August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Sec to End

by AnimaLocus - Jam Entry

Save world and defeat Red UFO Balls! :)
1 killed enemy = +10 second.
WSAD - control, Space - jump, R - reload, Enter - restart, Escape - pause.
Have sound and music, but without disabling.
Mouse settings in top-left area on pause/menu.
Size ~30 MB.
820 score - my record. :)

Added Linux version, but not tested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28
#288Audio(Jam)2.84
#405Overall(Jam)2.85
#425Mood(Jam)2.52
#435Fun(Jam)2.55
#457Humor(Jam)1.69
#468Theme(Jam)2.68
#555Innovation(Jam)2.23

Comments

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Nice gun model. Also you need to break up the tiling more, did you take those with a camera by the way?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Just played, too main crits;
1) The mouse sensitivity is far too slow, what is that gun made of ?
2) Your terrain has some strange waving texture effect on it.

Tork says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I ditto what zephyr89 said, also I would add some kind of shadow to the ball when it is falling cuz it killed me XD

AnimaLocus says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Thanks!
Gun & camera - Ultimate FPS. This allowed for Jam?
This my first Jam and i don't understand rules to end...
I will work on visual side.

AnimaLocus says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Yeah, ball will kill you -> loose time. :)

Winterblood says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Anything goes in the Jam. Nice little game, quite polished considering the tight timeframe!

latte164 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Great Game

shatley123 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:47am

got 190 score :)

RealMSHB says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:46pm

nice game
Score 496

AnimaLocus says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Thank all!
In final version will be best scores and control mouse sensitivity.

skywing says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Animations are nice, but it would be nice if the character moved a bit faster to keep up with the balls going all over the place, since they take a lot of shots to bring down.

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:53pm

This is cool!

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Pretty cool, but the textures are burning my eyes.

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:43pm

That is pretty cool

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31am

I enjoyed this. The graphics are really snazzy, and I enjoyed just running around to see the terrain a few times. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Looks like an interesting idea.

Are those assets from the Unity-store? Just creating the music or the gun/animations would take a skilled person morethan than the entire time of the jam :P

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Oh, it's a Jam-game. I Apologize, I assumed it was a compo-thing. Sorry :)

wolfadex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really liked the art style.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

Nice. ball landed on my head haha.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

very good graphics.

AnimaLocus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Thanks all for good words!
Music and partial sounds - my, and yeah, Jam. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

The texture choices are very odd and I'd love for a higher mouse sensitivity. A couple touchups could really improve this :D

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Wow, this is insanely polished. The graphics are great and the animations are awesome. Fun game, too.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Nicely done!

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

It's a simple sort of thing. Is the spheres spawning related to jumpping? They didn't seem to spawn the first couple of times I played.

AnimaLocus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Mouse sensitivity/acceleration control in left-top area on pause/main menu. :)

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Mood and graphics are great !
Becomes a bit boring soon

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Nice game. It is a lot of fun. At first learning the controls is a little bit of a chore, but after that this is fun. I like especially how you can gain seconds back so that you can play longer. Very good use of the theme. :)

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

Really like the visuals and audio.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

Cool approach.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47am

Interesting take on the theme, i think if the mouse speed was increased it may be more enjoyable.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

The unity web player does not work on linux. Please export to linux!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Nice little surreal shooter. Great gun and hand models. Gets a bit repetitive fast.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice shooting mechanics. It would've been a lot more fun with some sort of objective to complete.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The graphics are great and it plays really smooth, but it get a little boring soon. That aside, this is a really great game for such a small period of development time.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice controls and graphics and atmosphere, but i feel like it needs more direction, or more things need to happen, also the 10-sec theme is not very prevalent here.

nice work though :)

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Fun concept! I wish gameplay had a more rhythmic pace, maybe more sound effects. Admittedly, I am a sucker for games that make music out of gameplay and sound effects.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

good job

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wasn't really getting into the mood.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice concept but I think you should not use / write into your game description that u used FPS asset.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice entry, you done it very well. I like your idea and game mechanics.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I wish i could make a game like this in 48 hours, so awesome and fun!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Quite fun for the first few minutes and it's very good looking!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Quite fun, but I think the aiming messes up at long distance (Unless that's intentional?). Still enjoyable, though :)

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Had fun playing it :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48am

Great FPS game =D

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

The hand and gun model and animation are AWESOME! I jumped like a bunny just to see them bobbling around..

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

Very nice game!

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Sensitivity is super slow. The graphics are great though

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Fun and really hard! love the graphics!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Amazing graphics! The audio and controls were spot on.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great audio and visuals. That is what makes this game. Gameplay gets old very fast but never the less nice experience.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Score: 208. Pretty cool, good job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Fun but this game needs some goal.
Great job.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Great gun mechanics and sounds.

The rain is off when you look up at it :D

Aside from maybe utilizing more of the awesome terrain somehow, overall its a great effort.

Instead of always spawning balls near me, if they spawned in a direction so I traveled more, it would have been good.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

I'm just tripping balls, good mechanics, good looks, love the song - keep at it!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:08am

The best Theme (10 second) realization I have seen

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nope.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Visuals and sound are nice, as are the smooth controls, but the game really needs a bit more variety or risk to the player to make it exciting. Still a fun experience though.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Good shooter! Sound is in theme) Nice game!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:07pm

66 score, great game and good jam. Does the map have an end?

AnimaLocus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Thanks all!

lordjosephdeburg, map - simple terrain with end :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]