretty cool, tho pretty hard to tell if an object is hollow or not.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Like it :) it reminds me of Piccross

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Nicely Done!

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Great game! This concept could easily be expanded.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Yeah this is truly brilliant. This is the first game I've played so far (out of dozens and dozens) that I could see myself playing for hours, really bonding with, really making my own. Fantastic, elegant, clever. You deserve a handshake, a pat on the back: whatever it is that would make you feel a great sense of recognition and accomplishment. Seriously.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Very fun game, but it was to large for my computer screen, which was wholly annoying.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

good game nice Idea

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

Awesome game. Finally a game that lets you skip to the end of the ten seconds instead of waiting for the timer to go out. The only think it needed was what ZeroKelvin already said where you need a reset/exit puzzle button.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

Interesting concept but the mix of keyboard an mouse for controlling the game is a bit confusing. Being able to click on colors and the clock to end early would make more sense.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

Thanks for the kind words everyone :) You can jump out of any the puzzles by pressing the Escape key and restart any level by pressing R. I suppose I could have made that much clearer instead of just sticking a message at the bottom of the Level Select screen.

drilltail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Cool idea! One of my favorites so far.

wccrawford says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

More mouse control would have been nice. Having to press the keyboard enter (as opposed to keypad enter) was kind of a pain. Should have been able to click to continue at the end of each puzzle, and click the colors to choose them.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

That was a pretty neat game! The idea is original, and I had a lot of fun playing with it. Some ideas:

-> It would be cool to have a "free-drawing" mode
-> Some sound effects when you put down blocks (blop blop) would be fun
-> A reminder of the hotkeys would be useful - midway through the game I forgot the "skip" hotkey, and could not find it again.

Thanks for the game! I recorded a playthrough: http://youtu.be/8979etXUihg

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Nice work on the multi-viewpoint-layout. It's fun when you rotate to an above point and suddenly the object is "flat"

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Like puzzles. Many thanks!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Really fun game mechanic. Very fun!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

Awesome puzzle game, loved every single level and ask for more ! Really well executed.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51am

Very fun. Why isn't this on my iPad?

MAKE IT SO!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Really nice idea man!

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Clever concept, felt a lot like I was being forced to speedrun playing with lego! Ended up giving up on the tree and the lizard, and I think the house didn't like being hollow (but there was no way to know this from it's destination image).

Overall felt very innovative, the little sound effects were nice, the controls felt solid (though enter's functionality being mapped to space I think would have been easier!). It's a bit of a shame that there wasn't any music since I think it could have benefited from some light ambient stuff.

I think you should expand the idea further in a post compo version. I would love to see a level editor and some music. You could probably thrown in some additional elements to keep the game play interesting across a hundred levels, like having bad guys who eat your blocks as you go along or something to that effect.

Thanks for making a linux build (web builds don't run on linux), many people who use unity have neglected to which is unfortunate.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really love this game! I actually would love a version without the 10 second restriction.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Very clever and novel mechanic there - some of those later levels get pretty crazy!

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39am

Wow, this one really stands up, and got me sculpting for quite some time. Good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10am

Starts easy, but gets very challenging soon. Really good work. This would also be fun as a mobile app

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Pretty nice game! brilliant idea!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46am

Now that was really cool!Awesome job!

Dew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice use of theme!

Just missed the liberator level :P

atrodo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

That is a really neat idea

Fervir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

My lizard looked like it didn't want to live anymore.
Really fun game.
Really neat.
10 seconds was a good and challenging pace.
Very well done!
A level editor and some relaxing music would make this exponentially better!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

good job

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very cool!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Very cool game. At first I thought I was terrible at it, then I found out I'd inadvertently started on level 6 (game was much simpler when I went backed and worked from level 1 all the way up).

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Awesome idea, really well done. I like that it started very simple and got quite a bit more complex.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Nice idea, got pretty hard fast, cause I am bad at it. Very nice idea though! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Sestren says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:13am

Really cool idea. The layout was simple and easy to understand, and the 10 second timer got more and more hectic as the levels got tougher.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:07am

Nice game ! But quickly boring, and controls are sometime frustrating ;)

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Awesome game! :)

But lag really killed the later levels for me. There was no way to quickly draw everything. But that's partially fault on my end (for using a slow pc).

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:35pm

This is a pretty clever take on the theme, glad every level wasn't as monotonous as it seemed at the start.

I was hoping for a sandbox mode where you just build things without a time limit, haha.

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Awesome and hard! :D

DuduSAr says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:02am

Nice! I liked the graphics and the mechanic.
Good for kids also ;)

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very nice game! At first I thought it was easy, and was going to be too easy, but you ramped up the difficult quite nicely and the levels got nice and hard. Bookmarking!

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:15am

This is one of my favourites so far! Excellent game, really fun and challenging concept and addicting. The gameplay forces you to think and use your brain, while in a rush.
You should continue developing this to a complete polished version; it'd be really successful!

The score system could be revised: I get 76% without doing anything :P

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice game! The difficulty ramped up nicely, and the ui was elegant.
I think that I found a bug though, if you skip entire levels without drawing, you can get upwards of 80% accuracy on them.

nathanhoffer says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Thanks again everyone for the kind words! It means a lot for my first LD.

Yeah, I probably should revise the scoring system.. I was running into some troubles with that part of the game. Right now the scoring counts getting blank spaces correct as well. And some levels are 80% blank spots.

I needed to count the blanks somehow because you could put a block where there should be a blank space. Without counting those blank spots as credit, I was getting negative scores.

If I ignored the blank spaces in scoring totally, you could then just spam the bored and make a giant single colored block in the earlier levels. With only a few hours left, I couldn't think of anything better and just went with blank spaces counting equally.

There's got to be a slicker way. Let me know if you have any ideas :)

Per says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:00am

Very good idea!
It fits the theme perfectly and has a very intuitive interface.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

Wow! Very nice game! :D
I do a similar game long time ago, but it was 2D with squares.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]