August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to leave

by Ailin - Jam Entry

*** Controls ***

Look around : Mouse
Move : WASD keys
Jump : Space bar

*** Updates ***

- Lots of bug fixes since the first release.
- Made some adjustments on level design (changing triggers delay here and there)
- Added a crosshair for users comfort as suggested by No-Named-Guy.
- Linux & MacOSX versions are no longer available as we don't have the hardware for testing. Apologize to our friends running on both those OS.
- We won't add any audio to the game even if the game would benefit from it. We consider sound as a main feature and it would be cheating to add it after game jam end considering we didn't have the time to compose & implement it. We'll eventualy make a 2.0 version of the game after judging period.

*** Game Intention ***

10s to Leave is game which illustrates a Jesse Schell thesis about mental processes video game applied on player's unconscious, in order to maintain him in the a ludic-state.
That's quite vague, I agree. ..

In this game you can rush forward through the stages until the end of the game, but if you want to get victorious you'll have to understand the theories and principles which the different workshops are the application of.
Only this approach (or a lot of luck) would help you during the last challenge, when you'll have to go against the game by linking your actions to the theme of this Ludum Dare #27 : "10 seconds".

*** Credits ***
Lucas Le Gouic - Core programming, level scripting, level design
Antoine Incorvaia - Game design, level scripting, level design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#146Mood(Jam)3.30
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#197Overall(Jam)3.32
#205Humor(Jam)2.78
#367Fun(Jam)2.73
#379Graphics(Jam)2.93
#488Theme(Jam)2.63
#523Audio(Jam)1.15

Comments

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

Really cool project. I love the simple art style. For anyone that tries it out: don't give up if you have trouble at the beginning. You might be surprised what you find if you keep going. :)

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Atmospheric and cerebral, great work. Some appropriate audio would have gone a long way but I otherwise really enjoyed this.

ErwanOfil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Really good game ;) Liked the humour !

Toshiro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Wow. I'm surprise. I loved the ambiance. Make me think of Portal. Tank you and good job !

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Got to the "platforming" party where you can fall into a pit. I guess it's interesting, but it mostly just came off as kind of annoying to me really. Bananas ftw though. :3

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Very hard to understand what's really going on. I got stuck at the stairs.

Controls were weird (Linux) - not WASD movement.
And escape did not go to the menu.

However, an interesting project.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Mind blown. Good job.

Ailin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

@Neo-Blue : Thank you !
@Panurge : indeed... if only we had more time... :'(
@ErwanOfil : Thank you !
@Toshiro : Thank you ! Portal is indeed one of our inspiration
@DaGamesta : I can understand that ;)
@SneManden : Jump harder ! No really... just try to jump to the next stairstep... maybe something will happen if you keep jumping... eventualy...
@Chtulhu : thanks alot, nice nickname btw

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Will post live video review.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51am

pretty cool, tis the second anti chamber esque game ive played, though this one is alot more polished, and fun, and funny infact!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52am

Live review here: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831247

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59am

that was really cool. Though I didn't completely understand it. And the beginning was really annoying not gonna lie.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice humor, great Antichamber/Portal-like ambience, really needs audio... But i think you didn't have the time Lucas :)

Good job ! :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

guess this is a game i may come back to and play again just to try to understand and to achieve "victory". the gameplay is a little bit distracting with this in mind though, but it's also really interesting. very abstract, great visuals and i also like the introduction.

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17pm

@Withoutpillow : Thanks alot. Appreciate that people don't just rush the game & try to see what's behind :)
I can say there is two way to finish each level ;)

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Love the tutorial to this, neat entry!

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:52am

I liked this, it was very intriguing and refreshingly different. Really great job.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Nice atmosphere, the game seems deeper than my understanding though :p

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I have no idea what I just played... I LOVE IT!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Really wanted to get into it, but the movement was frustrating especially once jump puzzles came into it.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Simple yet great! Good job on this :D

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

Intriguing gameplay. I think there should be a button or something to cancel the endless fade-out of text... Speaking of text, the way you use it in a 3d environment is just awesome. Best level imo - the flashing platforms =)

darkshadow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

Very surreal, humour was quite good, not much time given to answer questions though the non response answers were very funny!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

Interesting idea. Nice minimalist style. Did you guys play Antichamber? Seems very similar to that. Good job!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Very very interesting concept :) I loved the confusion when I first tried it out.

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Simple yet effective. I like the variation in the levels. Some more polished graphics will bring it to the next level! Great game.

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

interesting

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I really liked the text choices and the hints/thought provoking comments on the walls. This game would definitely benefit with some ambient sounds and music. Very atmospheric, well done!

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nice surreal game. Felt a bit aimless, so my impatience got the better of me. An ambient background music would have kept me going for much longer.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Thanks a lot for the comment on Lost in the Darkness! So, if it was easy, I suppose you rescued your friends? Then again, judging by your entry, I guess you are familiar with not being explained everything, haha. Higher difficulty with what I currently had wasn't really possible, and I had ideas for new enemies but just ran out of time. That'll be in the post-compo version! What do you mean by "[...] music) would benefit the game" though - it does have music, doesn't it?

---------------------------


You have a really interesting game, and while I'm not sure I entirely understand it, it seems I still came to THE end. And I like what you did there with the soft cage lesson. Going against the games rules was enjoyable (although I never knew exactly when there won't be more reactions), and the portal/antichamber atmosphere works well.

One thing really annoyed me though: First person jumping puzzles without a body? Really? And I have to start it again if I die? Argh. That was especially frustrating with the flashing platforms.

And every level has two ways to solve it? Really? Huh.

Confusing, interesting and a bit informative - I like it. Great entry, and congratulations on finishing your first LD game!

PS: I think the game would work well on the Rift. Try to get one! (Sadly you're not likely to be near Berlin, Germany...)

PPS: Have you played "The Stanley Parable"? I think you'd enjoy it. It's a Half Life 2 mod - if you don't own HL2, at least watch a Let's Play on YouTube.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]