August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

King Craftsman

by ravine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I added a Mac version using an older version of the JDK. If someone would let me know if it works or not. Thanks!

Web version takes a minute or two to load after picking "New Game".
If you give up on a recipe, you will no longer be able to attempt either of the recipes you selected. This may keep you from being able to complete the game.

Welcome to the Tournament of Craftsmen!

The king is hosting a tournament to find the fastest, and most daring craftsmen in the realm! Will you sit back and choose simple recipes you know you can make quickly, or will you try for the hardest and win more gold?

Each round you will pick two recipes: a first, and a second. The game consists of ten rounds, so in total you will have ten seconds. After you pick your two recipes, you will get a bonus if they are part of the same set. Next you will be allowed five seconds to view the first recipe. After the time is up, you will be given as much time you need to collect your thoughts. When you are ready to begin, let the judge know. You will have ten seconds to craft the item. Don't worry if you can't complete it in time, but you will receive a bonus if you do! You will then move on to repeat the same process for the second recipe you chose. Once both have been crafted, you will move on to the next round.
Try to pick recipes that look like they would go together, and receive a bonus. Each recipe's value is based on the number of material types it consists of, and the total number of materials. The more there are of each, the higher the worth!

Good Luck Craftsmen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#209Graphics3.54
#450Innovation3.11
#467Theme3.27
#508Humor2.29
#528Mood2.76
#562Overall3.05
#654Audio2.36
#766Fun2.68

Comments

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Great interpretation of the theme! Visuals were very polished, and the gameplay was solid. You could easily make a full mobile app out of this!

lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

That was pretty compelling game with Minecraft style craft system. I do notice some performance issue in the beginning. Good luck!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

It looked like a really fun game because the graphics are amazing, but it's a little bit boring. Good work on it though! Also, the audio was a little bit boring and repetitive.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

A unique sort of memory game! I enjoyed it.

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

It was hard playing it with a touch pad. I should try it another time with a mouse.
Excellent game for a first LD.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15am

Didn't rate because I seemingly can't progress; I fill out the pattern and then the countdown reaches 0 and nothing happens.

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

If you do not fill out the correct pattern, nothing will happen. The timer during the creation step is only for a bonus. Once you have put in the correct pattern, the next button will appear under the crafting area.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Graphics and sound fit it very well, and the game was kinda fun for the first few levels... nice variation on the theme by combining it with a memory game...

One of the more polished entries to be honest, so gets high rating from me :P

Good luck!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Hm, the desktop version crashes after clicking "New Game". Im on Mac OS X.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Crashes on OSX 10.8.4 (I think my java version is too old, still got the standard apple distribution installed which is equal to version 1.6 I think)

Error log:

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/ravine/ld27/screen/GameScreen : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)
Caused by: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/ravine/ld27/screen/GameScreen : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at com.ravine.ld27.screen.MenuScreen$1.touchUp(MenuScreen.java:63)
at com.badlogic.gdx.scenes.scene2d.InputListener.handle(InputListener.java:57)
at com.badlogic.gdx.scenes.scene2d.Stage.touchUp(Stage.java:329)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglInput.processEvents(LwjglInput.java:297)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:209)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Thank you for posting the error log. I will look into it. For now you should just be able to use the web version.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

at the beginning i don't what to do. it seemed like a difficult game. After two times i quite enjoy the memory-sort of gameplay. i think it could be explain better and faster in some other way! The graphic design is solid, cool

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:37am

Good game design and idea, but I feel its a bit hard, really challenging my working memory. I have a nice time playing this game though :)

h_double says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great graphics and a neat theme. This has potential, I could see it working as a crafting minigame in an rpg. I don't think the "10 seconds" aspect of it works very well though, and it's not very playable with a touchpad.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Neat little game, although it felt a bit boring. I noticed some performance issues as well.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Played with touchpad, so I was little bit slow. It's very disappointing when previously wrong crafted recipe don't hide itself when I'm crafting new item.. Otherwise good job! :)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:46am

Interesting memory type game. Will try again later. Really polished graphics!

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:24am

Interesting take on the theme with beautiful art. Great entry!

char68 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice little mini-game. Really tough to click fast enough to complete everything in 10 seconds, especially with having to move the mouse to the bottom left to select new resources, but overall a fun experience.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]