August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cowdown

by TeamFlare - Jam Entry

Cowdown - A space opera of loss and revenge

In this platform Jump&Run you need to save your star cows, which have been abducted by a ruthless rustler. He brought them to his flying range land platform, where they are waiting to be rescued.

Every platform loses energy as longer as you stay on it and will fall down after 10 seconds. So don't waste time, collect all star cows and get back to your rocket.
On the other hand each loss of energy and platforms is a damage to the evil rustler. Get better and higher scores by getting every platform out of the sky. If you do not want to wait the 10 seconds use your special move (space bar and down) to destroy a platform instantly. But be careful not to destroy your way back.

This was our first Ludum Dare and we had a lot fun. We used Unity and handcrafted paper assets to create the game. The music and sound effects are self-made too.

We hope you will enjoy our little game,
Tugba, Rebekka, B0rje, Frederic, Peer and Marlene "Schnoetz" :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.57
#50Theme(Jam)3.71
#61Overall(Jam)3.74
#96Mood(Jam)3.49
#129Fun(Jam)3.34
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#182Audio(Jam)3.17
#278Humor(Jam)2.45

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

I just love the graphics, the entire concept is incredible nicely done! The sounds are great too, I like the bit of holy music behind, or at least I get it like that.
Overall the game is great - good job!

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

Wow,really cool graphics,nice gameplay and really cool way of using the theme,pretty neat.

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

Cool. Very professional.

headchant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

The idea is quite good. The platforming could be a little tighter but still good.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Absolutely amazing work! You guys rock! \m/

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46pm

The art and concept here are great. DIdn't love the platforming mechanics, but really like the actual platform mechanics.

Well done.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Fantastic work! The game play and graphics are great!

Friday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice integration of the theme!

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Very pretty, nicely polished entry. Too bad I suck at platformers :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

excellent polish and good concept on the theme! A good jam guys!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Stylish and crazy

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Interesting game mechanics, great job!

CmdBrewsky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I really enjoyed the graphics style for this game. really awesome job for 48 hours!

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Cool concept and really nicely executed! The art is cool :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32am

Nice entry, man!
I love your design. It's looking very unusual and impressive.
Good job!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Holy sh*t... now I have to rethink all the other games I gave 5 stars for graphics. This one truly deserves it. Incredible artwork and solid mechanics.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Graphics are awesome. I liked the gameplay with the platforms having timers. Would have started with easier levels and ended with what's level 1 now :)

onzephyr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Gorgeous game. nice job mixing in the theme. solid gameplay and controls. Overall fantastic job

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice looking game! The post process looks ace, gives a really nice mood. Nicely done.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:23am

One of the best looking games so far. Clever use of the theme too and well executed.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:00pm

AMAZING presentation. The countdown on the platforms is phenomenal. This is the best art direction I've seen on this LD.

Very fun mechanic as well, and 5/5 for the theme. Bravo!

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very clever theme use - the best I've seen, in fact. The game's also very pleasing to the eye. The platform sequences are really very tightly timed, though, and unforgiving. That's not necessarily a bad thing, I will probably return for another go later, but I grew really rather frustrated with the 2nd level as there's virtually no margin for error. The audio seems too loud and I wasn't a huge fan of the sound effects, but they did fit in with the feel of the game.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Stylish and i love the "ten seconds" interpretation ! \o/

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Quite funny! Great job :).

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Lovely graphics and nice concept!
Very good use of the theme too!

Nice job!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:25am

Really liked the platform time limit and fantastic art style, the jumping sound grated after a while though.

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Truly fantastic! Loved it all from the idéa of using the 10 seconds to the graphics and music!

Kudos!

Broxxar says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:36pm

How am I just finding this gem so late in the competition? Excellent job, art and design is great, levels are well put together, and a really fun way of implementing the theme as a mechanic.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice work! Very nice graphics, good addition of sound. I like your take on the theme. The "head butting" mechanic where you can destroy platforms was kind of annoying when I didn't know what it was. This is a nice platformer. 8/10.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Awesome! Love the graphics and the sounds and the gameplay is very fun!

panurge says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Lovely aesthetic and mood. Graphics, sound and gameplay came together really well - I thoroughly enjoyed playing this.

yagiz says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Polished!

cappelnord says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Beautifuly rendered graphics :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

really like the idea, good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]